We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did the trick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for a night while doing a quick family getaway to the Safari Park and Legoland. The one bedroom suite was just fine, even though there was no door between the living area and the bedroom. The staff was very friendly and I was surprised that the free breakfast included a hot breakfast. Even though it was right by the freeway I couldn't really hear any traffic in our room, so that was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We are also hoping that you were able to try the pancakes. We appreciate your choosing us and hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
21
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights on business in a 2 room king suite. Separate living and bedrooms, very comfy king size bed, flat screen in each room and great setup for computer in the living room. Only drawback is the 'kitchen'. Microwave and small fridge were fine, but only plastic utensils and styrofoam plates provided. Staying more than two nights we might have eaten in the room but without real dinnerware or a table to eat at we chose not to.

We were impressed with the free breakfast. Not just sugary carbs, but eggs, bacon, sausage, yoghurt, and fruit, along with fresh baked pastries. The woman looking after the breakfast room keeps it immaculate and as with the other staff I encountered here, was friendly and happy to help. We'll be back next time I have to visit Escondido for work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you are pleased with the accommodations and the service you have received. We will share your positive comments to our staff.

As long as we have enough time prior to your arrival, we would be more than happy to provide you with plates and silverware should you wish. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were in Escondido for a wedding in August and we booked a room here. The front desk personnel were so wonderful and inviting. When we requested an early check in they immediately got a room for us. We loved our room. It was clean and spacious. WE took advantage of the free breakfast 2 out of the 3 mornings we were there and it was wonderful. We also felt very safe having the night security gaurd watching over the place. Our only complaint was that the stairs and hallways looked a littel dirty, The carpet should be replaced soon and a fresh coat of paint would help.

Overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your delightful experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and rest assured that your comments will be shared to all the staff. We are in the process of replacing our hallway carpets and stairwells and should be all done within the next couple months. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express was great.Its location was ideal for us because it was surrounded by many eating and shopping facilities.
Zen,at the front desk was incredibly warm and accomodating.This made for a very relaxing stay here!The rooms were cleaned and the bed was very comfortable.The towel rack and sink plug in our room needed some repair.The staff was notified about these problems and it was corrected immediately.The breadfast was outstanding and Movren at the breadfast station was very warm and attempted to provide any information concerning our breadfast request.Indeed,the entire staff were very gracious.We stayed here for a period of three days and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of your great experience at our hotel. We will be sharing your comments to all of our employees especially Zen and Mouren who made an extra effort to make your stay a delightful one. We appreciate your feedback about breakfast and we hope that you were also able to take advantage of the delicious pancakes. It is indeed great to receive awesome feedback from our guests. We appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked a room a night before and went through a booking site. They next day after we had checked in, I noticed that the booking site had booked me twice for two seperate rooms! Rather then have to deal with the booking company myself, Zen, the front desk clerk took it upon herself to make the booking site's wrong, the Holiday Inn's Express' right! She insured that my money was refunded and saved me from having to pursue the booking company myself! On top of her great customer service, the staff was great, everything was clean and it was in a nice, safe feeling area! My family and I had a great time! I will now book all of my future trips to Escondido here and make the Holiday Inn Express a hotel I look at first for any future trips anywhere else. This place is truly great! I highly reccomend you stay here! Oh and book through them, the prices aren't much different and you can earn points! Thanks again Zen!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so excited to hear about your delightful experience at our hotel. Thank you for your comments and rest assured that it will be shared not only with Zen but to all of our employees. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our hot buffet breakfast including the delicious pancakes. We look forward to your next visit and truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We originally had reservations for 6 nights at extended stay in oceanside. I wanted a fridge and microwave. We canceled those due to very disgusting conditions and tried here.
From the extremely wonderful front desk personnel, Nick and everybody else it was such a positive experience. Every member of the staff anywhere in the hotel were SO great.
Our room was beautiful. Extremely clean.
The pool is twice as big as some places I've stayed and I'll never complain about a free breakfast.
It was such a relief after our experience with our first reservation going so very wrong.
I do tend to like things to be perfect though and the only little things I would attend to would be
our tub not draining properly. We never mentioned it to them but it drained very slowly and couldn't keep up when the shower was on.
A touchup of paint on the bathroom ceiling in our room to cover some marks and
the baseboard in the breakfast area doesn't look clean. I think probably due to the fact latex paint may have been used instead of oil so it doesn't stand up to the wear and tear.
Just attending to those little things, I would have given an excellent rating.
We will be returning to this hotel.
We stayed 5 nights and I never even noticed the freeway noise at all. We were facing that side
and had our air conditioner on. No problem with that.
Awesome stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We want to thank you for conveying your comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence. We have noted your comments about the room and we will make sure to address each item. We truly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

It is impossible that this establishment functions under the name Holiday Inn. Our experience was atrocious! It began with filthy halls and only continued to the dark, hot, and scary elevator. Sadly it did not end there. Upon entering our room it was disgusting. The bathroom floor and bedding was covered with hair. Then the hide-a-bed was more like a hide-a-spring. It was impossible for our son to sleep on it. After that, we discovered bobbypin and hair clips on our floor indicating it in fact had not been cleaned. Next we discovered a black residue on all of the light fixtures and either blood or feces on the lamp shade. Finally, and worst of all the door did not lock. It had recently been pried open with a crowbar or something of that nature. We called down to the front desk and Zen came up right away. Due to our concerns, which they did photograph, it was decided that we would be relocated to another Holiday Inn. It was 10:30 at night and that was fine with us! BUT IT DID NOT END THERE. Upon checking out we learned that neither Vikki nor Malou was willing to pay the difference for the hotel relocation, which was $149. Malou was rude and kept arguing with us until 11:30 at night. She refused to listen to our financial concern regarding the hotel switch. She finally told us she would give us our $265 back and it would be our problem to find another room. This solution was ridiculous so we shared with her Zen's solution which was to relocate us and Holiday Inn to cover the difference. She became even ruder and more abrasive and stormed off to the back of the office while shouting to just deal with Zen if that was her solution! Zen told us her hands were tied but she would redun our money and send us to the other hotel, AT HER OWN EXPENSE!! So in the end, we were relocated and a random Holiday Inn worker covered our relaxation on her personal credit card. If it weren't for Zen we would still be standing there being yelled at by Malou who found our situation comical and she could care-a-less. Holiday Inn is a multi billion dollar corporation but to keep their customers safe and satisfied it took the personal money of a minimum wage employee who did not have to put her personal credit card out there for complete strangers. Thank you Zen for being so kind! Holiday Inn, we will never stay at any of your facilities again. Your company should be disgraced by the behaviors of Malou and the lack of consideration for my family!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfarmonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction which is the first step towards improvement of our services. As I had explained to you during our conversation, Zen was not responsible in paying for the difference out of her own pocket. We are glad that we were able to find another Holiday Inn property for you to stay at. We have noted your feedback and will be shared to the appropriate departments so that we can take the necessary steps to correct the issues. Once again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused you and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido

Address: 1250 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego-Escondido is nestled in hills of north San Diego county, minutes to Wild Animal Park, Performing Art Center, Harrah's Rincon Casino, Valley View Casino, Pala Casino, Cal. State San Marcos, Award Winning Stone Brewing Co., Golf Courses, fishing, and Wineries. Easy access to downtown San Diego, Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Legoland, Beaches, Parks and only a few miles from hiking, Cineplex, and Ice skating. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Centrally located to business & financial district of Escondido. Local companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, Hewlett Packard and many more. Includes daily deluxe hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido Hotel Escondido
Holiday Inn Express Escondido
Holiday Inn Escondido
Escondido Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.