We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EUREKA! GREAT FIND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter House Inns

Save Saved
You added Carter House Inns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carter House Inns
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Eureka
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“EUREKA! GREAT FIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Oh, my -- who would think that in a town like Eureka there would be such an amazing, special, unique place to stay. On our way up the coast my husband decided to help celebrate my birthday with a surprising stay at this hotel. He called, asked help in arranging a great birthday for me, and they complied. They gave us an amazing room with a separate fireplace/sitting area, beautiful canopied bed, windows galore, and huge tub. They made reservations at their restaurant (301) -- the best meal of our vacation. Arranged a massage in the room, and bought flowers and had them waiting in our room. Everyone knew us by name and made sure we were taken care of. They offered cheese/crackers and wine in the early evening and breakfast in the morning (but don't plan on eating if you need to leave early -- it's not set up until 7:30 or so). The beds were incredible, the rooms clean and neat, and the service beyond perfect. Traveling down the coast can be stressful (too many twisty roads), but staying at the Carter House Inn makes it all worth it.

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    77
    46
    28
    9
See reviews for
48
207
29
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hotel was really nice and quaint and romantic. I'd definitely stay there again.

Did a lot of research on food in the area and ended up eating at their restaurant 301 for dinner and the complementary breakfast. Neither meal was worth eating. We ate at a lot of 5 star restaurants on our week long northern CA trip and these were the only two meals we completely regretted. Their chef couldn't even make an over-easy egg correctly. Even at free they'd be something to skip, at their high prices its a joke.

Skip the food, stay at the hotel. No idea where to eat in Eureka, but you're better off going without food than eating at Restaurant 301.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Selected the Carter house based on many good reviews. Very disappointed for the price. Family booked all 3 suites in the Bell Cottage. Beds were very comfortable. Kitchen and bathrooms in serious need of an update. Common area cloth furniture needs cleaned or replaced. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was terrible. Omlettes tasted like salt. Free wine is good but skip the appetizers. Since we had the entire cottage our stay was pleasant. Would have been very unhappy to share with other travelers as rooms are very close together and not soundproof. I would not stay here again as I prefer more modern and private rooms. If you enjoy B&Bs they do have some rooms that looked very nice and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for letting us know that you did enjoy the staff, the comfy beds, and the complimentary wine while you were at Carter House Inns. However, we were sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We are always working on upgrading, renovating, and refurbishing our rooms and the amenities in the Hotel, the House, and the Cottages. We thank you for your suggestions and we will certainly take them to heart.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed across the street at the Bed and Breakfast in one of the two room suites. It was fabulous, I would highly recommend it. Everything about it was great. A complimentary glass of wine at check-in and a complimentary breakfast were an added bonus. A very restful nights sleep, in a beautiful building.

Room Tip: I think that any of the rooms are very nice, it just depends on which building you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Carter House Inns in Eureka, CA. We are pleased that you stayed with us, and we wish you the best of travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

From the moment we walked in The Carter House took excellent care of us. The complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and our dinner at the hotel's "Restaurant 301" was definitely a highlight. We didn't know too much about the area but the staff gave great recommendations on dog friendly beaches, wine/beer tastings, sights to see. The staff seemed genuinely happy to be there. Everyone was warm and outgoing and helpful. It was the highlight of a long wknd - far exceeding our expectations. Go!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

The Staff is delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality of Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301 and all of the scenic splendor that the North Coast has to offer. Thank you for posting a Trip Advisor Review and for letting us know that you had a great weekend here. Come again!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California (San Francisco Area)
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Carter House Inn is located in the historical district of Eureka and walking distance of shopping, resturants and historical points of interest. It's approx one block from the water and there is a walking path that goes along the waterfront that is quite nice.

We stayed in Room 203 which is in the main inn. This room was above the main lobby area on the second floor and looked out on to the street. We stayed here in February which is the low season and from reading the other reviews I did bring ear plugs but we didn't need them. Other than the normal bumps and noises you may hear from other hotel rooms there wasn't a problem with noise. There was limited parking behind the inn but the majority of the time we parked on the street (either on the side or in front ot the inn with no problem).

The Inn is quite nice with wine and snacks in the afternoon and tea and cookies at night. Some people did gather downstairs in the cozy lobby to partake and enjoy other people's company but we had been so busy exploring and hiking the near by redwood forest we ended up skipping these events instead.

We reserved room 203 because it was the cheapest one available at that time ($159 per night) but it was very nice with jetted tub, comfy dbl size bed, desk, nice decor, etc. Wifi was free and worked really well.

The staff response and service (especially Ashley) was amazing. They were always pleasant and helpful. Kudos to Ashley who came up stairs to show me where the on/off switch to the jet tub was (turned out it was behind the door while in other rooms it was on the tub).

Breakfast was on the higher scale here, for free you were given granola, yougurt, fruit, assortment of breads, muffins and torts along with coffee, teas, milk and juice. For an additional $8 you can order the hot dish which was an ham & cheese omelet one day and a quiche the next.

We did have dinner in the resturant downstairs and was aware that the cost would be high but decided to splurge anyway. Everything was fresh and good but having lived in or near San Francisco from many years I rated it as an 8 out of a scale of 10.

We would stay here again and I'm considering organizing a Ladies trip and renting out one of the Inn's houses for just our group.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling others about Carter House Inns in Eureka, CA. We know that it takes time out of your busy schedule to compose and post a review, and we do appreciate it. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the redwoods and the North Coast as well as our Inn. We will work harder to make sure that all of our guests know that both course of breakfast are free, and we are sorry that it wasn't clear to you. Hope to see you again up here--perhaps with some of your friends.

Happy Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We found this hotel on the GPS in our rental car as we were driving up Highway 1. Drove by for a look and had to stay. They had us the second we walked through the doors. A complimentary glass of wine upon check in. Little appetizers by the fire. My husband and I were allowed to check out rooms before we made a decision. Each was unique and beautifully decorated. We chose a spacious room on the 3rd floor w/ fireplace, 4 poster bed and jet tub built for 2. Very romantic! The biggest surprise was the 301 Restaurant. We opted for the chefs tasting menu with wine pairings and it was so well done we still talk about it. Each dish was beautifully prepared and the wines were top notch. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed a 2nd night and ate at 301 again. This time we made a special request for a seafood only tasting/wine pairing and they gladly obliged. Not only was it spectacular, but none of the dishes were duplicated between the 2. That goes above and beyond service. Troy and Ashley, our servers for the 2 consecutive nights were wonderful in describing why/how each wine was chosen for each dish. Just a great dining experience. Oh yes...after dinner we had warm cookies by the fire...complimentary, of course :)

We can't wait to return to Cater House. Our only fear is that we'll never be able to get a reservation...It's that good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewer8062, Manager at Carter House Inns, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Your in-depth review of Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301 was read happily by our staff. We're pleased that your experience at Carter House Inns and Restaurant 301 was enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about our property in Eureka, CA.
Best wishes to you in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carter House Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter House Inns

Address: 301 L Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eureka
#3 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carter House Inns 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern California's premier inn is an enclave of four magnificent Victorians perched alongside Humboldt Bay in Old Town, Eureka. The luxurious accommodations at Carter House Inns and the sumptuous dining at its Restaurant 301 (considered among Northern California's best restaurants) set and indulgent tone for a marvelous visit to the giant redwood forests, rugged Pacific beaches and the other wonders of Northern California's Redwood Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carter House Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter House Inns Hotel Eureka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter House Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.