We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way this is a Top 25 Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No way this is a Top 25 Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many time shares and this one was pretty average, except that it was full of itself. I was told repeatedly how lucky I was to be staying there. It has been rated in the Top 25 for the last 30 years, and I can't see why. My bathroom had mold, there was rust on the fixtures, the stove and microwave were dirty. The wifi was a nightmare, it took an hour to get a replacement remote, the cable went out (no storm or anything), I could hear all my neighbors screaming, TVs, and bathroom habits. The staff was great, except for the timeshare Rep who kept me three hours. Even the golf cart drivers were great to talk to. I liked the security gate, always staffed and visible. The restaurant was good too. It's just not Top 25, just average.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    316
    107
    62
    71
See reviews for
470
268
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

we went with two families the weekend before school started as a final summer trip for the kids,, we had stayed there before last year in a 2 room villa but since they were alittle pricey we had booked a single room villa with sofa pullout. Our accomadations were comfortable,, in need of upgrading,, we had a small T.V over the refrigerator and the frig was a little small,, my friends villa was modern with flat screen T.Vs in both rooms her kitchen was more modern than mine and furniture was more dated,, although our bathroom was really nice and the shower was wonderful.The bed was very comfortable,,air conditioning was great,, view on our balcony was beautiful of the golf coarse. We had utilized the BBQ grills and tables on one occasion,,the weather was nice for a BBQ. We also had the pleasure to be located by the pool with a water slide which also had 2 pools , jaccuzi and splash area for small kids.We always have a great time staying there and will be reserving another stay in the near future. Another plus is that there are about 5 casinos in the area from 10 - 15 minutes away

Room Tip: all villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Amanda C,
thank you for the great review. it is wonderful to hear your family and friends had another chance to stay at Welk Resort and had another excellent stay. Thank you for highlighting the resort amenities. We are continually upgrading the Villas here at the resort. We look forward to returning for another fantastic visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this great resort for the second time last week.. As in our previous experience we had a wonderful time. The accommodations are very comfortable, clean and updated. The restaurant was very good and the executive golf course was wonderful/ All is all I highly recommend this resort. It is a great place for families and couples alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear you had a great vacation here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate your recommendation and mentioning the quality of our Villas. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited this resort as a family w 3 small children (10 y.o. and 7 y.o. twins). The unit was spacious and clean. The basics were provided. The amenities were sub par. The pools we visited were crowded and not very attractive. The "lap pool" was about 25 feet (not yards) long. The "arcade" was about six games. The "weight room" did not have a properly functioning weight bench. No good running trail. The on-site restaurant was fine, but the little market was very small and half of the shelf space was devoted to cocktails. Which leads me to a big problem with this resort -- it's a long way from pretty much everything. There is no close-by supermarket or family-style restaurant, even. We finally figured out the downtown Escondid route after 3 days and that made things better. Basically, the facility is dated and out of the way. Absolutely would not return; we were there for free because my mother traded a time share space elsewhere for it or we would have been very unhappy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Welk Resort for 5 days in mid July, 2013. We were given a room on the second floor- and were dismayed to see that there was NO ELEVATOR. We dragged our bags up the flights of stairs. The room was OK. We had four people so my kids had to sleep on the sleeper sofa in the living room. When the bed was in use there was no room to walk or even open the drawers on the chest.

The following afternoon we returned from our activities and sat to have the take out dinner we had purchased off site. My daughter started screaming that bugs were crawling over her. We looked down and the kitchen floor was FULL OF ANTS. We called maintenance and after waiting over 45 minutes, we decided we wanted a new room as we didn't want the children sleeping next to the infested room, and if the ants were in the kitchen they were in the living room too. Maintenance finally came just as we were leaving and said they were going to put down ant traps. They had just had pest control out and they were having ant problems.

We were finally given a new room also on the second floor. We had to lug our bags down the stairs move to another building and lug them up the stairs at the new unit. The sofa bed mattress in the new unit was so badly sloped the kids kept rolling into each other. Maintenance brought out another mattress- somewhat better. We had no mattress pad for the mattress so we had to just put sheets on the bed. It was really late and we were now 2 hours past bed time for the kids and we had early reservations for the next day.

The facilities were fine- loved the adult pool where we could relax without the kids.

We traded our timeshare for this unit and were disappointed as the quality of the room was significantly below the units we normally receive.

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground floor. There are three levels to units- one up a flight of stairs, one down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am taking the unusual step of writing this view before we depart as I am interested to see how the management respond.
We got off to a bad start In that our room was not ready on time and had not been properly prepared i.e. dishwasher not emptied, mould on the shower curtain, surfaces not cleaned, etc. We were offered alternative accommodation but in wanting to avoid the hassle of moving we asked for the place to be given a thorough cleaning.
There are tiny handprints on the bedroom sliding door mirrors from previous residents who presumably had a small child with them. So it seems that we are still waiting for the accommodation to be cleaned as agreed with the duty manager.
The furniture is rather shabby e.g the sofa is in poor condition with the seat cushions being threadbare and damaged.
Last night the BBQ by our place did not work and is presumably out of gas. I reported this at the time and was told that it would be replaced. There are plenty of alternative BBQs to use, so no great drama. But this morning the BBQ in question has been cleaned but still does not work.
The gym is relatively small and popular first thing in the morning. Two out of four treadmills have been out of order for most of our stay.
On a positive note the resort is kept clean and tidy and seems to be a great place for families; the adult only pool provides a quiet environment to relax.
The concierge was very helpful in arranging a whale watching trip for us, which is greatly appreciated.
In overall terms we are accustomed to receiving far better quality service, which has been disappointing. Despite this we are still enjoying our stay but it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a surprisingly good time on a last-minute vacation at this resort. We enjoyed the activities--fishing, tennis, swimming and relaxing. The magic show was a hit too. The down-side was that restaurant is only so-so and the resort isn't close to many other restaurants. We did not participate in any of the time share sales pitch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.