We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Queen Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved this resort! We travel a great deal and I know a little about customer service and great places to stay. This is a wonderful Resort. From the time we checked in until the day we sadly had to leave everything at this resort was pretty close to perfect. The Villa we stayed in was two bedrooms. The Villas are very roomy and perfect for all five of us. It had two very large bathrooms,a living room and a very nice kitchen. The kids loved being on the ground floor... that way they could just walk out on the patio and play in the grass. Our view was beautiful. You are a little distance from the beaches,but we had a rental car. So we pretty much hit every beach around the San Diego area. Our favorite beach as far as beauty was La Jolla. Definitely put that one on your list of places to visit. They have an area there called Seal cove.You can swim with the seals. The snorkeling there is amazing as well. Reminded me a little of Hawaii. Also the Seal Tour at Seaside Port is well worth the money. Kids and Adults will love this. If you love burgers try out Hodads. The original one is in Ocean Beach. It will be crowded but well worth the wait. For seafood lovers try the Crab Hut in the Gaslamp district. Awesome food!! Over all this was an amazing trip and we will stay at The Welk Resort again.I could go on...and on....and on... about how wonderful it was. Oh one last place to check out. There is a winery right outside the Resort. You got to check it out even if you don't like wine. Its beautiful and a great place for family pics. Plus the family who owns it are extremely nice and very happy to have you there. Deer Park Winery and Auto Museum.

Room Tip: Villas are awesome. Lower floors are best for children so they can go out and play in the grassy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our on-site amenities and local activities during your stay here at Welk Resorts. I appreciate the highlights, feedback and recommendations from your visit with us. The local activity information you included is great. We look forward to you returning for another amazing family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    288
    102
    61
    65
See reviews for
438
247
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is our 2nd visit on this resort. 1st using our International interval membership. 2nd we paid as normal guests without any timeshare membership support. The Welk Resort has many attraction like the 3 lakes with fishing ground, many swimming pools, spas and recreational areas. The fact the resort is big, it made our daily walking experiences very challenging and enjoyable considering the many small rabbits, birds and other animals being encountered along the way. The two bedrooms villas is big, almost 1400 sf living area. This is a home away from home that give and provide a new environment and new place to explore. There is no dull moment in this resort considering the amenities being offered to the many background of the guests. The money spent is well worthied

Room Tip: These are villas located on different locations of the resort. Some are closer to the mountain. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their return visit here at the Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort features, amenities and attractions. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Being from the Pacific NW, we decided to heard south to CA. So glad we did! We stayed in a beautifully appointed two bedroom suite with washer/dryer and 3 tv's. Both bedrooms and the living room opened to the patio that walked out to the 18 hole golf course. Large swimming pool, with 2 hot tubs and recreation area close by. Wonderfully casual restaurant, shopping, a professional theater, small grocery store, spa, pizza, par 3 golf course ...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay here at Welk. I appreciate the property highlights from your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here as a part of a timeshare plan in a 2 bedroom villa. The landscaping is beautiful and so is the golf course. Its located not too far off from attractions in San Diego. Highly recommended for families with kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying here at the Welk Resort and taking the time to post a review. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Welk. I appreciate the recommendation from your visit with us. We look forward to your return .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We traded into the Welk resort time share for a week. We had no idea what to expect - and only jumped on it because it was the only trade available in the area we wanted. We were pleasantly surprised! My husband and I stayed there with our two young kids (under two). The room was spacious and lovely. The suites were large enough that our kids could have separate sleeping areas - one in a bedroom, the other in the bathroom (both in pack and plays). The kitchen and living areas were large and comfortable. TV's are outdated - but we didn't watch much TV anyway. The pools/splash pads/play areas are awesome! When we go back, we'll definitely plan more time to just hang out at this resort and enjoy them. We'll also request to stay at the Mountain Villas section - as that has the best pool/splash pad.

Lots of hills - be prepared for a workout if you have a double stroller!

One complaint - the Welk resort does not have cribs or high chairs. You have to bring your own or rent from a local place. We drove and were able to bring our own, so I don't know how much the rentals would be.

Room Tip: If you have kids, request the Mountain Villas area - near the pool/splash pad. Otherwise, it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see your family had a great experience here at Welk resorts. We look forward to your return visit, as well as the opportunity to create fantastic vacation memories for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa in the Broadway area. I believe It is "in the middle" as far as age. Villas on the Green is the oldest area and the Mountain villas are the newest. The area we were in are all spacious 2 bedroom villas. They have a large kitchen, a dining area and nice size living room with a sliding door to a patio. Bedrooms are a split floor plan so each side of the unit has a bedroom and bath. We were traveling with another couple so this setup was perfect. Grounds are well cared for and we overlooked the pool which was beautiful and well maintained. We did not have to call maintainance or housekeeping the entire week. Our unit was clean and everything worked. We did get 2 calls from our "concierge" asking us to take the tour. We declined and were not bothered further. We are II members and were on an exchange so we are familiar with these practices and are not put off by them. We spent one day using the pool and enjoyed ourselves. We spent the rest of our time touring the area and going to baseball games at both Petco field and one in LA. I do not believe this resort is a "destination" unless you are a golfer and looking for a slow paced relaxing week. Families and young couples would find this resort boring unless they are planning to do a lot of sightseeing. Yes, it is a bit out of the way but a nice respite from the crowded freeways and areas closer to the city. I live in the St. Louis area and am not likely to return to this area, but if I did, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Welk Villas are spacious. I can speak for the other 2 areas Villas on the Green or Mountain Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I appreciate the feedback from your visit with us. It is great to hear your family and friends enjoyed their stay here at the Welk Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on exchange and taking the time to post a review. We hope you visit us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This location right off I-15 provides a good base of operations for visiting southern California. The city of Escondido provides good shopping for basic supplies and some decent dining while San Diego (next door) and LA (1 ½ to 2 hours) are close enough to enjoy. Lots to see and do in the area, whether it involves site seeing, shopping or cultural events. If you prefer to just stay onsite, the resort offers lots of activities including golf onsite, and several rec centers with their own pools (including one adult only pool), facilities, and activities. At least one or two times a week, an onsite theater typically offers a Broadway style show and other entertainment, all of which is unique and fun. A “festival under the lights” is held once per week with live music. An onsite restaurant is not cheap but offers tasty dining, if you don't eat -in your condo. Some other light shopping is available on the premises with pricing one might expect for a resort. However, I found the clothing store to have typical clothing prices. A spa offering a range of services is also available.

One nice offering they have every Monday is an onsite, farmers market with reasonable prices, including arts, crafts, clothing, homemade goods, fresh produce and lots of other food both prepared, or, suitable to take back to your condo for cooking. The vendors offer prizes, which are given away frequently (raffle method) during the market.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The buildings are on the hillsides and do not offer elevators. If stairs are an issue, be sure to request a ground floor level unit. If the resort is full, or close to it, parking can be limited and you would have to park well away from your building. However, you can request one of the staff to come and pick you up where you park and take you to your condo. The large one bedroom and two bedroom units are the nicest and offer balconies and laundry. I don’t believe the small one bedroom units have laundry, but a Laundromat is available onsite. Gas grills are readily available near the buildings and easy to use. Most rooms have some views of the surrounding hills, which are laden with boulders. If you go outdoors in the evening be aware that you are in the country, and the site has several skunks in residence, plus a raccoon and ducks. After an evening at the pool or hot tubs, which are consistently well heated, you can rest by one of several outdoor fireplaces or fire pits to visit, relax, or just dry off. The seating is ample around the fires and very comfortable. Other residents are happy to share their stories. Staff was very friendly and always ready to help. All in all, we would definitely come back here to visit again and again. Plan to stay at least a week.

Room Tip: Ground level is optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at the Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities and features. The on-site activity information you included is great. It is wonderful to hear your family had a fantastic vacation with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.