We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Eureka

Motel 6 Eureka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Eureka to your Saves list
Motel 6 Eureka
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1934 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
vestfold
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We got an okey room but long hairs on walls in shower and a pubic hair on toilet seat.
I mentioned this to manager on day of check out and she gave me a full refund, which I did not expect, it was a pleasant surprise and I would go back since this showed me there is a standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    13
    12
    33
See reviews for
12
26
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I travel to Eureka once a month and usually stay at this Motel 6, as I travel with my dog. This Motel 6 is a bit dated, but much less then the other Motels in town. Before I started staying here I use to stay at the Quality inn. For about $30 more a night, and all I got was a crappy breakfast there. This Motel 6 is very clean, and the desk people were very friendly and helpful with providing me places to walk my dog.

Another reason I stay at this motel when I travel to Eureka is that this Motel has security. Eureka is full of homeless crack heads wondering around. Doesn't matter if you stay at a 5 star hotel or this motel 6. If you are in Eureka, you will eventually be confronted by a crack head. At least this Motel cares enough to try and do something about the crime, and protect their guest.

So yeah, this property is run down a bit, and has the occasional miscreant wondering around. It's by far though the best you're going to find in the lower price range in the hole that is Eureka.

Room Tip: I always get a room in the front so I can see my car at night. Also wifi here is $3 a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Why do I feel like a criminal here? Is it the absence of drawers? The open shelves in soulless pale Formica hide nothing except a certain cheap particle board cabinetry...solid enough, and clean, but dodgy somehow.  This is an appropriate analogy for this establishment, and perhaps this chain in general.  Ticks the basic boxes but hides a core of deception not quite nauseating enough to warrant blind rage, but sufficient to make one feel naggingly cheated. 

Everything good is extra, like the wi-fi advertised next to the bold red digital room rate sign which promises bottom dollar satisfaction...no such thing my friends.  There was no fridge, although quixotically there was a bottle opener screwed to the counter.

You gotta bring the good stuff yourself, and don't stick around, because there's no substance.   It's a one night stand with a push up bra and too much makeup hiding the blemishes, but for those of us seasoned enough in the game, one can kinda spot it coming if you ask the right questions before you settle.  There are both classier and cheaper options in this town, so don't be afraid to wander.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We reached late in the night and were greeted by indian family.

Clean, comfortable, and secure - electrical outlet by the bed didn't work
Good location - nice staff
Room was clean - nice patio and heated outdoor pool - breakfast bar was crowded and picked over - appreciated the complimentary limo service
Convenient to US 101, walk to Old Town - room was spacious and well-appointed - bathroom window needed weatherstripping - renovations underway, but staff did an exceptional job
Nice hotel - room had a coffee maker - good breakfast, but eating area was too small - loved the free limo to dinner

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I checked in to Motel 6. The staff was in a heated argument with two young ladies and was very rude to them. When i approached the counter, he was somewhat more pleasant, but very short with me. I was put in a room on the back side of the Motel. In Eureka and the area this motel is in, that's not a good thing. This area is ridden with crime, in fact there were over 20 narcotics and other police cars in the parking lot staying there. (probably more that were unmarked) The room was aged, the carpet stained throughout, the bedding somewhat scary, and the bed frame had been broken right where you sit down by the night stand so there was a big dip in that part of the bed. I didn't expect much for the price, but what I've always found with Motel 6 is they are at least a clean, cheap room to spend the night. Over $60 to stay in a drug zone is not ok. When they asked for copies of ID rather than just seeing it, they said the police come by once a night and go through all of the guests ID copies and check to see if there are any outstanding warrants against them? WHAT? Motel 6 violating privacy at their whim? This is a hotel full of homeless drug addicts. That's the way they treat you and you aren't going to get any better treatment driving up in an $80,000 Mercedes. I have stayed at both Motel 6 in Humboldt County. One seems to run in police mode (Eureka) and one seems to let the drugs and prostitution run rampant (Arcata). I will never stay at either one again. There is just no justification on the rude service you get from their employees

Room Tip: get a room on the front side. Helps cut down on crime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stay away. This was the worst motel that we've stayed in during our 3 week trip. It smells of smoke, although it's non-smoking. I can hear the neighbors talk, shower, walk etc. The cleanliness is dubious. Never again. It was $61 for a couple on a Thursday night, including tax, and then $3 extra for Wifi.
Do yourself a favor, try something else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Wa.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Generally a pretty run down place. We have stayed here before. Just a place to sleep while intransit thru Eureka. You get what you pay for. As price goes it's fine but do not expect anything but a place to rest. No reason to demeen anyone. If you choose price then don't have high expectaions. I will say we were suprised by the maid bursting into our room, unaware it was occupied, no knock or anything. Very basic and not the cleanest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Eureka

Address: 1934 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95501
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Eureka 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Eureka Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Eureka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.