We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samoa Cookhouse

Samoa Cookhouse
Off Cookhouse Road, Eureka, CA 95564
707-442-1659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 142 Restaurants in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Paradise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Restaurant is on a strand of land between the ocean and Eureka. Food served family style, all you can eat. No choices, but don't let that deter you. The food is most excellent. Our waitress was friendly, helpful, delightful and improved an already great palate delightful evening! Coffee, tea, etc. included in the price. Alcoholic beverages were extra, this building was used to feed loggers and is full of the local history. This is a must stop when you come to the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    118
    43
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love this no frills historical place to eat. Be prepared to wait. We went on Saturday night and they were short staffed, but all staff was super busy trying to get everyone attended to. Yet all staff we encountered were super friendly and efficient. Food was excellent, tasty and perfectly seasoned. You will sit with others and are served family style which can be a great way to meet some other folks traveling through town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Worth a visit just for the atmosphere. Buzzing with large and small groups all dining family-style. Friendly staff serve your party with each course - take it or leave it set menu - plenty food, basic and wholesome to give the authentic cookhouse experience! My husband especially enjoyed the melt-in-the-mouth beef (although he missed a pint of ale to wash it down!).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun to eat here with kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was a fun place to eat with our kids, but they only serve one meal a day, and the food is fair, but it us fun to sit in a big cafeteria setting like the old loggers used to do and they've kept the menu and decor authentic so it does feel like a step back into the past. There is a small museum attached which has a ton of historical antiques and a collection of old logging equipment that is very interesting and our kids enjoyed the couple of hours we spent here. Again, don't expect a lot from the food, it's just okay, but it's something very different, so I am rating this on the overall experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not your typical 5 star restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is like going home to Grandma's house. The food is served family style and there is plenty of it. Just like at Grandma's house you get what is being cooked. There is no menu to choose from. Our meal last month was bread and butter, salad, a wonderful soup, then short ribs with carrots and potatoes, and a hot vegetable. For desert was a choice of apple pie or chocolate pudding. The food was down home good, something I would like to eat on a daily basis.

Just thinking about eating here makes my mouth water!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samoa Cookhouse also viewed

Eureka, Humboldt County
Eureka, Humboldt County
 
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Samoa Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoa Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.