We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AA Bar & Grill

AA Bar & Grill
929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0517
707-443-1632
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 157 restaurants in Eureka
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were wandering around Eureka trying to find a nice place to eat. Saw some reviews for the AA Bar and Grill and thought we would give it a chance as we were both in the mood for a good steak. I have to admit this was one of the best steaks I have ever had! We had a couple drinks with dinner and just really enjoyed the feel of the place. We would definitely go back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    19
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant hidden in a dive bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Sampled soup, chicken wings, steak and the fried chicken... All were excellent. It's definitely a bar (albeit one with strange hours), but the food is on par with anything I've had in the area.
This place merits a weekly visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Hiding behind the plain door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A very good bar behind a very plain front. The atmosphere is friendly, as are the staff. The beer is good and the steaks are superb. I mean, really superb, amongst the best that I have ever tasted. All round a very enjoyable experience. However, if you are a vegetarian, you might like to try just about any other bar on the planet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great dive bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Had drinks here couple nights in a row and enjoyed ourselves. The locals are friendly and there's shuffleboard, so wheee! Service is only spotty when it's busy, which is totally understandable. Otherwise the folks who work here are terrific. Would definitely come back if I ever found myself in Eureka again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is one of our secret places to eat in the Humboldt area. The bartender at Everett's, in Arcata, recommended it to us. Since it sits across from the jail, we were a little surprised. But we went and had the best steak we have ever had. We go back every time we are in the area. Locals will tell you that this is the place to eat. Believe them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AA Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to AA Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AA Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.