We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter House Inns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carter House Inns to your Saves list
Carter House Inns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Suites
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

nice simple bar. dinner amazing. nice queen was great jet tub an sitting room. perfect place
I'd stay again. room was better than I thought
parking is street but sends safe. breakfast gear to an included

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    89
    53
    28
    11
See reviews for
58
245
30
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived for just one night in early April - which is presumably the off-season, because the inn and the whole town of Eureka were delightfully quiet. Without request, Carter House upgraded us to a suite - and what a suite it was. We couldn't believe it when we walked in to a jacuzzi in the bedroom and a beautiful gas fireplace.

Obviously I can't promise everyone an upgrade, but the entire experience exuded this same sense of hospitality. From the complimentary bottles of water in the fridge (luxury hotels would charge an arm and a leg), to the complimentary glasses of wine (which we forgot to redeem, sigh), to the cookies and tea in the lobby at night, to our lovely waitress at 301, to the fact that we postponed our dinner reservation TWICE and they didn't mind, to the thorough directions to the Redwoods upon our departure - it's so clear that the Carter House team cares about its guests.

The inn itself is gorgeous - not on the water, but a 2 minute walk from the little inlet nearby. Everything is meticulously maintained - the charm of an old inn with all of the comfort and cleanliness of somewhere new. The dinner and breakfast were both generous and exquisite. I am reluctant to say "affordable" because that implies "cheap" and Carter House is anything but. That said, everything was very reasonably priced given the quality.

An incredibly professional operation and an enjoyable experience all around. Wish we could have spent more than one night.

Thank you Carter House!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A group of us needed a place to stay while filming a commercial in the redwoods and so we went with highest rated on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. It was a cold and dreary week in the redwoods but there was nothing cold about this B&B. Each morning and each night we were welcomed by a roaring fire in the quaint lobby, and even warmer reception by the front desk. From the moment we checked in we felt as though our patronage was appreciated and even like we just a another member of the family. Breakfast, which is included, was made to order and very good. Dinner at the restaurant "301"? Even better. Fresh, local fare is the mainstay of the menu and even impressed our client. We had just come from filming in San Fran and this topped any of the 4 star restaurants we ate there. In fact, when they ran out of there fresh ingredients for there dessert, the chef came out and asked us if we would let him make us up something from the ingredients he did have. We obliged and we all ended up with caramel apple crepes topped with butter rum whipped cream and chocolate sauce. It was fantastic. The rooms were cozy, clean and well stocked with amenities. It felt much less like a hotel room and much more like a nice guest room made up just for you. It is definitely a unique and experience and located in an even more unique part of town, just take a walk around and you'll know what i mean.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easiest access as the elevator is very slow (even though there are only three floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Recently stopped for one night at the Carter House after driving by Eureka on a few trips up and down the coast. Other than the Carter House there is not a lot of reason to make Eureka a stop unless timing makes it so.
First, the Inn. Very, very good service - both on the phone while booking a day ahead and upon arrival. Made to feel both welcome and appreciated. Shown to our room in the main inn (#211 I think) and it was charming. Maybe a little small but no issues - spotless, comfortable bed, great amenities. I would recommend without reservation. The building itself is beautiful with good common areas, cool bar and nice restaurant.
Second, the restaurant. It's a neat room and our breakfast the next day was great. Dinner was very uneven. Our first two choices were no longer available and as it is a good but limited menu this was a bit of an issue. I ended up having the beef shank and it was very disappointing, somewhat dry and the sauce tasted like it had burnt. The side vegetables on the other main included zucchini that was burnt on one side and not cooked on the other.
To the server's credit they reduced the price by 50% on the mains and comped a dessert - because of that we would give it another try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Best place ever! I've been here twice and both times my expectations were exceeded. The inn itself is gorgeous, and the rooms are equally beautiful and welcoming. But dinner, dinner may just top it all, or at least be the cherry on top. I'm not exaggerating when I say it is the best food I have ever tasted. And the Cesar salad! I am kind of a Cesar fanatic, and this is by far the best Cesar i have ever had (and I have had many Cesars from many places). I would stay no other place in Eureka, and would go out of my way on any journey just to stay here. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Found this lovely inn on trip advisor and it was a great find. Warm welcome with a glass of house wine. We had a suite in the Inn (an upgrade) which was beautiful and furnished with antiques. Lovely bed and the linen was so soft. We slept very well.

We had dinner in 301 which was excellent. A bit pricey for Eureka maybe but after San Francisco it was just fine.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The locals in the bar were the same.

Recommended for a special stay. It was a pity we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Our room looked over 3rd Street so had the occasional car but otherwise was fine. Over the kitchen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we had a great stay in a double queen bedroom. Very good dinner and a fine breakfast. We liked the complimentary glass of wine upon arrival. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathroom a little small and dated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your much appreciated review of Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to see you sometime in the future. Our best wishes go to you in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Address: 301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter House Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.