We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle House Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eureka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Save
You added Eagle House Victorian Inn to your Saves list
139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Happy Holidays $90 Rate!
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What an amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I stopped over were on a road trip and had planned on getting further south but it was getting dark, so we decided to stop in Eureka and search for a place to sleep. There is no shortage of hotels and motels in Eureka but driving through town none of them really looked very appealing. I did a little research (good thing I had my iphone) and we found the Eagle House.
We were in love with it as soon as we walked in. The Inn is decorated with all antiques and some really great artwork that made us jealous it wasn't on our walls at home.
Our room was extremely comfortable and we spent our night at the Irish Pub downstairs and talked with their very friendly bartenders.
We were so happy that we got the chance to see this Inn. We will never forget it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    27
    7
    16
See reviews for
25
77
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

When my sister & I stepped into the lobby that gave this inn its Victorian character, we were met by friendly staff & taken up in the elevator to the quiet room we had requested, overlooking the bay a block away. The large windows made it seem light & larger than it actually was, but those windows had only sheer curtains so we were awakened very early each morning. But when my bed proved uncomfortable, the staff immediately switched my mattress for a firmer one. The persistent problem was hot water, which even in an 1888 building should have been consistently available but wasn't. We washed in cold water at the sink and dodged in & out of blistering water alternating with frigid temperatures in the shower when there was any hot water at all. Complaints got sympathy & promises but no solution. At the building's center was an old, musty ballroom and one corner of the main floor housed an Irish pub. The big plus was the Old Town location, which Eureka is working hard to establish in a formerly warehouse area. Its very attractive streets paved in patterns and numerous coffee places, restaurants & varied shops made for interesting walks within a few blocks. Eureka's own location between two main redwood grove parks was what brought us there to hike & truly those trees were every bit as impressive as their pictures. However, if I went back to that area I would investigate lodgings in Arcata, a college town to the north which is also on Humboldt Bay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglehousevictorian, Manager at Eagle House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
First of all, let me respond to this guest's comments by saying that we were happy to be able to immediately replace their twin mattress with a firmer one on the morning after their first night's stay (of several days) with us. And, sorry that the curtains in their room were not thick enough to screen out the early morning light as well as they would have preferred.

We did indeed (numerous times when they were not in their room) check out the hot & cold water situation that they stated was so problematic, but could never find anything wrong with either the plumbing fixtures/handles in either the sink under the vanity or the shower head and/or water faucet in the private bathroom's combined bath/shower. We also checked out the main water heater itself that controls such things for all 24 guest rooms in the building. It was fine.

Therefore, it wasn't possible to "fix" a problem concerning all of the above, because we couldn't find one. Believe me, if we'd found something to repair, we would have repaired it. We always take our guests' requests involving their comfort very seriously; but (in this particular case), we are unable to mirror what they did and experience a similar result. So, we'll just have to say "sorry" to them about the uneven-water-temperature situation during their stay.

Hoerver, we've had no further complaints since from other guests who have occupied that same room, so we have no idea what could have happened previously. It's also puzzling because all of the bathroom fixtures (including the toilets') in all 24 of our rooms were recently replaced with brand new ones, and the bathroom tiles were also redone as well. Obviously, since the inn first started having guests back in 1888, the up-keep has had to be ongoing--and it is.

In any case, we're glad that the guests enjoyed our location and the driving proximity to the redwood forests, beaches, etc.---as well as the boardwalk, numerous unique shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries, and live performance venues, within walking distance of our inn.

And, we're proud of our beautiful "old musty ballroom" that's on the ground floor at the center of our
building. It happens to be one of the most popular venues in the area for everything from proms and private parties, to weddings/receptions, and live musical events. Quite often, these are catered by our on-site restaurant, Gallagher's Irish Pub & Restaurant (Old Town's own "Cheers" and a favorite with locals & tourists alike).

Once more, may we offer sincerest apologies to our "water-challenged" guests. We'll definitely keep an eye on the water temperatures coming out of the faucets/shower head in that particular room's bathroom, in order to make sure that (hopefully), this hot/cold fluxuation doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I have stayed at the Eagle House numerous times on business. Staff are very friendly and accomodating- they always try to get me my preferred room, and Betty is a great source of info on cultural events in the area (theater, etc.). The rooms are very comfortable and charming, and very convenient to Old Town Eureka. I always enjoy waking up and strolling along the waterfront, less than a block away, watching the terns, pelicans, and harbor seals.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed in the Eagle House Victorian in early August and had the most wonderful stay. We were greeted by Betty who could not have been more charming and were treated as if we had been reoccurring guest. (even though it was our first time in Eureka) Our room was number 33 a real charmer. The bed was comfy and the room itself was very spacious. The charm of the bar Gallagher's made the trip complete and late night drinks there with friends was a real plus. Thank you for a great stay on our long journey!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Eleven family members, including three young children, a teenager, five adults and two seniors spent five nights at the Eagle House Victorian Inn in July to celebrate a special birthday. We chose the location for its proximity to the Redwoods National and State forests, and because Beti, the hotel manager and special events coordtinator, was so accommodating in meeting the needs of our extended family, including finding connecting rooms for the family with young children. For lovers of period furnishings and craftsmanship, the Inn is a gem. The Inn's website, offering photos of each room, does not oversell this place. We had the entire 4th floor, including six charmingly decorated bedrooms with newly refurbished bathrooms, and a very spacious living room with views of the bay, all at a reasonable cost. (Hotel furnishings of this caliber would command a fortune in a large city). The elevator opened directly to our living room suite. The reactions of my children upon seeing their rooms (mainly suites with sitting areas as well, furnished entirely with authentic and lovely antiques (no reproductions here!) was "Wow! Thanks!" Each day, with Beti's advice, we had a new adventure - to the awe-inspiring redwood forests, Agate beach, the neighboring towns of Arcata and Trinidad, the Eureka zoo, a winery and to historic Old Town Eureka, which begins less than a block from the Inn, and has the best ice cream store we've ever encountered. Our floor had a small kitchen and refrigerator and we might have done a better job of feeding the children breakfast since the muffins and juice the Inn provides were not adequate for them. Although Old Town has several good breakfast spots, it is not easy to eat out with children three times a day. I would encourage the Inn, which has a beautiful ballroom with a stained glass ceiling, to offer a full breakfast in that space. It would also be a treat to see performances on the stage in that ballroom.) For the birthday celebration, Beti recommended Reed Padin, owner of Gallagher's Irish Pub on the premises, where we had earlier enjoyed a good Irish meal. Reed , who caters weddings and other special events for the Inn, prepared a splendid salmon and filet mignon dinner for us in the restaurant, after which we adjourned to our living room for a delicious carrot cake baked by Ramone's Bakery. Inside our rooms, we didn't hear each other, but some of us heard street noise, particularly on one side. Those who are light sensitive may want to bring eye pads as the curtains in some rooms, lovely as they were, do let in street and morning light. For those who do not want the homogonized fare of identically furnished motel chain rooms cluttered with plastic-coated instructions, the Inn is a real find. The quality and sheer volume of period furnishings is truly impressive, and our rooms were tastefully decorated, not overburdened with frills and knickknacks, and restored with care and attention to detail. Beti is unusually helpful and knows and loves the area. (She is also the theatre critic in town). I hope the Eagle House will continue to develop its potential as a unique inn/theatre/antiques marketplace/restaurant destination for travelers to Northern California, which has so much to offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is really cool. It's full of antiques and is huge. Our room was extremely spacious- basically a good-sized room plus a seperate area for the king bed. Everything was clean and comfortable. But I think the coolest thing was that we arrived on a motorcycle and the person at the counter, the owner I think, let us park our bike in the ballroom!!! I was worried about parking our bike in Eureka as there are some sketchy areas, so this was a huge relief. How funny to see our bike parked in the ballroom. He said he doesn't mind doing this when there are no events happening at the inn. Anyway, if that's not hospitality I don't know what is. We're staying there every time we go to Eureka. If you're looking for unique, this is it. If you're looking for boring, go to Motel 6.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

My family and I spent a week at the Eagle House Inn in Eureka for a family get together. The host was able to accommodate all 11 of us perfectly. We had three young children and one teenager in our crowd and all of us felt right at home. Beti was very helpful in showing us around and filling us in on the many things to do in and around Eureka. There were many restaurants and shops within walking distance. It was a wonderful stay and I highly recommend the Eagle House if you are planning on visiting Northern California. The experience was way beyond a normal hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Victorian Inn

Address: 139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Eagle House Victorian Hotel Eureka
Eagle Hotel Victorian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle House Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.