We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Filippi's Pizza Grotto

Filippi's Pizza Grotto
114 W Grand Ave, Escondido, CA 92025-2602
760-747-2650
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 298 Restaurants in Escondido
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good pizza, good service, good decor good prices. Several draft beers.
Parking is available in a large lot in back of the building. There are several other restaurants on the block.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Townie50”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Best Italian food around... and the service is great. The only negative is the wait cause its so good{

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great salads and sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

best lunch for sharing, meatball sub with house salad, plus lots of free bread. don't tell Vince but heis too cheap compared with other Italian places who feel they must overcharge. try it for lunch, or to go too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our entire family absolutely loves Filippi's, and we often take our out of town guests there too and have ordered pickup for school events too. The cheese on their pizza really makes it--but you don't want to order extra cheese because it is the cheesiest ever without! Their antipasto salad is perfect and plentiful too with a nice zesty vinaigrette. I'm sure everything is good on the menu, but we haven't ordered beyond these favorites. There are several Filippi's in the San Diego area, and they all have a little different taste; but we think Escondido's is the very best of the best!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like cheese this is the place for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have never had a bad meal or bad service here. There food is really good!! If you like pizza with tons of cheese this is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippi's Pizza Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Filippi's Pizza Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filippi's Pizza Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.