We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel service EVER!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Eureka

Motel 6 Eureka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Eureka to your Saves list
Motel 6 Eureka
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1934 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
seattle
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Worst hotel service EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I checked in to Motel 6. The staff was in a heated argument with two young ladies and was very rude to them. When i approached the counter, he was somewhat more pleasant, but very short with me. I was put in a room on the back side of the Motel. In Eureka and the area this motel is in, that's not a good thing. This area is ridden with crime, in fact there were over 20 narcotics and other police cars in the parking lot staying there. (probably more that were unmarked) The room was aged, the carpet stained throughout, the bedding somewhat scary, and the bed frame had been broken right where you sit down by the night stand so there was a big dip in that part of the bed. I didn't expect much for the price, but what I've always found with Motel 6 is they are at least a clean, cheap room to spend the night. Over $60 to stay in a drug zone is not ok. When they asked for copies of ID rather than just seeing it, they said the police come by once a night and go through all of the guests ID copies and check to see if there are any outstanding warrants against them? WHAT? Motel 6 violating privacy at their whim? This is a hotel full of homeless drug addicts. That's the way they treat you and you aren't going to get any better treatment driving up in an $80,000 Mercedes. I have stayed at both Motel 6 in Humboldt County. One seems to run in police mode (Eureka) and one seems to let the drugs and prostitution run rampant (Arcata). I will never stay at either one again. There is just no justification on the rude service you get from their employees

Room Tip: get a room on the front side. Helps cut down on crime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    13
    12
    33
See reviews for
12
26
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stay away. This was the worst motel that we've stayed in during our 3 week trip. It smells of smoke, although it's non-smoking. I can hear the neighbors talk, shower, walk etc. The cleanliness is dubious. Never again. It was $61 for a couple on a Thursday night, including tax, and then $3 extra for Wifi.
Do yourself a favor, try something else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Wa.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Generally a pretty run down place. We have stayed here before. Just a place to sleep while intransit thru Eureka. You get what you pay for. As price goes it's fine but do not expect anything but a place to rest. No reason to demeen anyone. If you choose price then don't have high expectaions. I will say we were suprised by the maid bursting into our room, unaware it was occupied, no knock or anything. Very basic and not the cleanest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there on our way to San Franscisco. Unlike the Motel 6 in Roseburg which was great, this one totally stink. Room was not clean at all, weird spot on the carpet that looked like blood from a murder. Cracks all over the bath, cigarettes holes in the linen (at it was a non smoking room) and our room had a nice view on some sort of junk yark adjacent to the motel. Have to pay $3 for wireless internet that was not working half the time.

Oh and we found cloth from previous guest left behind bathroom door (eww).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Worst Motel we've stayed so far in California. It is not very clean (stains on the carpet, sheets, like everywhere).
I could have lived with that for one night at a Motel 6. What really freaked me out were all those crazy/creepy people living there:drug dealers, people doing drugs and so on.
If you wanna feel safe and comfortable- stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: stay in the front if you have to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this Motel 6 many times over the years. We don't expect much, but, it is cheap and they accept pets. This time they required photocopies of both of our ID's. This was not disclosed when we booked the room or we would have made other arrangements. Since we were tired and had no other options for our dogs, we stayed there. My wife has complained to Corporate and their answer is "stay somewhere else". Guess what? We will. There are plenty of other places that now accept pets. Good bye Motel 6!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Sign said $50. But if you have a spouse, it is $20 extra. Wi-Fi? Another three bucks (this is the ONLY hotel I have stayed at on my cross-country road trip that charged for a spouse or for wi-fi). They required both my driver's license as well as my wife's, and they photocopied both (in this age of identity theft, this is troubling - what happens to those photocopies?)

The room has no "amenities" except four plastic drink cups. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, no fridge, no microwave, no soap, no shampoo.

The heater is an old-fashioned radiator which hardly warmed the room after several hours - we went to bed cold. There is NO AIR CONDITIONER (not a problem for us in January, but a fair warning to other potential guests staying in the summertime).

The room was clean, but had an foul odor. The bedspread had multiple cigarette burns, though this was a non-smoking room.

This was the MOST EXPENSIVE room we stayed in during our cross-country road trip (more expensive than Days Inn in New Orleans, and Super-8 in Childress TX, and EconoLodge in Fresno CA) and it is the WORST room we stayed in. You pay more here, but you get much less.

Total price for one night (with two people, with the extra wi-fi charge) was $64.61, for a smelly nothing-of-a-room. Total rip-off. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Eureka

Address: 1934 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95501
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Eureka 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Eureka Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Eureka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.