We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samoa Cookhouse

Samoa Cookhouse
Off Cookhouse Road, Eureka, CA 95564
707-442-1659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 156 Restaurants in Eureka
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Hadn't been here in many years. But the food was still good. For one price you can eat as much of their wonderfully cooked food as you can handle. So be hungry. There are long tables. First time we went was years ago and we ate breakfast. We sat with people we didn't know but it was fun to eat and chat. This time we got there just past the lunch crowd so we had a whole table to our selves.
Very friendly wait staff. The price is worth the value of the amount of food. They did have soup and salad option too. We paid $50 for 3 adults and one child (she only had the soup).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    111
    37
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Step back in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

An actual "company town" cookhouse just for workers until 1966, Samoa Cookhouse serves hearty fare family style. You'll sit on a bench at a long table and rub elbows (perhaps literally) with your table mates. The food is nothing fancy and you basically get to eat whatever they're serving that day, but prices are a bargain and there's a senior discount for those 60 and over.
The scenic drive across the bridge to/from Eureka is another reason not to miss this little corner of local history.
A small museum displays relics from the lumber mill that was the town of Samoa's original reason for existence.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Historical cookhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Go for the history. Enjoy family style comfort food. Nothing fancy here. Hearty fare at a good price is what you'll find.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned comfort food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by family members. It is very unique
given its history. We had a great meal of fried chicken, ribs, potatoes, and
corn. It was very good, reminded me of dinner at my grandma's house.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

If you want comfort food, this is the place to go. We went for breakfast and had biscuits and gravy, pancakes, sausage, eggs, juice, and tea. Nothing fancy, but very tasty. As it is all-you-can-eat, we were very stuffed when we left. The server was very good, and we never had to wait to get seconds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samoa Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Samoa Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoa Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.