We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for every age - not just seniors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Calgary Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Something for every age - not just seniors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here through our timeshare company and my brother in law and his wife joined us during the week. I was a little concerned that the resort would have too much of a "senior focus" due to the name, but I had no need to worry - there was plenty to do for every age group, from families with young children, to adult groups such as ourselves without children, as well as seniors. We had a wonderful time.

The villa was beautiful and well designed. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, second floor end unit that was very bright and roomy. Each bedroom/bathroom area was self-contained with a door leading into a small hall between the bedroom, bathroom and a walk in closet, giving a lot of privacy. Each bedroom also has its own TV, as well as there being one with a DVD player in the living room. Each bathroom was very large, with two sinks and large shower areas. There was a large veranda with a beautiful view where we ate our breakfast each morning. Although we were 4 adults, we never once felt crowded in the villa.

We had a fully equipped kitchen. In additon to the standard utensils, dishes, pots and pans there was also salt and pepper, coffee filters and sweetener (and coffee for our first morning), and dishwasher detergent for hte dishwasher. We had shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion in each bathroom, and a washer/dryer with a small box of detergent. There was free wi-fi in the villa - as it is not wireless, we borrowed a cord from the hotel to hook up to the internet. There was a $10 deposit for the cord which was refunded when the cord was returned.

I would recommend asking for a second floor unit. Our neighbor downstairs came up to view our unit and remarked that the upper units were much nicer due to the vaulted ceilings and raised balconies. She felt her lower unit was a bit "cave like" and was going to try to get moved (I don't know if she was successful).

There was maid service once during the week, but we were provided with extra dishwasher detergent upon request. We had a plugged toilet one day but the maintenance person responded very quickly to fix it, and guest services followed up with us that evening to ensure that it had been fixed.

The resort grounds are enormous and beautifully kept. I believe there are 5 recreation centres, each with different amenities but open to all guests (we only made it to 3 of the centres during our stay). Our villa was closest to the "adult only" centre which provided an adult-only pool and hot tub (which we appreciated). The other centres had kid friendly pools, including waterslides and splash and spray areas. The resort offers a number of daily activities, some free and some at a small cost. We simply did not have enough time to do everything that we wanted. as there was so much to see and do.

The resort is located within driving distance of all the San Diego attractions - very close to the Wild Animal Park, and the furthest we had to drive was approximately one hour to the Las Americas outlet mall on the American side of the Mexican border. Disounted tickets to attractions were available at the resort. The discounts were not huge, but we had the advantage of being able to pre-purchase tickets and avoid lineups at the attractions themselves. There are a number of wonderful golf courses very close by, including two small executive courses at the resort itself (we did not play them, but could tell from walking around that they were in excellent condition). The main grocery store is a bit of drive, approximately 7 miles away, but there is a small convenience store at the resort offering basic grocery items.

This resort defnitely exceeded our expectations and we intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    266
    91
    58
    62
See reviews for
410
217
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Overall, we had a nice time. I see other reviews complaining this resort is not too close to San Diego, but for our vacation, it was fine. Easy to get to the coast (like Carlsbad and Oceanside), 40 minutes to San Diego (barring traffic) and not so far to LA (under 2 hrs for us).
The property (flowers, exteriors, trees, water) are all beautiful. We have 3 boys and they loved the pools and water slide, but they seemed a bit crowded at times. Nice game rooms with pool tables, foos ball and more for family fun. The kids all liked the catch-and-release fishing pond, but they had very little equipment and we were wait-listed for it. We eventually got 2 poles for 4 people. It worked OK and why I can see the need to limit, I think they can get a few more poles and let more people partake.
Didn't get a chance to sample - but they do have a restaurant, live show theatre and pizza hut right on site. If you're willing to drive a bit, recommend going to towns along the coast (Encinitas, Oceanside) or even nearby Vista or San Marcos for eating out - more options: both familiar chains and nicer local restaurants.
As for the room, it was certainly roomy, but unfortunately they have not updated things like the bathrooms and some of the furniture. I felt like I was stepping into a Brady Bunch (70's) episode everytime I went in the bathroom. At least it was clean.
The unit had a large and nice balcony and decent views. We got used to the hum of the nearby interstate (not overwhelming, but noticeable, especially in the early AM), but if that would really bug you, suggest bringing some white noise.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We just came back yesterday - April 25 - and are overwhelmed with Lawrence Welk Resort. The villas are very nice, very clean, staff is great, we had a beautiful vacation. We rented a car and travelled a lot, came back on the resort in the evening, walked, relaxed on the big veranda. San Diego is a great city, the mountains in Escondido are impressive. We met fun people in the wineries. We recommend this resort to anyone. We have four children and although they were not with us, they would have had a good time with all that is offered to the children on the resort. I would recommand it to families as well as couples.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I was a little worried about this resort was worried that it might be to far out to the parks we wanted to take the kids to but I was wrong. Honestly, thought this resort was perfect for us as a family, everything seemed to be about 30 mins away, we had a full kitchen, the rooms were fairly big, the kids loved the activites that were planned @ the resort and they also loved the pool. We weren't hastled by the timeshare folks like others have mentioned prior to. There are local markets about 6 miles out along with resturant row. I definately will be returning to this resort and highly recommend this resort for anyone who is traveling with a family...the kitchen was a major plus! Oh and there is free WI-FI in your room along with DVD players.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our recent stay in the Mountain Villas (Alpine building) resulted in a mixed review. Location of property and cleanliness of rooms was above average albeit the closest grocery store was 7 miles away. Room was very modern and convenient. Only downside is no maid service and no fresh towels and nobody to tidy up on a daily basis. I can't imagine having to do this on my vacation for more than a weekend stay which is what we ended up doing. The other downside for the mountail villas is no recreation room. You have to drive about 10 minutes on the other side of the resort to use the closes room. But the rec room was very, very nice and had many state of the arm games and facilities.

Don't bother with the gift shop and the restaurant-both extremely over-priced and staff were pretentious. Concierge service is really a front for the timeshare sales folks. On Sunday morning, I asked for directions to the nearest church for Easter services, mind you this was at 8 a.m. in the morning and again, on a Sunday. The conicerge told me she needed to run some reports on her system and that I would have to wait. After waiting for 10 minutes, I finally gave up. Now I am a pretty patient person but c'mon, what kind of reports would a concirge be running on Easter sunday morning that couldn't wait 5 minutes just to provide a guest with a quick map? But then againk, I had checked out alredy and she did not need to sell me a tour package as she tried to do upon check in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

New mountain villas are beautiful with expansive views. Resort has it all with easy access to San Diago attractions and beaches. Clean! My children loved the pools, slides, golf courses, and fishing pond. There is also an adult pool and gym. We found the staff welcoming. Hiked up into the nearby mountains. This resort has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

This is a nice place to stay. My kids love the pools especially the one with the slide. There is an expensive mini-mart. a pizza hut and an ok restuarant on-site. The cost to us for staying 3 days was $99 because we took the tour. You have to get up and leave after 90 minutes if stay for 4 hours then shame on you. The sales pitch is heavy handed and I told them so. San Diego is 30 minutes to the south so be preapraed for that. The closest city is Escondido. Some chain type restuarants are located there.

Bottomline a cheap way to stay close to San Diego if you have the nerve to get up and leave after 90 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.