We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERRATED!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carter House Inns to your Saves list
Carter House Inns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OVERRATED!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arrived at night when the Restaurant was half full and an arrogant woman denied us service, any service! After paying over $211 dollars.
The room is decorated with cheap furniture and no noise insulation at all, would be ok if it was a $90 dollar hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    91
    55
    29
    11
See reviews for
64
264
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'm sure this is the best place to stay in Eureka. The property is stunning and the staff were delightful. We booked the very interesting, but dark, spacious Room 304 , for 2 nights, which was expensive. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely with a double walk in shower.
Everything appeared to be spotlessly clean until we were lying on the bed and we could see several cms of dust underneath the furniture and enough to write our name in on the ledge over the fireplace.
We ate in the restaurant one evening which was excellent. The quality of the food and service was good.
However, at breakfast I was not impressed with the tables being covered with white paper. The cooked breakfast was good but the buffet bar was very poor with help yourself coffee and tea and worst of all wooden sticks instead of teaspoons. I may be nit picking but I would have expected in an establishment that prides itself on being top-notch ,serving hot drinks to your table, with teaspoons, would not be beyond them.
Considering the rate we had paid I felt that these certain small touches were missing.
We did mention these gripes when we checked out and we were treated very fairly and they were noted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After some initial booking glitches, we found the rooms comfortable and well appointed. Manager (Audrey) was most apologetic for the hotels booking error and was most pleasant, attentive and helpful throughout our stay, providing maps and local information etc. Plentiful parking right outside the hotel,and despite previous Trip-advisor comments regarding the area, we found it pleasant enough and were not at all bothered by the occasional different looking person! Location of the hotel.is noisy oddly enough - seem to be a lot of early morning deliver lorries and lots of noisy motor bikes an other vehicles. Some rooms are also situated above the kitchen extractor fans, which doesn't help. Wifi available free of charge and the complimentary wine from 4 pm to 5 pm and Happy Hour from 5 pm til 6 pm is a nice touch. Pleasant service, but lacking in direction at times. Where on earth are the owners? Restaurant 301 - see comments under restaurant

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stay at Carter House for occasional business trips to Eureka. It's a real gem, and the best place I've found in Eureka, by a wide margin. The staff is really friendly and professional, and went out of their way to accommodate my need to print some Word files. The restaurant is top-notch--great dinner and included-in-room-rate breakfast. The restaurant's wine selection is great (a perennial Wine Spectator award winner), including the wines from the owners' winery a couple of hundred miles south. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Carter House Inn for one night in the honeymoon suite as it was the largest room they had to offer which is located in the main building. It was very clean and decorated tastefully although it showed some wear. The staff were extremely accommodating. The restaurant had excellent food and the service was very good. The location is close to the old downtown area. The Inn is quite safe but there are some unsavory characters that wonder the streets.

Room Tip: Third floor has less noise as some of the second floor rooms are above the dining and kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The two nights stay at Carter House Inns was a wonderful experience. Not only is the food at the restaurant as well as the service by the staff was excellent but the location in the old down town area provides an good starting point of a walking tour of the area. We really had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cartel Hotel is a historical hotel in Eureca.
The building is old but well maintained. Rooms are spacious and clean.
Service is very good, polite and attentive.
Breakfast had very few options.
Restaurant is very good but service is very slow.

Room Tip: each room is diferent. browse the list and choose to your taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Address: 301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#3 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter House Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.