We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clams are divine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Waterfront

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Waterfront
102 F Street, Eureka, CA 95501-0412
707-443-9190
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 142 Restaurants in Eureka
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cupertino
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“clams are divine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

usually come here for breakfast when we visit but alas a glass of wine clams and the one you love not a bad way to go. Bruch and other times love music great fresh food and fun

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    15
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hopeful but Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We so looked forward to a seafood dinner in Eureka. We tried this place. First, we had to ask for silverware - our server didn't even notice. And then, he did not apologize, instead we got a distracted attitude and some muttering about the "summer schedule". We ordered the "Fish Burger". Although the fish is described as fresh, it was very bland and almost mushy. The building itself is unique and attractive, but the service and the food is lacking. We also had to ask for our check - the staff are very inattentive for such a small room.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Seafood Breakfast Specials”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First impressions were bad. The waitresses (3 of them) walk by us making an effort to NOT make eye contact. After about 5 minutes a waitress came up and said, "I don't think so". Not, hello, welcome or how many in your party? Then she said, "Well, let me see". She walked over to a table with a reserved sign on it and prepped it for us. Ya!

This place was good...not great. I was happy to see lots of seafood options on the breakfast special menu. Crab omelet, seafood scramble, halibut cakes and more.

I got the crab omelet for $18.95. It was filled with plenty of fresh crab but the eggs were over cooked and it was a bit on the bland side. A little dash of Tabasco took care of that.

My husband had the breakfast hash, oysters, garlic, spinach. He said it was good.

They have the makings for a superb breakfast place with live jazz and a great looking menu. It feel just a bit short. I will be back and give them another try next time I'm in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Comfortable, bar, friendly staff,good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Walked along the boardwalk, quiet, town, hard to see what was open...
Found the bar, peeked inside, greeted warmly and sat. The specials board looked interesting, however, we like our seafood simple. Local oysters not available.

Those offered were very good, and enjoyed simply with lemon and pepper.
Main course, steamed clams, served with broth, they were delicious, the liquor was heavy with butter, a little rich for us - personal choice.

Coffee and cake were good, generous portions.

A relaxed atmosphere and comfortable place to be anytime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn OR
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Waiting, waiting, waiting...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We waited about 10 minutes for someone to notice we were there, and then, were seated with menus. The place was busy so we were being patient, but after waiting another 15-20 minutes and not even having a waitperson acknowledge us, we decided it was hopeless and left. There was live music playing and people were trying to talk over the music which made it very loud in a tightly packed space.

The only reason I gave them a poor instead of a terrible is that the food looked okay, not great, but okay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Waterfront also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Cafe Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.