We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West Fifth Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wanted to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Room 271, March 11, 2008 was our location for a Eureka trip. We walked into the lobby at night to book a room that cost $90. We had 2 queen beds.It was in a wing that was recently refurnished as the room still smelled of the new carpet, drapes, bedspread, etc. It was very comfortable and nice. We missed the free breakfast as we went down at 10:05, and it is served until 10. Although bounded by 2 streets, one of which leads to the freeway, we didn't hear traffic. The check-in clerk was friendly and happy to have us as guests.We tried to return the following night as our plans kept us in town, but the hotel was full. This is a good location. Would definately return.

  • Liked — Newly refurbished room
  • Disliked — inflexible on breakfast hours (we arrived 5 min. after they stopped serving)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    156
    79
    35
    15
See reviews for
149
200
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed on the night of December 29/30, 2007.

We never expected to be traveling up the northern California coast on our return to Seattle from the San Francisco Bay area, but without chains in the rented mini-van, we did not want to tackle I-5 over the Siskiyous, which was experiencing heavy snowfall and on-and-off closures that weekend.

So Eureka was a completely unplanned stop on our route, and we had to scramble to find appropriate lodgings on an oddly busy winter night in Eureka, due to after-Christmas travel, and many folks doing the same thing we were - detouring around the very bad weather on I-5.

One of our preferences is high-speed internet, and so after flipping through the AAA Tourbook, we settled on a short list of a few motels we would try, all located in the general "motel row" right off Highway 101 near old town Eureka. The first was completely full, the second property looked uncomfortably dark so we passed by, and the BW Humboldt Bay was next up.

The property consisted of several buildings ringing a parking lot courtyard, which looked well-kept with numerous palm trees in coastal tropical rock gardens dotting the corners. The palm trees were all wrapped with white mini-lights, and it appeared all very festive.

On our way from the van to the lobby, we noted the nicely equipped fitness room being used, as well as the pool and lounge area, which although outdoors, was partially canopied and warmed with patio heaters. The was also a sign pointing to the business center which I learned through later exploration contained the usual array of fax, printer, Desktop PC with all the expected software programs (MS office suite), phone line ports, internet ports and table to spread a project out.

We were hopeful but girded for disappointment as we entered the beautifully decorated lobby with a crackling fire and gorgeous Christmas tree and saw the long line at the desk. The refugees fleeing the snowbound pass had assembled and continued to arrive. We were pleasantly surprised that rooms were still available, and even more so by the $80 AAA rate we were given for two doubles on the ground floor, with a room facing the interior of the courtyard. The walkways throughout the complex were mostly covered, which was nice as it was raining and quite cold that night.

Parking was fairly near our room and our luggage rolled easily to the door, with no curbs or steps, so it was an easy unpacking. The room was very clean, with the best bed I slept in the whole trip, and very soft sheets. The bathroom offered high-end organic soap items and shampoos, as well as great absorbent towels. I was surprised, but not disappointed that instead of a bathtub, the bathroom featured a spacious shower with an adjustable massaging showerhead.

My only criticism of the bathroom was that the sink and vanity were in the same room with the toilet and bath, rather than being in an outer alcove in the main room, as is the case with most motels/hotels now. It really would have been nice to be able to use the sink and coffeemaker without disturbing your travel partner using the "facilities".

All the usual amenities for this price range room were present, including iron, hair dryer, free local calls, coffeemaker and small refrigerator. The TV offered regular and premium channels and free HBO which were slightly fuzzy that night due to the huge storm that had just passed by and was still disrupting good dish reception. We also had to unplug a lamp to plug in the laptop, and would have liked a handy free outlet anywhere in the room that wasn't in the bathroom (where we charged our cell phones overnight)

We didn't experience any of the noise problems previous reviewers mentioned, possibly because we live in an urban area and are acclimated to a certain amount of "ambient noise" day and night. But the room seemed well insulated for both noise and temperature to us. The property does span a lot that stretches "between the north and southbound lanes of Hwy 101" as a previous reviewer stated, but it needs to be said that the north and south bound lanes of 101 through this part of Eureka are located on two downtown one-way streets, the traffic is contolled by stoplights every block and slow through this section, and the speed limit is 25. It's not like the motel is planted in the median of an interstate. The motel and it's courtyard takes up a full block of sleepy, quaint, small town Eureka.

The included Continental breakfast the following morning was excellent, with an attendant stationed in the breakfast room to continually refill and clean, so the buffet was at all times fully stocked with fresh food and absolutely tidy. Options included Fresh fruit, hot or cold cereal, coffee, tea, milk and juices, yogurts, bagels, pastries and bread for toasting with butter, jellies, jams and cinnamon available.

Although we didn't have time to stay and explore Eureka fully, I did take my morning jog/walk through old town Eureka, which starts just a couple of blocks from the motel, and is extremely charming at 7:00 am on a Sunday when no shops are open, so I can only imagine how great it is when busy and filled with shoppers at mid-day any day of the week.

Overall, we couldn't have chosen a better motel in Eureka if we had actively researched ahead of time, and were thrilled with our visit and would highly recommend.

  • Liked — The excellent beds, internet access, no curbs or steps to room, and breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

Our room( 251) was in a very dark corner, with poor lighting at the entrance. Could not see the badge reader or orient the card. Capets were dirty and stained. Cobwebs above the TV console. Wallpaper loose, peeling and dirty. Pillows are foam stuffed. The hotel is in an industrial location, next to a diaper cleaning service and a used car lot. Parking space is insufficient with many trucks. Unexpectedly the room contained only a shower, no bath.

On the positive side the outside grounds are well landscaped and quite attractive. Management was indifferent to our concerns.

  • Liked — Pool and landscaping
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

Very Nice Best Western. Be sure to check out the pool and breakfast area before you go to your room. Nice area. You may want to come back and hang out there.
The rooms are clean and have all the goodies you need.
A bit of outside traffic noise but I think almost all of the motels in Eureka are right on hwy 101 so that's to be expected. Great free breakfast and very friendly desk clerks.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford or
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

Ive stayed at this location 4-5 times and each time I was really happy with my room...they have all been recently remodeled and are really comfortable. I travel on business and the desk is large and it has all the plugins for my computer.
The staff is always friendly and I was impressed that the girl remembered my name.
The breakfast room was nice and the food was excellent, but not overdone.
I like to work out when I travel and one of the reasons I origanally chose this hotel is because of their fitness room...its perfect with dumbells, and machines, bike.
Overall, this location is one the best ones Ive stayed in...cant go wrong.

  • Liked — the room and fitness room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

looked online to search hotels in Eureka. The hotel looked appealing as it looked like it had a nice pool area, as we were travelling with our two kids. The staff was great at checkin and the young girl in the breakfast area was great and the free breakfast was great too. The rooms are pleasant and up to date (seemed to be renovated recently). overall, very happy with our choice!

  • Liked — pool area and patio terrace
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We came thru as part of a Cosmos tour. The motel is darned cute, very well maintained--multiple two-storied buildings, colorful banners hanging from each. Our room was clean, good-sized, nicely furnished and decorated. (The motel is indeed bordered by busy roads but we heard nothing as our room was in one of the interior courtyards, and doesn't the air conditioning make nice white noise that downs everything out?)
The free continental breakfast was well-stocked and appreciated. The pool was heated--the kids loved it. Lots of places to relax in lobby and in the outdoor pool/game area, well-landscaped and shaded. Staff of hotel is extremely well-mannered and helpful--and actually nice! Free paper in lobby, no gift shop, vending machines here and there.
Nice little downtown with a variety of places to eat and interesting shops a fairly long walk away; fortunately, the Best Western has a free stretch limo to take people around town! Wow! Pleasant lady driving--we ate downtown and called her to pick us up afterward. We'd all stay again...

  • Liked — service, nice room, good bed
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn

Address: 232 West Fifth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eureka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn is located in downtown Eureka, just blocks to Historic Old Town, NEW Marina/Boardwalk, and fine eateries and coffee houses. Take our complimentary stretch dinner limousine to dinner.Enjoy our 108 spacious guest rooms with all the amenities travelers want...NEW 42" LCD tvs, Microwave/refer, plush bedding, free WI-FI in every room.Our indoor/outdoor pool & spa area await you with an attached atrium/area with a billiards table and upscale lounging furniture for those that just want to relax. Our fitness facility is perfect for exercising with an eliptical machine, stationary bike, free weight dumbells, and a top-of-line 10 station workout machine.Complimentary deluxe breakfast is served each morning that includes: hot waffles (waffle maker), fresh danish, muffins, donuts (delivered fresh each morning), hot Jimmy Dean egg/sausage sandwiches, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, fresh gourmet coffee (ground onsite), and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Hotel Eureka
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.