We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul Food in Eureka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bless My Soul Cafe

Bless My Soul Cafe
29 5th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0333
+1 707-443-1090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 156 Restaurants in Eureka
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Barbecue, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Creole Fusion Cuisine, as created by Sweet Mama Janisse one of Americas Best kept secretes.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soul Food in Eureka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The food was great. Catfish, collards, yams and hushpuppies in a beautiful Eureka. Everything is made from scratch. So delicious and Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dine IN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a great menu that excited a vegetarian who also like soul food minus the pig products. We did take out, dining in would have provided the need salt, extra butter and the little things that can make a meal better. Salad dressing, Greens, mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes had great flavor. The waitress (owners daughter?) was very knowledgable about the food with great suggestions. I spotted a huge bucket of toys on the way out and happily take my kids if we pass by again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Place in Humboldt County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Yummy yummy yummy! Everything is authentic and delicious here! try the crawdad stew thing SOOOO BOMB!! i cant even be formal about this review because i love this place so much!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everything was Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family of 5 went here for Dinner during our vacation, it was delicious!! We all ordered different dishes and shared them so everyone could get a taste of each others dish. Everything I tried was full of flavor. Their house made salad dressing is AMAZING. Loved it! Fried okra and fried pickles were really good, the batter was not too heavy, light and crispy. I ordered the crayfish and sausage as my entree, it was a stew that came with rice, kind of spicy, but really good. My dad got the chicken fried pork, and the chop was juicy and the crust was crispy and tasty, not too greasy. My mom got the ribs special, the bbq sauce was really good. Sis got the sticky chicken breast, and bro got another pork dish. They were both really good as well. Loved the cajun corn side, and my sweet potato side and the corn bread muffins were soooo good!! The meals are a little on the pricey side but you get huge portions. When we went there was only one waitress and we were afraid of a long wait, but we stayed because the place smelled so good as soon as we walked in the door. I'm glad we did, the waitress worked quick and the food came out pretty fast as well. Over all we loved our meal and wish we could go back again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“hush puppies and fried okra yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Southern/cajun home cooking that can be as hot as you like. Try the fried okra it great. I also really like their jerk chicken and beans and rice.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bless My Soul Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bless My Soul Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bless My Soul Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.