We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Oasis in North San Diego County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprising Oasis in North San Diego County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Conveniently located between LA and San Diego, this is a good jump off place to go both north and south to beaches and attractions. Several area airports are within reasonable commute to the resort. The resort itself is attractive and beautifully maintained, set in serene, relaxing mountains in a quiet valley, in a park-like atmosphere that offers golf and appealing and plentiful pool areas for families and adults-only. The resort provides informal dining options including a major pizza chain and a sit-down restaurant, a small convenience store, and an intimate theater for live stage events. We thoroughly enjoyed a performance of Chicago. The actors' voices were strong and impressive. Our 2 bedroom condo-style unit at Villas on the Green slept 8 and also offered the option of cooking in our full kitchen or cooking out on a new, daily-serviced grill bordering the golf course, to be shared by the 3 buildings around our personal "green." These units also shared a small enclosed hot tub, welcome after a long day on our feet touring the area. Inside, though our unit had not yet been refurbished in an on-going project, the decor and facilities were perfectly maintained, comfortable, and instantly Wow! Coffee on our private patio facing the golf green and mountains was my favorite way to start and end every day. However, if you plan to spend most of your time actually in San Diego (the Zoo, Sea World, etc.), be prepared for up to an hour or more commute to and from the city, depending on your destination and timing. Welk Resort was just what my family needed. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We were in Villas on the Green, the Augusta building, units 1041 and 1042 on the bottom floor, a 2-b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is wonderful to hear your family had a fantastic vacation with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It sounds like your family really took advantage of all of our resort amenities and activities. I appreciate the detailed provided on your accommodations and the comments on the beauty and serenity of our Resort. We would love to have you come again and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    253
    84
    53
    58
See reviews for
377
203
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a very large resort, about 45 minutes north-east of San Diego. You must have a car to access the resort and to visit places outside of the resort, and you must be comfortable driving on California freeways. A GPS is very useful for finding your way around.

The resort is themed around Lawrence Welk, with a small Lawrence Welk Museum and a small Broadway-style theatre. There are also a few shops, a restaurant, and a small convenience store. The convenience store does not carry much in the way of groceries, so you will need to be able to drive to a grocery store if you want to cook in your unit.

We were placed in the older part of the complex. Parts of our unit had been redone; the kitchen and bathrooms were in very good shape. The 1 bedroom units are average, The bed were comfortable and clean. There were still signs, though, that these were older units. The furnishings were a bit worn, as was the carpet, the appliances were old, and the electronics needed updating. The newer part of the complex, Mountain Villas, was beautifully situate higher up in the hills and looked quite fresh and inviting. I would assume, though, that the units are smaller, so if you like a lot of space, stick with the older part.

There are lots of activities at the resort. There are five separate pool areas, each with slightly different amenities, and each running different programs during the day. You should spend a bit of time at the beginning of your holiday exploring each of these centres, so that you will know which one you like the best and where you would like to spend most of your poolside time. Some of them are very basic and some have more amenities. Some are better suited for children. The kids we brought loved the pool they spend like 4-5hours a evening there. They would bring out the projecter and watch movies like Toy Story and such, Always an Activity going on. There is also a golf course that runs through the complex, and a spa.

Internet is available in the units, but the access is a bit annoying. If your computer or other device goes into sleep mode, you will be booted off the system, and will have to go through the login process again. I had an iPad with me, which meant that I had to log in multiple times a day because of its power-save features. The speed of the connection, while not lightening fast, was sufficient for casual browsing and email.

The resort itself is about 20 minutes from any other activities, such as the beach, shopping, hiking, etc. As mentioned above, you must have a car to access these other types of activities. We did appreciate that it was warmer at Escondido than along the shore or in San Diego. In earlier. It cools off during the evening, so bring a few warmer clothes.

Overall, our stay was satisfactory and we would recommend it for people wanting to spend time in the Escondido area.

Room Tip: Get the Mountain Villas if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at the Welk Resort. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities and features. It is wonderful to hear your family had a fantastic vacation with us. We look forward to your return visit. This may be of assistance to you on your next visit. Welk Resort does offer a service called "Timeshare Groceries". They will do the work for you. When you utilize their service you can simply order your groceries and they will have everything ready and waiting for you when you get here. I have provided a link below.
http://welkresorts.com/san-diego/restaurants-dining/grocery-delivery/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We took our family of 5 (kids ages 6, 7, and 9) to this beautiful resort. We found it was basically centrally located to everything we wanted to do and visit. We stayed in the Welk Resort Villas section in Harmony Hill close to the rec center and pool. We were on the bottom floor with a beautiful view of the mountains and access to a patio and grassy area. The two bedroom unit was updated and decorated nicely. We utilized the full size kitchen daily. Both bathrooms were very spacious and nicely updated. The only complaint we had is that there was not enough hot water for showering. This was very annoying, especially if you were the one caught in the shower. We would stay here again if given the opportunity. We were there over New Year's Eve and the resort had many fun-filled family activities, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We even utlized the heated pools during our visit. We did agree to do the time-share tour in exchange for discounted zoo tickets. The tour wasn't too bad, but did go over the 90 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their New Year’s visit here at the Welk Resorts. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the highlights and details provided on the resort features and on-site activities enjoyed during your stay. I apologize for any hot water challenges during your stay. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The good news: the unit we were in was quite spacious, sleeping six (two in the master, two in a second bedroom and two on the sleeper couch in the living room). There were two very nice bathrooms including the second bathroom which had a wonderful shower arrangement. A warning however, it was so nice that my wife now wants us to redo our own shower in our master bathroom to replicate it! There also was a large porch. The kitchen area was quite good although the refrigerator was noisy and it could have been arranged more conveniently.

The grounds are very nicely kept with lots of lawns and flowers. The theater was then playing "Chicago" and it was a truly outstanding performance.

There are a number of pools and one of the golf courses looked challenging (it is fairly steep).

On the negative side, Escondido really isn't all that close to San Diego (or anyplace else for that matter) and even local shopping for groceries is a bit of a haul. What's more, the resort is located in a canyon through which I-15 runs. I-15 is four lanes wide in each direction and is often pretty noisy. Indeed, sitting on the otherwise nice, large porch often wasn't a good choice because of the noise.

The resort does have a small "grocery" store, but it's very limited. Not a good choice. It also has a restaurant. We ate there three times. The regular restaurant was relatively, but not terribly, pricey. The food was good. A better bet, though, is the dinner buffet associated with the theater. There are many good choices and the cost is less than what you'd pay for in the main restaurant area (just a few steps away).

There's a fairly large farmer's market on Mondays in the parking lot near the restaurant and theater. There's some of what you'd expect in terms of food items, but the bulk of what was on sale were arts and crafts good as well as various food vendors. If you are staying at the resort it is certainly worth checking out, although it would not be something so extraordinary that it would be worth driving miles and miles to get to.

Room Tip: If you can get it, try to get a room that has the back (the two bedrooms and porch) facing away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It sounds like you had a good visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities, including the theatre. I hope the bathroom remodel goes well. This may be of assistance to you on your next visit. Welk Resort does offer a service called "Timeshare Groceries". They will do the work for you. When you utilize their service you can simply order your groceries and they will have everything ready and waiting for you when you get here. I have provided a link below.
http://welkresorts.com/san-diego/restaurants-dining/grocery-delivery/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved this resort! We travel a great deal and I know a little about customer service and great places to stay. This is a wonderful Resort. From the time we checked in until the day we sadly had to leave everything at this resort was pretty close to perfect. The Villa we stayed in was two bedrooms. The Villas are very roomy and perfect for all five of us. It had two very large bathrooms,a living room and a very nice kitchen. The kids loved being on the ground floor... that way they could just walk out on the patio and play in the grass. Our view was beautiful. You are a little distance from the beaches,but we had a rental car. So we pretty much hit every beach around the San Diego area. Our favorite beach as far as beauty was La Jolla. Definitely put that one on your list of places to visit. They have an area there called Seal cove.You can swim with the seals. The snorkeling there is amazing as well. Reminded me a little of Hawaii. Also the Seal Tour at Seaside Port is well worth the money. Kids and Adults will love this. If you love burgers try out Hodads. The original one is in Ocean Beach. It will be crowded but well worth the wait. For seafood lovers try the Crab Hut in the Gaslamp district. Awesome food!! Over all this was an amazing trip and we will stay at The Welk Resort again.I could go on...and on....and on... about how wonderful it was. Oh one last place to check out. There is a winery right outside the Resort. You got to check it out even if you don't like wine. Its beautiful and a great place for family pics. Plus the family who owns it are extremely nice and very happy to have you there. Deer Park Winery and Auto Museum.

Room Tip: Villas are awesome. Lower floors are best for children so they can go out and play in the grassy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our on-site amenities and local activities during your stay here at Welk Resorts. I appreciate the highlights, feedback and recommendations from your visit with us. The local activity information you included is great. We look forward to you returning for another amazing family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is our 2nd visit on this resort. 1st using our International interval membership. 2nd we paid as normal guests without any timeshare membership support. The Welk Resort has many attraction like the 3 lakes with fishing ground, many swimming pools, spas and recreational areas. The fact the resort is big, it made our daily walking experiences very challenging and enjoyable considering the many small rabbits, birds and other animals being encountered along the way. The two bedrooms villas is big, almost 1400 sf living area. This is a home away from home that give and provide a new environment and new place to explore. There is no dull moment in this resort considering the amenities being offered to the many background of the guests. The money spent is well worthied

Room Tip: These are villas located on different locations of the resort. Some are closer to the mountain. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their return visit here at the Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort features, amenities and attractions. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Being from the Pacific NW, we decided to heard south to CA. So glad we did! We stayed in a beautifully appointed two bedroom suite with washer/dryer and 3 tv's. Both bedrooms and the living room opened to the patio that walked out to the 18 hole golf course. Large swimming pool, with 2 hot tubs and recreation area close by. Wonderfully casual restaurant, shopping, a professional theater, small grocery store, spa, pizza, par 3 golf course ...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay here at Welk. I appreciate the property highlights from your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.