We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Everything!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant

Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant
139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317
707-442-1177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 157 Restaurants in Eureka
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Humboldt, California, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fried Everything!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've been here a few times- went for St. Patty's day last year (they had a special menu & a large room next door open- it was a lot of fun & good food). I tried to go on a regular night this time but was disappointed. First off, almost the entire menu is fried- which I expect from a pub- but to top it off they only serve irish food one night a week =( What kind of Irish pub doesn't sell irish food every night?! Combine the fried food + no irish food= I'm not going back until maybe next St. Patty's day...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    45
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redhill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent food and wide choice of beer and other drinks. Part of Eagles House Hotel, also recommendable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Have to try it again. It has been a long time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was not that impressed when I ate there many years ago. Recently I met a fellow who said it was great on Thursday's for a traditional Irish Dinner, so I may give it another try. Maybe they have a new cook since when I was there many years ago. Someone else said they have the best Calamari, and that might be worth checking out. I will try again as it seems things have changed since 1999 when I ate there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Any port in a storm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Holiday check in at the joining Inn and decided to just walk downstairs to the restaurant. Bland food and mediocre service. Nothing I'd go to again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great food and service. Fish and chips were great! Walking distance to hotels on Hwy 101 and right next to the harbour cruise site. Service was very good and friendly staff. Reasonable prices

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.