We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, but some room for inorovement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, but some room for inorovement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here the week of New Years with a time share trade. The grounds are gorgeous and the view from our balcony was incredible. I will start off by saying that we may have a bit of a unique filter as the resort we own in , Royal Haciendas in Riviera Maya, Mexico is exceptional in terms of service and amenities and this place doesn't come close.
We thought it was a bit tacky that they make you speak to a timeshare salesperson in order to get your parking pass. We told him we weren't interested but he kept at it, even trying to convince us to use their babysitting service. Really? Have a stranger care for our 3-month old (and 4 year old) all so we can go listen to a timeshare pitch? If only they put as much effort into the guest experience as they do into selling units.
We didn't arrive until 5:30 pm but we waited in a long line to check in. We were sent to our room but when we got there, the housekeeper had just started cleaning it. We called and complained and were just forwarded around until the "head of housekeeping" told us we could have a late checkout. Then on checkout day yet another unhelpful front desk clerk challenged our late check out which angered us. The whole thing just seems to be very disorganized.
Our 2-bedroom unit was large and well appointed but not very clean.
We found crumbs all over the kitchen windowsill.
There are lots of great activities here but absolutely everything costs extra. You constantly feel you are being nickel and dimed. They are a family resort but they don't even have cribs or pack n plays. You have to pay a service to rent one! We are used to these types of resorts having everything included.
The engagement of the staff is mixed. We arrived to an activity for my 4-year old 3 minutes late and were rudely told she couldn't participate. Luckily another employee overheard and offered to give her an individual lesson.
The pools and grounds are lovely and we took advantage of many of the activities (at a cost): fishing, s'mores, candy sushi making, play doh etc.
There is a fun farmers market one night each week. There is a convenience store on-sight with a very poor and incredibly expensive selection. There is also a Pizza Hut and sit-down restaurant. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed it but wished there were more dining options as the resort as it is truly in the middle if nowhere.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    281
    99
    60
    65
See reviews for
428
242
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I admit that I did not expect a luxurious condo at a Lawrence Welk property, but I was very pleasantly surprised when my husband and I checked in to our newly renovated 1-bedroom condo at the Welk Resort - Villas on the Green. We had a lovely condo with comfortable sofa and chair in the living area and very comfortable king-sized bed with plenty of clothing storage room in the bedroom. Our condo overlooked the golf course, which gave us a lovely view from our ground-level patio. The patio was quite small, so if you have a chance to rent a 2-bedroom unit, you will be rewarded with a much larger patio. Grounds were well-kept and pool looked like fun, but it was a little too chilly to take a dip. The Monday evening farmer's market on the property is small but represented by a good range of sellers. We purchased a rotisserie chicken, which was yummy, and some local veggies and fruits and were very pleased with the quality. This is a great location to visit the Temecula Wineries and to visit the beaches from Carlsbad down to LaJolla. Good beer at Karl Strauss beer cafes along with innovative menu choices. Our favorite wineries were Wien and Miramonte.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a refurbished room with a view of the golf course. Rent a 2-br unit it possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear wetravellight11,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you both enjoyed our on-site amenities during your vacation here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights and feedback from your visit with us. We take great pride in our resort. Thank you for highlighting our Farmers Market We look forward to you returning to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at a 2 bedroom suite in the Dixie building I was with my girlfriend and cousin.
Nice views from seemingly every building and unit in those buildings.
Very friendly staff - we asked a lot of questions almost every night and always got a courteous response.
The Rec Center near our building (Harmony Hill) was being renovated and we're on a serious shuffleboard kick. No shuffleboard gear as per the renovations, but because the shuffleboard itself was outside of the sealed off area. The front staff went out of there way to get the gear so we could rock some of this ridiculous game while we were staying.
We stayed for a week and every day we woke up impressed with how great of a resort this was. Recommend it to anyone.
Only downside is that it's not within walking distance of any stores - they have a (overpriced) convenience store on site with everything you could need but $2.50 for stale Starbucks is a little cruel c'mon.
Nice beds, very clean room, and great recreation facilities - Foosball, table tennis, air hockey are all free. Great stuff Welk Resort.
(I gave location a 3 only because it's pretty far from any shopping... but it's a resort so aren't you supposed to want to be away from everything.)

Room Tip: Recommend a 2nd or 3rd floor room for better view. (Though the resort is designed in such a way that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear KTorrado,
I appreciate your excellent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your vacation and our resort activities and amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort if your return to the area. We will have the shuffleboard ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Was delighted to find time share so close to San Diego [38 miles south ] and the Temecula wine country [15 miles north]. Checked reviews and it sounded favorable. When I arrived I was told that the unit assigned [Gypsy 238] was one of those renovated. However when I got there with my guest I was very disappointed in the condition. As you can see from the attached pictures not only was the furniture in poor condition, the unit was dirty and there were immediate serious maintainence issues. The kitchen sink would not drain because the garbage disposal was clogged. The tub in the master suite would not drain and I had to take a shower standing in four inches of water. It turned out that when it was fixed it had been totally clogged with hair! [disgusting]. Clearly neither of these drains had been attended to by cleaning team when the last renter's left or both of these issues would have been caught. The rugs in the living room and master bedroom were so filthy I would not walk around barefoot. They were to be cleaned during the day [on Tuesday] while we were out. However the service man showed up at 7:30PM on Tuesday to shampoo the rugs! Didn't happen that night or ever during or stay. The plantation blinds in the living room need to be adjusted as one set would not even stay in place shut [had to force them in place to stay], the couch is in need of replacement as is the damaged ottoman. Mattress of poor quality. Very sad condition. On the flip side the resort has nice amenities and the location is a good location for touring southern CA. Had little interaction with staff and what I did was ineffective. Went to spa and could not even get in. No sign indicating hours only telling me to sit outside and someone would come - but lights were out. It did not seem very professional. Looked like someone only came if there was an appointment. Very confusing.

Room Tip: If you have a handicapped person in your party ask for an end unit so you can use handicap parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Rooms with mountain view are higher quality. Others are very nice. I would recommend second or third floor. Great place for children, lots of activities. The restaurant was excellent. I give this entire resort a very high rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Claudette S,
I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your Christmas week stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recommendations. We look forward to having you vacation with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had mediocre expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised. Upgraded condos, swimming & activities for kids, a theater, a restaurant, golf, gift stores & all on the premises. Close to a freeway (but not too close)-San Diego, Coronado Island, Torrey Pines, Temecula, Safari Wild Animal Park (among other destinations are close and an easy trip on the freeway. Definitely planning to come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ellen W,
I appreciate the feedback and recommendations from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Looking for a perfect place to visit with another couple? This is it!? Our lovely two bedroom suite was on the second floor, overlooking a portion of the golf course. Our balcony with table and chairs was a ideal location for "kick-back" time or enjoying a meal. Our friends had never been to the Welk Resort so it was our pleasure to introduce them to the many amenities offered here. Three mornings a week Free Golf Clinics are offered, and whether a golfer or not, these clinics are well attended and we have picked up many valuable tips from the knowledgeable Pros. Attending a delightful performance of "Hair Spray" highlighted one of our evenings and the fabulous Street Fair one day offered every kind of clothing, decorative items, and food you could want. If you have an opportunity to visit any of the Welk Resorts, pack your bag and be "on your way."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Tafknight,
Thank you for your fantastic review and your recommendation to visit any of our Welk Resort locations. I couldn’t agree with you more! It is great to see you and your friends had a wonderful stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and the highlights and details provided on our resort activities and amenities. We are looking forward to you packing your bag and returning to vacation with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.