We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, comfortable room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Good price, comfortable room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Far from a new hotel but comfortable. I didn't realize that the noise I heard much of the night was from the mini-refrigerator and that the noise could be stopped by closing it with some force. The hotel's one elevator is so small that a luggage cart can be accommodate only with a fair amount of effort (when I left, I just made extra trips and book the bags down by hand).

The hotel is almost next to I-15 and an offramp. I asked for a room not facing the freeway, and got one. I'd rate the standard HIE breakfast as so-so. I booked my hotel on a Sunday evening upon arrival, and got a rate lower than that I'd found on the Web site.

There are several fast food places just across the parking lot, and a couple of sit-down restaurants within walking distance.

I didn't use the pool, but several guests did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Interstate 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear sutter:

Thank you for your comment about your brief stay with us. We are glad that we were able to accommodate your request. Our windows are double paned and therefore you can barely here the noise coming from the freeway. We will also be adding some "healthy options" to our breakfast menu as of the end of the month and so hopefully you will visit us again so that you can give it a try.

We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
21
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Well we were back in Escondido (this time for the playoff's) and we elected not to go back to Rancho Bernardo (see my previous review) and instead stayed at Holiday Inn Express. While it may not have the lush grounds that the other property has, the rooms were great (very comfy). Wifi was free as was the breakfast (that the entire team enjoyed). AND.... they gave us an hour extra on the late check out. Staff was very courteous and friendly. How can you go wrong with an In-N-out in the parking lot! If we make the playoffs again next year this is where I am staying.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mikepoly:

We thank you for taking the time to send in your review of our property. We are delighted that your group enjoyed our comfortable rooms, hot buffet breakfast. and our courteous and friendly staff. Indeed a lot of our guests enjoy the convenience of having In' N Out Burger next door. Needless to say, our location is close to shopping and tons of restaurants which is a plus when choosing your lodging.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Location was close to the main road and there were a couple of places to eat within walking distance. Check in was fine and all interactions we had with staff were friendly. The room was clean and we had no issues during our night there.

Room Tip: There is no good view from this hotel since it is on the edge of the highway, what appears to be a i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear jnchart:

Thank you for your comment about our clean room and friendly staff. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you were pleased with your stay. We hope that you were able to try our hot buffet breakfast.

We do have a great location and close to almost anything you can think of. Thank for choosing Holiday Inn hotels and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here to visit the Safari Park nearby. It was convenient to everything we needed. Lots of restaurants nearby. The staff was very pleasant and cheerful. Everything was clean. You might say the rooms need a little updating, but for the price it was great. Breakfast was more than I expected for a continental breakfast. There were cold bottles of water and a snack in the entry area in the afternoon. The staff was helpful in helping us find restaurants. Beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: King size beds available. They do have AAA discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear LAHLH:

We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant, cheerful and helpful. We are the closest Holiday Inn Hotel Express to the San Diego Safari Park and located in close proximity to shops, restaurants, grocery stores and etc. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our hot buffet breakfast as well as our welcome hors d ouevres and bottled water in the lobby area during weekday afternoons.

We thank you for your business and hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here to visit the Safari Park,everything was very satisfactory, staff were friendly.Hotel was close to some excellent reestaurants and convienent for the motorway. We must recommend the restaurant Cocos which was within walking distance, the service and value was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are delighted to know that your stay with us was very satisfactory. It is also nice to hear that our staff were friendly and service and value was excellent. Indeed we have a great location with easy freeway access and close to shoping and restaurants.

We hope that you will come and visit us again. We thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My sister stayed overnight on a Friday last month. Had to attend a Saturday class in Escondido the next morning and didn't want to make the early drive in from LA. Made a last minute reservation on Thursday night and was quite pleased with my choice of hotel! First, we were able to check-in and get our room at 1130am. Our room was clean and spacious! Safe, well--lit and plenty of parking. Easy access to shopping, food and gas. Just off Interstate15 so it was so convenient! Front desk staff were great. The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of food selections. No doubt that we will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with choosing our hotel during your last minute decision of staying in the area. We are glad that you liked the clean and spacious room as well as our great location which is easily accessible to almost everything. It's a good thing that you were able to also take advantage of our hot buffet breakfast. It looks like we will be adding some healthy breakfast options very soon so keep an eye on that. In the meantime, we appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great Service & Freindly Staff, what else do you want. Rooms are confortable, Breakfast was the standard HI Express and close to Food, & Shopping. Stayed last week for two nights and Zen at the front desk did everything she could to try to help us out. Explanation: I booked this hotel though a points program and some how the hotel didn't get paid. After a hour and a half on hold, waiting for a manager, I gave up and paid the bill and said I'll deal with this once I got home.

I don't like to drive after dark, U-drive and a drink or two, if you know what I mean, so there are enough restautarants and a shopping mall across the street. Great Location, just of Interstate 15, Great Service & Freindly Staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are delighted that you found our rooms to be comfortable, great location and pleased with the great service and friendly staff. We will relay your comment about our front desk agent, Zen. I am also sorry to hear about the trouble you had regarding your booking. Please feel free to call us back if we can be of any further assistance. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Address: 1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego-Escondido is nestled in hills of north San Diego county, minutes to Wild Animal Park, Performing Art Center, Harrah's Rincon Casino, Valley View Casino, Pala Casino, Cal. State San Marcos, Award Winning Stone Brewing Co., Golf Courses, fishing, and Wineries. Easy access to downtown San Diego, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Legoland, Beaches, Parks and only a few miles from hiking, Cineplex, and Ice skating. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Centrally located to business & financial district of Escondido. Local companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, Hewlett Packard and many more. Includes daily deluxe hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido Hotel Escondido
Holiday Inn Express Escondido
Holiday Inn Escondido
Escondido Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.