We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter House Inns

Save Saved
You added Carter House Inns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carter House Inns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Eureka
Chemainus, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On the way to/from the Bay area we often stay in Eureka as a half way point. This is the first time we tried the Carter House. What a gem. The location is in the historic district where walking is easy and inviting. Our room was in the main building and was bright, clean and comfortable ,
The staff were excellent. Seemed excited to tell us about amenities including the 'welcome' glass of wine, the happy hour in the main lounge and the 'made to order' complimentary breakfast.
We didn't realize food was available in the small bar off the lobby and opted for their restaurant. it was very special and a bit pricey. The only downside (and it was corrected immediately) was a gratuity charged to our bill for the complimentary breakfast. We had left a tip on the table but were still surprised to see any charge....in all we would stay here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
A big "thank you" to you from all of us at Carter House Inns for letting us know about your experience at our Inn. We love to take care of our guests in order to be sure that they have an optimal experience, and it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Carter House Inns, and we wish you best of luck in your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    83
    48
    28
    9
See reviews for
52
219
30
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had to do single day get away to Eureka from the Bay Area to check out a school for a relative. 1. We were not excited to be going to Eureka in the winter, 2. We were not excited to have to drive a long way to stay in a hotel during the rain. With that in mind, the Carter house changed our view completely upon arrival. We were greeted by a great young man who happily showed us all the rooms and then allowed us to upgrade to the best room in the hotel. Then he helped us schedule a dinner in their restaurant as well as told us about the town. We then checked into our room where we quickly relaxed by a cozy fireplace, then changed clothes to attend dinner. The dinner was incredible as well. We then went for a couples massage (see my other review), and upon return enjoyed a desert from restaurant with a bottle of wine in our inroom hot tub listening to the rain. The whole experience was extremely relaxing and ended up being a great trip. In the morning, we went down for breakfast, complimentary for guests. The breakfast was so-so, but the ambience was great. We then walked down to the harbor and enjoyed our coffee with a bit of sight seeing. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We went for the largest room, which had the only king bed. There are also rooms across the street wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and want to thank you for taking time to respond to trip advisor. We're happy that your experience here at Carter House Inns in Eureka exceeded your expectations and we are happy that we could accommodate you in every possible way.. An unexpected surprise is always a gem in itself.

Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here while passing through Eureka on a family vacation over New Year Day and found this to be a wonderful stay. The hotel comprises several buildings across the street from each other and we were able to explore the ones that we didn't stay at (we were in the main building). The staff were hospitable and friendly, and the rooms well-kept, modern and clean. Though the buildings themselves looked historic on the outside, the interior is very new and well-appointed. Would stay here again if passing through the area. Breakfast, which was included in the rate, was delicious.

The only downside is that this place can be pricey, and there really is not a lot to do in Eureka for visitors passing through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your recent posting to Trip Advisor regarding Carter House Inns. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the amenities that we provide.
You will be pleasantly surprised to find that Eureka's Old Town has museums, art galleries, a repertory theater, kayak rentals on the bay, plus a unique shopping area. Thank you again for staying with us and best of luck in your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Carter House is beautiful. The decor inside was elegant and we received a warm welcome. Our bedroom was a little small (stayed in the main house) although it was very comfortable with a nice bathroom, comfy bed and great linens. The sofa and chairs in front of the TV and fireplace are sink-into-comfy. The welcome glass (free) of wine excellent, but the wine list was a tome, so asked for suggestions and were very happy with what we had. The Restaurant 301 was really good, we don't often eat in a hotel, preferring to venture out to local hostelries, but glad we did eat at this hotel. The food was really tasty and well presented, I especially liked the breakfast selection. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area, although Eureka itself is not worth too much time visiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate your review to Trip Advisor and want to thank you for the many compliments about Carter House Inns. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were well served by our staff.

You will be pleasantly surprised to find that Eureka offers many attractions - among them museums, art galleries, old town boutiques and antiques, clubs, theaters, and eateries, etc.

Thank you again for being wonderful guests and we wish you the best of luck in all of your travels.
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I just completed a stay at the Carter House. It was fantastic! Besides how beautiful and comfortable the house is, the staff is what makes it great. You are greated by Audrey who knows all the "in" places around Eureka and will take great care of you. A must is a drink at the bar - Michael the barkeep is very knowledgeable about the different wines and will make you feel welcomed and give you a great pour! Don't miss out on the opportunity to eat at the award winning 301 - outstanding food and service - ask for Zach. Top the night off with tea and cookies - Coleen the pastry chief makes the most delious cookies. After a wonderful night sleep (the beds are great as are the linens) start your day off with breakfast served by Elizabeth who is so accommodating. Chase and Nikki also were awsome.
Really know how to give great service

Room Tip: If you are only staying for a couple of nights, spulge on a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
The staff is so appreciative of your reviews. We can't thank you enough for your taking the time to post such a gracious reply and we hope to see you soon. In the meantime, good luck in all of your traveling.
Best wishes,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were very much looking forward to our stay at the Carter House Inn (we stayed in the main building), and it is certainly a nice place. However, when we checked in we were rudely treated (rushed) by the receptionist checking us in, and that put a damper on our stay. The room was perfectly fine, but small. The coffee maker was in the closet and had to be removed on a tray and placed elsewhere for use. The dinner at 301 was very good, perhaps a bit expensive for a small town, and the breakfast was just OK (only cereal was granola and only yogurt was unflavored). Additionally, the copy of the bill we received on checkout was not ours. I should have checked closely, but the amount was "close" to what I'd figured, so I did not look at the name. That evening my wife looked at the bill and realized it had another person's name, address and email address on it. I called Carter House to tell them and initially the person answering made light of it, without apologizing. When I said for a supposedly "fancy" Inn this was unacceptable and asked that they call the person whose bill I received, the staff member finally agreed and apologized. This may be the "best place" in Eureka, but if we go there again we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that your visit to Carter House Inns didn't exceed your expectations. However, we do thank you for your comments and feedback which will allow us to make any necessary changes and/or improvements.

Thank you again and all our best wishes to you.

Sincerely,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My friends and I decided to take a four day visit to far Northern California and Eureka, for Burns Night. We looked at a number of accommodations in Eureka and choose The Carter House Inn, largely in part due to a wonderful Groupon offering.

What an excellent choice we made! The staff was incredibly nice, especially Chase at the concierge desk. They really looked after us in every regard. The bar is terrific, featuring a wonderful selection of specialty bourbons. The bar staff was quite accommodating and the fish tacos absolutely amazing!

The food at 301 was quite good. The rooms are lovely and comfortable: wonderfully thirsty towels, very comfortable bedding, fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs, all just wonderful.

We also enjoyed the complimentary daily hot breakfast, and a glass of wine in the evening.

All of the staff was most gracious, from housekeeping to management.

And the location is terrific, within walking distance of the historical district.

Highly recommended. Will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: Room 201 is delightful, with wonderful view windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Owner at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and you dining experience at our Restaurant 301. Hope you come to stay with us again soon, and good luck with your future journeys.

Best regards,
Mark Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Address: 301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter House Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.