We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Outdoor Garden Seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Brewing Company

Stone Brewing Company
1999 Citracado Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
760-471-4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stone Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 298 Restaurants in Escondido
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic, Californian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Catch the Eastbound Sprinter to Stone! Closest stop is Nordahl Road. North County Transit District: Bus Route # 353 NCTD Phone Customer Service = 760.966.6500
Description: At Stone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens, we endeavor to use as much in-season, locally and organically grown produce as possible. It's about much more than freshness and sustainability. Local, organic food--fresh from local growers AND our own farm to your table--simply tastes better and is better for you. Combine those benefits with our expansive gardens, our indoor and outdoor 32-tap beer systems and select wines and you've got a dining experience to satiate your--body, mind and soul.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Outdoor Garden Seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I are foodies and craft beer/home brew junkies. We did the San Diego nano-breweries and tastings days before and headed up to Escondido/San Marcos to visit a few more. We did the brew tour prior to having dinner with family. The tour was short but we didn't need the full treatment since we've been to many tours at other places. The tastings are always fun. But I was looking forward to dinner. I enjoyed my outdoor dining the last time I came and requested an outdoor space for our party of 6. The beer selection is great (they also feature other breweries in SD) but the food didn't blow me away this time around. Safe bets: Warm pretzels with their Stone mustard and the Cheese/Beer soup. Also, try any limited edition beers like their "Suede" and share a "tasting" with the table. I was more impressed with the ambiance of the restaurant than the food. However, our server was outstanding!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    101
    48
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading PA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is #1 for brewery tours and brewpub visits in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited September 22nd 2013 and arrived when brewpub opened. Brewpub opens up to the garden area and the main bar has a backdrop of the actual brewery covered by 20 foot glass. Absolutely great beer and excellent atmosphere. I wish I could have stayed to have some of the food, it looked great. The brewery tour was $10, I believe and was well worth it. 1 hour of tour of the facility and tastings of everything they had on draft. Overall excellent, would go to San Diego just to visit this place again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Poor Space Management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

2:15 PMish...
Me: Hi! I don't have a reservation...how long is the wait for a table for 7?
HOSTESS(smiling): Sorry, we're completely booked and probably can't seat you for at least 90 minutes...
Me: That's alright, I should've thought about that on a Saturday. We'll just go outside to the bar areas...

2:20 PMish...checking out the outdoor area...
ME: Hi! Are these tables on the side all reserved?
SERVER: Yeah...I'm sorry...you can check out the area by the bar...
ME: How about that really long one off to the side there thats kinda hidden, can we chill there?
SERVER: Uh...no, that's reserved too. Sorry!

2:30 PMish...giving my tourist friends from a quick tour, we later manage to hijack the semi-secret cushy lounge area.

2:31-3:30 PMish...after enjoying some brews and some overpriced tiny-portioned appetizers, we noticed that no one was ever seated at any of the tables I had asked about over an hour ago. If you don't have enough waitstaff to cover the extra tables, why not just expand the bar/lounge area and let people chill at the tables? Or maybe *gasp* hire more servers? Though we did notice from time to time 2 to 4 waitstaff would hang out and giggle by empty long table I asked about...WTF?

I hate this place a little bit more each time I'm dragged here for a birthday or a tourist friend in town...I would never come here on my own accord. But if you're a tourist, you should probably see this place at least once in your life.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice atmosphere with indoor and outdoor seating. The building, the stone decor and the garden are modern yet warm and inviting---great for socializing with friends. Food is decent but nothing to rave about. Great beer selection and waiters are passionate about their beer. Will come back for the beer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good everyday food. Very good service. Very nice atmosphere. Outdoor seating looked really nice but was full so if you want to sit outside, you need to make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Stone Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.