We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf, swimming, theater, restaurant....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Golf, swimming, theater, restaurant....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had mediocre expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised. Upgraded condos, swimming & activities for kids, a theater, a restaurant, golf, gift stores & all on the premises. Close to a freeway (but not too close)-San Diego, Coronado Island, Torrey Pines, Temecula, Safari Wild Animal Park (among other destinations are close and an easy trip on the freeway. Definitely planning to come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ellen W,
I appreciate the feedback and recommendations from your stay with us. Thank you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details you provided on the resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning to vacation with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    281
    99
    60
    65
See reviews for
427
241
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Looking for a perfect place to visit with another couple? This is it!? Our lovely two bedroom suite was on the second floor, overlooking a portion of the golf course. Our balcony with table and chairs was a ideal location for "kick-back" time or enjoying a meal. Our friends had never been to the Welk Resort so it was our pleasure to introduce them to the many amenities offered here. Three mornings a week Free Golf Clinics are offered, and whether a golfer or not, these clinics are well attended and we have picked up many valuable tips from the knowledgeable Pros. Attending a delightful performance of "Hair Spray" highlighted one of our evenings and the fabulous Street Fair one day offered every kind of clothing, decorative items, and food you could want. If you have an opportunity to visit any of the Welk Resorts, pack your bag and be "on your way."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Tafknight,
Thank you for your fantastic review and your recommendation to visit any of our Welk Resort locations. I couldn’t agree with you more! It is great to see you and your friends had a wonderful stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and the highlights and details provided on our resort activities and amenities. We are looking forward to you packing your bag and returning to vacation with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sometimes timeshare swaps aren't so wonderful. This resort is very nice because it is maintained very well and has nice amenities. Our two room villa appeared to have just been renovated. The kitchen was new, everything was freshly painted, beds were comfortable and furniture was new. The villas are in clusters with each having a pool and lots of barbecue grills. The golf course seemed nice although I didn't play -rates were reasonable. There is not much nearby. The town of Escondido is about 15 miles. However it's on I15 so it's easy to go south to shopping and into San Diego

Room Tip: We were in the Merry Hill cluster in Calcutta 112 which is in the first floor and looked out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Bobinlakeway,
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the highlights and comments on the quality and condition of our resort and villas. I am glad to see you felt you had a great exchange experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort if your return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I had stayed at this resort about 4 years ago and thought it was nice. So this time, a buddy and I left our families at home and went to San Diego for a 4-day tennis trip. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite at the Villas on the Green section of this resort, exchanging through Interval International.

Located about 35 miles from SAN airport, away from most of the congestion of San Diego which means you will need a car to get around. Grocery store (Vons) is about 5 miles away but there is an onsite store and Pizza Hut Express. The grounds are quite nice, with pool, golf and tennis courts. Since our wives and kids were not with us, we did not use the pool or participate in other resort activities.

One of our goals was to play tennis for a couple hours a day and then visit San Diego area. Since we played early morning and it was chilly this time of year, we did not have any competition for court time. The 2 tennis courts were lighted with hard surface.

Likes
* Free parking
* Free Wi-Fi, reasonable speed, easy to connect without dropping connection
* Tranquility of resort
* Nice grounds
* Lots of outdoor grills
* Decent size room and décor

Neutral
* Distance to most San Diego attractions (no big deal for us)
* Appliances working but slightly dated

Dislikes
* Insulation between floors not great so can hear people upstairs stomping around
* Shower is very nice but lighting too dark
* Laundry machines not in room
* Dining chairs looked quite used and stained
* Sofa bed uncomfortable

Summary
Nice place for getaway, whether as adults or with children. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
KermitNC,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities, location and features. It is great to hear you enjoyed your exchange visit / tennis trip here at the Welk Resort. We look forward to you returning for another fun filled vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We exchanged 2-bdr villas in the Marriott Newport Coast and they gave us the very minimum possible in exchange, Smallest 1-bdr with NO washer and dryer and a master bedroom w/ view to the garbage dumps. Not only there was zero interest to accommodate any of our requests, the overall attitude was rude. Beware, expect the minimum.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Efi101,
I apologize for the challenges encountered during your exchange visit to Welk Resort. The exchange parameters are set up through your exchange company not by Welk Resort. We would not control what you placed into exchange and the villa exchange equivalent provided to you at Welk Resort by your exchange company. That being said, your concerns have been brought to the attention of our resort management team. That is not the impression we want taken away from a stay at our resort. I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a truly beautiful resort. You can't imagine how nice it is to see blooming bromeliads outside in November. The room was spacious, clean and well supplied. The people were friendly and the gift shop had beautiful items at great prices.
I had a couple of issues. One was water. I live in the desert and maybe am oversensitive to this issue. I reported a dripping bathtub faucet twice but it never got replaced. It had been dripping a long time because the tub was discolored. There is also no recirculating pump so you don';t get instant hot water like you do in most hotels. It really bothered me to let the water run till it was hot.
The other issue was signage. It wasn't very good. I kept having to ask directions (which were poorly given.) The name of the section where I stayed was nowhere on any sign anywhere.
As beautiful as it was to stay there, I still wanted to go out and about. Everything is at least a half hour away, even on the freeway.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mary D,
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Lovely quiet rooms with full facilities. OK golf, a little pricey for what's there.
BUT pool area a disaster!!!Play area, pool& slide. Next is hot tub & what should be an adults pool, but no such luck. Hot tub (for 13 max.) filled with OVER 15 kids, some tossing football in the spot. NO PARENT or pool guard to control them!
The whole time there, the hot tub was filled with reckless kids, no supervision, & same for other pool. Went to overpriced "Broadway Style" show. Not worth $100 for 2 tickets. Nice Farmer's Market @ the sq. One overpriced restaurant on site, but other restaurants 20 - 30 minutes away, so they have you as captive. Prepare your own meals? Grocery store a distance away as well.
Next time, I will buy groceries before getting there & travel there other than school closes. It's removed from everything, but the site is lovely & very relaxing.

Room Tip: Don't come here during Christmas/ New Years period if you don't have kids!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jerryatric,
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear you found our resort site lovely and relaxing. Thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resort and for taking the time to post your review. We are a family resort and try to address the needs of all of our guests. We have five recreation areas at here at Welk. Our Melody Hill recreation center has a pool, hot tub and cardio room that are designated with an 18 and over age restriction. We look forward to you returning to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.