We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Brentwood
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A really pleasant surprise. This resort's rooms were large and well decorated. There are many things to do besides golf. The restaurant was excellent. Avoid the timeshare presentation -- although we did get a great meal out of it. We were with two other couples and there was lots to do off site as well -- a short drive to many wineries and casinos.

Room Tip: Stay in the older section. The rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    281
    99
    60
    65
See reviews for
427
241
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid-February 2013 and did an exchange with our Timeshare. (Although I gave this property a Very Good overall rating there were some things that were just average in my opinion).

Accommodation:
We stayed in the Daisy building of Harmony Hill, top floor (2nd floor). The layout was fantastic for us and the unit was beautiful. Updated furnishings, granite in kitchen (full kitchen), very modern decor. We had a 2B/2B with lots of closet space and each bathroom had dual sinks and lots of storage. Master had King bed while 2nd bedroom had 2 double beds. TVs in each bedroom and one in the LR with DVD player (huge benefit). We used the W/D about 10 times too - we love having a W/D - some don't want to do laundry on vacation but I find it saves me from having to bring another suitcase with 4 more days of clothes! FYI - our unit (Daisy) looks close to the Rec Center but it's not because you can't go straight to it - we had to walk all the way around and up a hill to get to the RecCenter because those buildings are down the hill. It looks deceiving on the map. If you can get the buildings directly across from the RecCenter there will be much less walking. We actually drove to all the pools - not a huge problem but just be aware. The last thing I'll mention is the highway noise. You can hear it from our Building and it is loud!

Resort:
The Resort is huge and we drove around alot to check out all the other pools and Rec Centers. The workout facilities are quite small so we ended up just doing alot of walking around the property. The hills are a great workout! Each Rec Center/Pool area has something a little different to offer. Some have kiddie pools, some have slides, one has a zero-entry, they all have hot-tubs. Most Rec Centers if not all have ping-pong, foosball, etc. There are alot of activities at the different pools/rec centers throughout the day so there is plenty to do. We attended the Farmers Market and bought Starbucks every morning in the Market. We had appetizers/drinks one night at Canyon Grill but we ate almost all our food in the room. We stopped at Von's the 1st day and stocked our fridge. Our biggest complaint with the Resort is that aside from Pizza Hut there was no where to get food. None of the pool areas had a snack bar or restaurant which I thought was odd. There were vending machines around but that was it. I guess in the warmer seasons the Mountain Springs pool area has someone grilling food for purchase at the pool area but not in Feb. Again, a big FYI...

I did a ton of research on the Resort and there's too much to write so please contact me if you have specific questions. I'd be happy to share what I know.

We had a very enjoyable stay (checkout out board games, rented some DVDs, played lots of ping-pong and swam alot!). If you want to do alot of sighseeing, you'll be driving.

Room Tip: Download the Resort Map off the Website and do some research beforehand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the input and detail. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Welk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We used a week of a timeshare as a trade to stay in the mountain villas. The resort was quite big and the rooms were quiet and private. We never even heard our neighbors once.

The unit came with a basic kitchen, no oven but all we needed with a fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, etc. The pool area had a nice big pool, water slide, hot tub and lots of loungers. Unfortunately weather wasn't warm enough for us to take advantage of it all. We didn't get bothered by the timeshare salespeople since we didn't spend much time wandering in areas outside our room.

We spent most days touring around San Diego and it was about a 45min drive to downtown when it wasn't rush hour. Easy to get there but a long distance on the freeway. I could see why people would want to stay closer to the tourist activities.

Overall still enjoyed our quiet stay at the wells resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see your family had a great time here at Welk. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard, ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here in Feb. 2013 for 2 nights to attend the robotics tournament at LEGOLAND for my 9yr old. We had a 2 bedroom villa (no view) across from Harmony Hill. When we arrived we were checking into 2 units (Harmony Hill and Mountain View 1 Bedroom). We arrived around 12:30 and the smaller unit was available (my daughters nurse used that unit), but not the larger and wasn't until 4pm, which was a bummer because I was told it probably would be. Anyhow, we spent the afternoon at the pool. Last time we came my son received a head concussion from slipping at the pool. This time someone stepped on his finger as he picked up the ping pong ball. We also saw another kid getting treatment from hitting his head after falling. Both my husbands father and brother came up from SD and spent the afternoon/evening with us. The accommodations are always nice, big and clean. We can hear people walking/moving chairs in the above units, but otherwise is quiet. Nice to have full kitchen. The washer/dyer is a new all in one unit (no directions and didn't seem to clean that great)., Kitchen and bath were newly updated but the water pressure is bad. It's a nice property, very clean and well manicured. Wish we could have had one extra day to just enjoy the property more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to see your family had an opportunity to get together here at Welk Resort. The robotics tournament is one of the many great things to do in the area. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Welk Resort is a great place to visit for a few days or a week stay. There are plenty of things to do and San Diego, Oceanside or Carlsbad are about a half hour away. The rooms are very nice. D. Castle

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Welk Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was a gift from my wife's parents, and we have used it annually for several years. It's a 2BR Resort Villa, and as many timeshares as we've traded to using our other timeshare, this is the best overall facility for on-property activities and facilities. Resort villas are capacious, plus a sofa bed in the living room. The living room TV is only a 36" flat panel with bad sound, and they haven't sprung for connectivity between the TV and the stereo system. Four different pools and recreation centers, golf courses (we're not golfers), theater, shopping, restaurant, walking, and programs (some with a fee). And bus tours. You pretty much need a car to get around, even to the other rec centers. The adults-only pool and rec center gets good marks when we don't have kids along. All kinds of interesting restaurants are available in Escondido and San Marcos, and we particularly like Golden Egg Omelet House and India Princess, but there are lots of other choices and even more toward the coast, such as El Norte in Carlsbad. Theater shows are strong, although South Pacific was not up to the usual standard with the notable exceptions of Emile, Cable, and Billis. We have studiously avoided presentations, and don't even answer the house phone, since it's going to be either housekeeping or a lure to a presentation. Cell and wifi work fine. Ours is a lower unit, and if there are kids upstairs, it sounds like tap dancing classes. The undercurrent of interstate noise is constant, but distant, so not bad for older ears. Great staff, responsive to our questions and maintenance calls, but check-in will give you a fore-taste of the sales pitch as they refer you over to the "concierge" to get your parking pass. We would buy an adjoining week (only in the extensive secondary market) for retirement stays.

Room Tip: If you have to sit through a presentation, take out your cell phone, lay it on the desk, and say you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the highlights and feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We are owners and are very pleased with the resort, they are always updated and adding to it. We love to golf there and have friends over! The rooms are quiet and they 2 bedrooms are very large. The property are are very well taken are up and is a great place for couples and families of any age!

We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.