We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Epsom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here to visit the Safari Park,everything was very satisfactory, staff were friendly.Hotel was close to some excellent reestaurants and convienent for the motorway. We must recommend the restaurant Cocos which was within walking distance, the service and value was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are delighted to know that your stay with us was very satisfactory. It is also nice to hear that our staff were friendly and service and value was excellent. Indeed we have a great location with easy freeway access and close to shoping and restaurants.

We hope that you will come and visit us again. We thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
21
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My sister stayed overnight on a Friday last month. Had to attend a Saturday class in Escondido the next morning and didn't want to make the early drive in from LA. Made a last minute reservation on Thursday night and was quite pleased with my choice of hotel! First, we were able to check-in and get our room at 1130am. Our room was clean and spacious! Safe, well--lit and plenty of parking. Easy access to shopping, food and gas. Just off Interstate15 so it was so convenient! Front desk staff were great. The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of food selections. No doubt that we will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with choosing our hotel during your last minute decision of staying in the area. We are glad that you liked the clean and spacious room as well as our great location which is easily accessible to almost everything. It's a good thing that you were able to also take advantage of our hot buffet breakfast. It looks like we will be adding some healthy breakfast options very soon so keep an eye on that. In the meantime, we appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great Service & Freindly Staff, what else do you want. Rooms are confortable, Breakfast was the standard HI Express and close to Food, & Shopping. Stayed last week for two nights and Zen at the front desk did everything she could to try to help us out. Explanation: I booked this hotel though a points program and some how the hotel didn't get paid. After a hour and a half on hold, waiting for a manager, I gave up and paid the bill and said I'll deal with this once I got home.

I don't like to drive after dark, U-drive and a drink or two, if you know what I mean, so there are enough restautarants and a shopping mall across the street. Great Location, just of Interstate 15, Great Service & Freindly Staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are delighted that you found our rooms to be comfortable, great location and pleased with the great service and friendly staff. We will relay your comment about our front desk agent, Zen. I am also sorry to hear about the trouble you had regarding your booking. Please feel free to call us back if we can be of any further assistance. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express last weekend because we visited Safari Park. The room wasn't bad, although there was a cigarette burn in the curtain in our non-smoking room. The desk staff did help suggest a local restaurant and drew a map to help us locate it. However, the morning breakfast that we hoped to enjoy was aborted when we discovered at least two homeless people mounding plates in the line with us. They were smelly and unkempt, giving us cause for concern. We walked to the nearby Coco's that more than filled the bill. It was open, staffed by a friendly server and the food was excellent. Unless they are more diligent about maintaining a quality environment in the breakfast area, l would not suggest staying at this location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Unraveledgal,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room you had and your breakfast experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good service from a friendly staff. Janice was great. This is an old hotel but being updated. There was no facial tissue in the room, but that was probably simply a housekeeping oversight.

There were not enough accessible plugs for recharging batteries and using a computer, and the lighting was poor. I noticed a smelly hallway from trying to disguise odors from years past.

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express with a very good staff. A little difficult to find, but that seems to be the way most motels/hotels are now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your comment about your recent stay with us. We have replaced all of our hallway carpets including the porcelain tiles on the first floor elevator landing and now look amazing. We apologize for not having facial tissue in your room and the shortage of accessible outlets. We do however have surge protectors available at the front desk upon request.

We are pleased to know that our staff are good and friendly. We hope that you will be back to visit us again real soon. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Sincerely,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This older property has had some updates - new carpet & a firm bed, however, no pillowtop beds, the pillows are lumpy & not all rooms have refrigerators. The staff - reception, cleaning & breakfast - were all very pleasant, friendly & professional. Our room faced the highway & there was some road noise during the night, but it wasn't intrusive. All-in-all this was a good value for a one night stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your comment. We were in the process of replacing our carpet on the first floor when you were here. It is now finished and it looks beautiful. We apologize that you did not notice the refrigerator in your room but all of our rooms are equipped with refrigerators. They are located in the cabinet below the TV. We are happy that you were pleased with our friendly and professional staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Sincerely,
Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The morning buffet was great. The room was very clean and updated. We had a King Suite and it was extremely spacious. In-and-Out Burger is very nearby (practically in the parking lot) and there is shopping right across the street. It is right off of I-15 which makes it nice and convenient. We were there for a family wedding and it was a great central location. We could get to San Diego for sightseeing without being too far away. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your brief stay with us because of our easy access to the freeway and convenient location to restaurants and shopping. We hope that you were able to at least taste each of what we offer during our buffet breakfast daily especially our famous cinnamon rolls and pancakes.

We appreciate your kind comment about our helpful and friendly staff. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn hotels.

Regards,

Vikki Armonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Address: 1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego-Escondido is nestled in hills of north San Diego county, minutes to Wild Animal Park, Performing Art Center, Harrah's Rincon Casino, Valley View Casino, Pala Casino, Cal. State San Marcos, Award Winning Stone Brewing Co., Golf Courses, fishing, and Wineries. Easy access to downtown San Diego, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Legoland, Beaches, Parks and only a few miles from hiking, Cineplex, and Ice skating. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Centrally located to business & financial district of Escondido. Local companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, Hewlett Packard and many more. Includes daily deluxe hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido Hotel Escondido
Holiday Inn Express Escondido
Holiday Inn Escondido
Escondido Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.