We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vacation...many memories were made.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Dream vacation...many memories were made.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I first visited the Welk Resort in the early 1980's with my Grandfather when we would play golf on their course. I never imagined that I would return there with my own family. We were in a two bedroom, two bathroom condo with a full kitchen and living room. Very nice and upscale with the perfect amount of space for a family of five.

The pools were outstanding, and the rec. centers are wonderfully stocked with billiards tables, table tennis, library, etc. Two of the five pools (open late) have water slides (which sadly close at 6:00 PM) and a splash zone for little ones.

The location is only an hour from San Diego, 30 minutes from Carlsbad and 45 minutes from La Jolla. The Temecula wine country is about 30 minutes away as well, which will be another write-up.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    350
    121
    67
    76
See reviews for
540
288
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwich england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

After reading the mixed reviews we decided to stay open-minded about the resort.We came from England for 2 weeks. Stayed in villas on the green ,very quiet and relaxing though used it as a base to travel about.We had to move units the second week and we hung around all day we were only moving next door but made us wait till 4! We told the concierge at check in that we were not interested in tour we own in Florida and would not be interested in buying there and that was that we heard no more. Only gripes are not frequent enough maid service and where were the pool bars? No ice-creams,lollies or very limited cold drinks it was 103 and nowhere to buy a drink or poolside snack! Never known it in 35 years of holidaying in Europe and USA! One lady had towels and shoes in a bag and the attendant thought she had a cool bag with refreshments in and told her it wasnt allowed,so do you starve to death or die of thirst?Apart from this all in all the resort itself is lovely but could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have been to San Diego on vacation a number of times and have stayed at munerous Marriott timeshares as well as top notch hotels. I have to say this is the most run down timeshare I have ever been to, The resort has a new section of timeshare units which they are pushing very hard to sell (not unlike every other timeshare developer out there). The vast majority of this large resort are old units. Unless you are going for the time share sales pitch, they will put you in the older units. These older units probably have not been updated and renovated in 20 years. My theory is that once they sold out in the 1980'S, none of the time share owners wanted to spend money on refurbishing the units. Consequently, the furniture feels like I went back to the Reagan era and look that way. The bedding and flannel blankets looked like the type your grandmother would have stored in her linen closet just in case an unexpected guest came by. They are worn out and way past their prime. This facility needs millions of dollars in renovation to restore it to its prime.

They also have carpeting in the bathrooms (from an era LONG gone). Who the heck puts carpeting in bathrooms? There are black spots on that carpeting. EWWWWW. I asume that this carpeting is not the original carpeting when the unit was originally built (although you never know). They should have had the common sense at that time to put down tile.

The unit smells musty (I suspect it was due to the carpet in the bathroom always being damp!)

I tried switching to another unit but I understand that all the other units have carpeting in the bathrooms and the one they offered me to switch to smelled as well (I presume the new units don't have it)

Also for some reason housekeeping didn't put dust ruffles on the box spring so we have to see these worn out box springs. I don't have a problem seeing them if I am changing my bed at my house but not in a hotel. Double Ewww!

To top it off I saw a roach in the kitchen. Triple Ewww!

Its too bad because the location and grounds are beautiful. Also the staff is very nice and tried to accomodate us but if you have a run down facility that you are working with there isn't much they can do to help your customer. Also the new pools are fun for the family.

The resort is centrally located as you can get to San Diego in half hour, the coast in 45 minutes and Anaheim in 90 minutes.

Trust me when I say the units are outdated and worn out but if you don't care and you can get a very cheap deal then maybe this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I went for a good vacation with my family. I happily checked in and was off to my villa. Once i got there the rooms smelled like mold and smelled very bad. Due to my Asthma I could not stay in that room. I kindly called the manager of the resort and asked for a re-fund. The manager rudely declined and did not want to help. I was charged the full amount for 2 stays and was given the cold shoulder out of the resort. MY WORST VACATION EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My husband and 10 year-old daughter visited this resort as part of a wider California visit and were very pleasantly surprised to find that the resort and the apartment we stayed in were very well appointed, thoughtfully laid out, and had pretty much anything you needed. From the reviews we previously read, we were expecting a slightly 'tired' looking apartment, but were pleased that the what we found was extremely clean, updated, and had all of the bath and kitchen utensils/needs on hand. A nice place indeed.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a partial kitchen. The kitchen seemed more like a full kitchen (minus an oven). The furniture was lovely as well. My only 'negative' (if you can call it that) were the linens on the bed. While very clean and fresh in appearance, they looked a little bit older. It wouldn't be a bad idea for the resort to upgrade these a bit...

You need a car to get anywhere, but everywhere you might want to visit (ocean, San Diego, La Jolla, etc.) is within 30 - 60 minutes away. Not too bad at all. Plus, if you like, you can stay at the resort all day long at one of the numerous pools, at the recreation centre, golf, etc...There's lots to do at the resort.

Also, as soon as you arrive, they want to sign you up for a tour of the place in exchange for tickets to the S.D. Zoo or equivalent. We opted out and I think we were a minority. Can't tell you anything about the 1 1/2 hour tour.

Last comment: checking in was easy and fast as there were lots of people on hand. Checking out was another thing. Could have been a bit faster.

Over all, a lovely place that we would recommend, especially for families.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here for a week, in a 2 bedroom villa in the Villas on the Green area of the resort. Our villa was extremely spacious: a huge lounge/diner, full kitchen, large kingsize bedroom with bathroom plus a lock off unit which had the twin bedroom, another bathroom, a kitchenette and smaller lounge area. We were on the ground floor backing directly onto the golf course with a large deck area outside. It was very well furnished and equipped, fantastic bathrooms. The resort is very large and was full when we were there. We tried the pool nearest our villa and whilst it was a great area with two pools, clubhouse, wet-zone for kids etc, it was just a bit too noisy and full for our liking. There were about 7 pools on the complex but we found the Serenity pool to be the best. Plenty of beds and shade, total peace and quiet and a beautiful pool.
We had some bbqs on our terrace using the grills provided and that was enjoyable, the large fire pits around the resort were also great in the evening. Attended the Comedy and Magic show as we had free tickets and frankly didn't really expect it to be very good. How wrong we were! The comedian was very very funny - outstanding - and the magician was pretty good too. Definitely go even if you have to pay $25 - money well spent. We didn't eat in the resort restaurants so can't comment on those. There is plenty to do in the area. We drove up to Temecula (about 30 miles) and had a balloon ride at dawn over the vineyards, followed by a wine tasting. That was very memorable and special. We also visited local malls for shopping and ate out in Escondido itself.
We would definitely return to the Welk resort. It would suit travellers of all ages and styles. Nothing to fault really at all. The golf courses looked very good and so did the new villas up on the mountainside.
Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We just got home from a week at the Welk Resort in Escondido. We traded a week through Interval and got into the Mountain Villas - the much newer and nicer section of the resort. We had the small 1 bedroom, which was more than enough room for 2 people with a large bathroom, great living room/kitchen area and a balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. Even though there were only 2 burners and no oven, it didn't matter - there were grilling areas right outside which were clean and worked great!
This is a great family resort - tons of activities for kids - as a young married couple with no children we still enjoyed it...but make sure you venture down to the area with the "Serenity Pool!" Adults only - super quiet!
This resort is about 40 minutes from San Diego, 90 minutes from Disneyland, etc. A great home base for Southern California attractions.
We did the time share tour (got a free Disneyland ticket, not bad) and it really was 90 minutes like they said. Very pushy though, as other reviewers have stated. They wanted $44,000 for the 2 bedroom unit which is insane! We had to be really firm and almost rude to have them stop trying to sell it to us, even after we told them we weren't going to buy.
We ate at the restaurant for breakfast once and it was very good and inexpensive. There is also a store with wine, beer and other snacks right on the property. The concierge was very helpful with tips about driving in the area and places to see. They also offer discount tickets to area attractions.
Overall, this resort was immaculately clean, well-maintained and a wonderful place to stay!
PS...if you are into microbrews, there is an awesome brewery about 15 minutes from the resort called Stone Brewery. They give free tours and have an amazing restaurant. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#48 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido
Comfort Inn Escondido
#6 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#7 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.