We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gabriel's

Gabriel's
216 E St, Eureka, CA 95501-0433
707-445-0100
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 156 Restaurants in Eureka
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Based on reviews, we tried this restaurant, and were pleased. It's in the old part of town, with all the character that one imagines. The building is old, but well maintained. The selection was diverse, and our choice of dishes tasty. We were particularly pleased with the cheese plate as an appetizer, and would highly recommend it to start off your meal.

Others have mentioned that the staff is not friendly, and we found that to be the case. To make a distinction, we found staff more aloof than unfriendly. There was no warmth from any of them, even when we complimented the restaurant, or tried to engage a little bit of conversation to learn more about the food. I wouldn't say rude, but definitely not interested in interacting any more than necessary. Since we knew this going in, it was not a surprise, and it did not bother us. But if you need to be pampered at a restaurant, you're better off elsewhere.

We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Good food. The service was fine.
Nice salad as part of the meal.
Desert was unusual and very delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food but service lacked something to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The food was quite good, but the staff was not at all friendly. The manager and bar tender stood and talked right by our table, and we sometimes felt we were bothering the waitress. Also, they do not state on the menu that a salad comes with the entree, so we order a carprese salad and bowl of olives, and then out came a salad. We would not have order the caprese salad and olives had we known the salad would be coming with the entree.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even the locals don't know it's there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great Italian restaurant in Old Town. Small, intimate restaurant with great food and service. Reservations recommended but often you can walk in and get a table, maybe upstairs. Small full service bar.Run by Polish family but great northern Italian fare. Decent wine list.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home cooking Italian family style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Homey yet intimate setting. Excellent food. Friendly atmosphere. Reasonably priced.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriel's also viewed

 

Been to Gabriel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabriel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.