We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carter House Inns to your Saves list
Carter House Inns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Suites
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Playa del Carmen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want a base while visiting the Red Wood forests. The rooms are lovely and the bed sheets are the best I have ever experience at any hotel, and believe me, I've stayed in many hundreds over the years!
The great thin about this Inn is that it also has a great Restaurant where you can dine in the evening.
Highly recommended would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    88
    53
    28
    11
See reviews for
58
243
30
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a very unique hotel in an early 1900's Victorian. The styling is great and the hosts are very accommodating and friendly. So, if you like unique styling this is your place. The rooms are spartan however. Carpet and bathrooms do need updating. The area is unique and this is a good location in Eureka.

I like the restaurant for dinner however I thought the breakfast was only average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everyone said such amazing things about this place, so we paid the really expensive price and stayed two nights. It's in a nice area of Eureka, close to old town and other sites. Frankly, for the $200+ a night price tag I was expecting a fancier room. It was a nice room, but small. The TV was tiny, maybe 18". They have a cute, small little bar that is also overpriced. $16 for a cosmo made with triple sec?? One night we ordered champagne and it was totally flat. Any champagne that has no bubbles in it is old; a waste of $22. The staff is VERY nice and professional.

The day we left we had to be somewhere at a specific time, so the night before asked our meals to be made by 8:00am ready to go; they said 'no problem.' We get to the lobby at 7:58 and the breakfast staff said, 'We'll go start your to-go breakfast.' Ugghh, this is why we asked to be ready to go by 8. Waited 10 minutes, the food came but they didn't give us forks to go. The staff couldn't find any and after waiting 15 minutes after it should've been ready, we just left.

This place is very nice and quaint looking, but the price is OUTRAGEOUS for what you get. Seriously not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful inn is not to be missed! It's peaceful and serene yet incorporates modern luxury. The staff treats you like royalty and the food is incredible! They use fresh, local ingredients. The wine pairings were superb. I highly recommend this gem!! Well worth the drive to the Redwoods.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food and service were great at this inn. I like the Victorians, and this is a really nice example. We stayed in the suite and it was really nice. We had the tasting menu for dinner, and the food and service was excellent. We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

nice simple bar. dinner amazing. nice queen was great jet tub an sitting room. perfect place
I'd stay again. room was better than I thought
parking is street but sends safe. breakfast gear to an included

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived for just one night in early April - which is presumably the off-season, because the inn and the whole town of Eureka were delightfully quiet. Without request, Carter House upgraded us to a suite - and what a suite it was. We couldn't believe it when we walked in to a jacuzzi in the bedroom and a beautiful gas fireplace.

Obviously I can't promise everyone an upgrade, but the entire experience exuded this same sense of hospitality. From the complimentary bottles of water in the fridge (luxury hotels would charge an arm and a leg), to the complimentary glasses of wine (which we forgot to redeem, sigh), to the cookies and tea in the lobby at night, to our lovely waitress at 301, to the fact that we postponed our dinner reservation TWICE and they didn't mind, to the thorough directions to the Redwoods upon our departure - it's so clear that the Carter House team cares about its guests.

The inn itself is gorgeous - not on the water, but a 2 minute walk from the little inlet nearby. Everything is meticulously maintained - the charm of an old inn with all of the comfort and cleanliness of somewhere new. The dinner and breakfast were both generous and exquisite. I am reluctant to say "affordable" because that implies "cheap" and Carter House is anything but. That said, everything was very reasonably priced given the quality.

An incredibly professional operation and an enjoyable experience all around. Wish we could have spent more than one night.

Thank you Carter House!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Address: 301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter House Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.