We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejected by a "drug motel" style establishment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Eureka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Eureka to your Saves list
Travelodge Eureka
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Brentwood, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rejected by a "drug motel" style establishment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Made reservation because it was cheap and advertised as "Pet friendly". Arrived and was disgusted by the run down exterior and then was told "No pets allowed"! We were offered no options and had our reservations cancelled. When we told them to expect a negative review online they started yelling at us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    35
    31
    21
    31
See reviews for
28
41
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Alberta, Canada down the west coast of North America on a roadtrip and stayed almost exclusively in Travelodges. Pretty much every one was very comfortable. Sadly, this place is clearly below par for a Travelodge.

The room is very, very old, and several lights did not work. There was a broken chair in the closet (?) and both the bed linen and towels had stains on them. The hairdryer did not work. The place is also appears to be in quite a sketchy neighbourhood - we didn't feel comfortable leaving valuables in the room when we went out. They were also rather stingy with the complimentary bits and pieces you would expect at most motels - just two packets of sugar, no tea, and one bag of coffee. The one saving grace was that the internet was fairly fast and reliable.

If you don't care about the essentials and simply want a cheap bed for the night, go ahead. But if you want even the smallest comforts of home, I recommend you go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything was good. The bed, pillows and bedding were wonderful - very comfortable. I could have used a brighter reading light.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I travel for work, self employed and just need clean, safe, and basic accomodations. I found the price on the Travelodge website and called to confirm the reservation and the motel operator was very nice and said she would honor that price. Check in was easy and fast. The motel is fenced except for the driveway into the parking lot. The exterior was clean, well maintained and there is also a pool on site, which was closed at the time of the visit, (February). The room had all of the amenities, firm bed, nice warm comforter, heater, small refrigerator, microwave, small table, vanity area, plenty of lamps, TV and a hair dryer in the room. I was able to borrow an iron and ironing board from the office. They also have an in room coffee maker. There is an enclosed closet to hang your clothes and suitcase which placed them out of the way. There was no light in the closet, but not really a big deal. The motel is older and is basic and clean accomodations. The motel is right on 4th, which is the main route traveling south on highway 101, so there was some noise through the night from trucks, but all the motels are like that in Eureka. They have a small continental breakfast, as some cereal, milk, pastries, juice and coffee, enough to get you started. I usually bring my own cereal as I like a particular kind that they usually don't have at motels.

This motel is a great value and I felt it was safe, clean, affordable and just what I needed.

I would recommend this motel, as it was the best value in the area.

I gave this 4 stars, as it is not new, older, but great for an overnight stay for business or when traveling.

Recommended.....

Room Tip: The rooms face 4th street, so they would all be the same as far as sound. I think the upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We found ants in the bathroom by the thousands and the outlet didn't work. Told the front desk at checkout and she replied that electric does not work at six am and ants want to come inside when the weather is bad. Yuck. I would not stay there again. Couldn't sleep for feeling ants in bed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Breakfast choices could have been better. comfortable bed. Staff very helpful. For the price paid there was good value. Not a superior hotel, but sufficient for travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Eureka

Address: 4 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Eureka 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Eureka Hotel Eureka
Travel Lodge Eureka
Eureka Travel Lodge
Eureka Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Eureka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.