We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the chain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Fifth Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Eureka
Fortuna, California
1 review
“Best of the chain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Hands down the best of the BEST WESTERN chain if only all the motels would follow the lead of this establishment, excellent breakfast, indoor/outdoor heated pool, friendly staff.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    125
    65
    32
    14
See reviews for
122
162
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We chose this inn because of the great reviews and found it even nicer than expected. Even in winter, it has a welcoming, tropical feel to it. Beautiful aquarium by the front desk. Check-in was friendly and professional, our room was comfortable, had all the amenities and pleasing decor. We asked for a quiet room and enjoyed a quiet, restful (Saturday) night. The breakfast was good, served in a room off the indoor pool and spa, again, a pleasant tropical ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

In pouring rain we pulled into the Best Western Humboldt Bay and found our room to be cozy with updated upholstery and flat screen TV. Also had a microwave and refrig. and several convenient outlets for charging devices. The bathroom had granite countertops and a heated tile floor. They had a nice pool area and the breakfast buffet opened early at 6 am.
This hotel was a step above other Best Westerns and if we travel through Eureka again this will be our hotel choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I have driven past this inn several times but only now had occasion to stay. At check-in they were fully booked and the only room left was the Honeymoon Suite, the bathroom was the size of most normal rooms as for the common areas it has a great pool and heated patio area and really friendly front desk staff! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I found this to be a great little hotel on our journey down the coastal highway. Unfortunately the small town of Eureka has nothing to offer. I imagine there is a beach way over on the barrier island but we were there for only one night.

This hotel is deserving of a great location and easily could stand up against the major resorts along a great beach.

For drive by customers they are in a great spot but for a beach town... no way. This property is location between 101 going north on one side and south on the other.

Too bad. It is always great to find a wonderful little spot like this.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Staff was very friendly, free limo service to and from dinner was great as was the driver, good location, restaurant/diner next door was quiet convenient after a long drive, and the room wasn't bad at all. We did have a couple of problems when we first arrived; sink drain in bathroom would not release and shower would not shut off after it was turned on. Both items were fixed within 10 minutes of reporting them by a very nice young man. Depending on how loud or quiet your neighbors are will determine whether or not you hear them. We could hear the upstaris neighbor walk around and heard their TV at times, but it wasn't anything that kept us awake or terribly bothersome. Will say the room smelled a little funky when we first got there, but a couple of scented candles fixed that right away! I believe the hotel states they have room service, which they do not, but they do have several local restaurant menu's at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

That doesn't mean that it's not an ok hotel. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, the limo runs from 6-10 pm, which is nice if you want to go out to dinner or for drinks without having to drive. The hotel was $105 for a Thursday night, which is way over priced, and the bathroom was dirty (hairs all over the floor). Also, the AC didn't work. The location was good (restaurants and downtown area are near). There is another Best Western a mile or so South of this one that had internet price $77 a night, and a much nicer hotel. I would go there instead.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn

Address: 232 West Fifth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#2 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, NEW Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room.Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with a billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising with an eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.