We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy With our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Central Mass
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Happy With our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this through our time share for a 4 night stay. It was a one bedroom unit, and very clean. We didn't use much of the resort because we just used the place to rest our heads and we were off exploring the coast.
We have been at many time Share resorts, this one is actually a very nice place, seems to offer a lot. Our unit must of been renovated recently, seemed very modern.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    336
    113
    66
    76
See reviews for
514
281
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The resort would be a lovely place to stay if you wanted to relax and enjoy the activities and entertainment on site. Unfortunately we wanted to do the tourist areas and it involved a LOT of driving - 45 minutes to San Diego in the morning, 30 minutes to Carlsbad. On the Friday night it took us one and a half hours to get back! We found that it was best to leave around 9 am and come back after six to avoid the traffic.
The resort is very nice - large kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms - 2 sinks in each - one had a tub the other a shower. We stayed on harmony hill in a 2 bedroom. The pool was half a block away and heated comfortably for November. We stopped in at the activity center to use the computer and it seemed very inviting if you wanted to play pool or participate in the scheduled activities. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking - the only things missing were oven mitts and dish cloths. The beds are quite comfortable. The TV was old but we were not there to watch television. We purchased our groceries at the VONS in Escondido which is about 10 minutes away - very convenient to the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were delighted with our stay at the Welk Resort.
We requested a room with the least stairs, since there are no elevator's.
Everything was perfect accept the cold rainy weather. We did have a few days where the sun came out for a while. There were many activities to do without leaving the resort. Its close enough to Ocenaside & San Diego. The sttting in the hills off of the freeway, made for a quiet place. As far as then trying to sell us a unti, it only happened upon check in, no reminder calls.
This was a hidden gem fro us to find & stay.

Room Tip: request a 1 bedroom located on level 2, facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great location for day trips between San Diego, the mountains to the East, the beaches, and Palm Springs / Palm Desert area. You can plan your stay and schedule your days trips that provide pleasant memories and photo treasures for years to come.

The resort has many activities: golf Par3 and a regular course, many pools for the family, Pizza Hut on property and a full restaurant. Two pool areas have water slides as well as clubhouse activities for the kids.

Don't forget trips to the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Wild Animal Part in Escondido.

Room Tip: For families with children, request rooms near children's play areas to avoid long walks for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We really loved out stay at the Lawrence Welk Resort. And we've stayed at quite a few resorts - both with and without kids - over the past few years. Usually I have quite a few minor criticisms, but in this case I only have a few (read later on). For travellers with small children, here are a few things to note when considering this resort:
-Great amenities - The Harmony Hill rec center has the perfect plaground (small) and kiddie pool (1 ft deep) for little ones. (Note that there is also a larger playground and many other pools on the property for older kids). The playground has that really nice soft spongy surface and is semi-shaded. Two of the rec centres also have spray pads - again, really well designed with little room for tiny toes to trip.
-Quick check in and check out - Unlike many timeshare resorts, their check in process is very quick which our kids sure appreciated. They also have a small play table in the lobby to keep the little ones busy.
-Spacious, kid-friendly units. The 2 bedroom units are HUGE. So huge that we put our nearly 2 year old in his playpen in one of the bathrooms and there was still plenty of room. Each bedroom is down its own hallway, so you can conveniently block out the family room and kitchen sounds. The decor is sparse enough so you don't have to worry about kids breaking things. My only tips would be to move the very well stocked kitchen items to higher cupboards and to potentially bring a fridge lock with you. The kitchen counter has a lowered area so that kids can sit at it and draw while you are making dinner. Also, the kitchen table has a nice pattern on it to hide little kids drawings - whoops, at least they were with erasable markers!
-The units are fairly well maintained; just starting to show their age; but our kids didn't notice of course. They also enjoying playing on the balcony.
-Evening events - the Winter Nights and Farmer's Market were great for the kids. We only wish they offered 1 more kid-friendly evening of fun as our kids were too young for the PJ party (i.e. babysitting evening) which is for ages 4 and up

Now for my minor criticisms:
-Couch in the unit is terrible; it's not comfortable and I see lots of people have complained about this.
-It would be nice to have a sports bar or something that was open later. Everything closes by 9:30pm and that made for one very bored husband!

If you have any other questions, please feel free to email me. I love to help other parents plan their trips to ensure they have everything they need to have fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a 1 bedroom unit in the Mountain Villas. We selected the Mountain Villas because we wanted to have the fireplace in the bedroom. The unit which was assigned to us had an inoperable fireplace in the bedroom. We were disappointed that they didn't tell us that the fireplace had been awaiting a part for repair. We wasted quite a bit of time with attempts by staff to repair it.
The unit was very large, including a well stocked kitchen (if you want to cook, we didn't), plenty of storage, a washer and dryer (no need to return home with dirty clothes), a 3 headed shower, jacuzzi tub,and 2 fireplaces.
There was no cell phone reception in the unit, and nearby outdoors. The free internet was appreciated , as we used skype.
The Canyon Grille restaurant , on the premises, offers a nice variety of foods at reasonable prices, and offers good service.
The fitness facility is poor. The cardio equipment is very limited, and can't serve the number of guests. There are two 24 Hour Fitness locations in Escondido which we use while staying at the resort.
The theater has always provided good entertainment for us.
San Diego is very accessible, and Escondido offers much to do. The resort is low density and has well maintained grounds.
We have also stayed in the Villas on the Green, and the Lawrence Welk Villa sections of the resort. The cell phone reception was good at both of those locations.

Room Tip: When staying in the Mountain Villas, ask for a top floor, if you and your party can handle stairs(no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom condo for our family of 5, and loved the floor plan. You walk into the large kitchen/dining/living great room, with a hallway door off both sides of the room. Each hallway had a large closet, a door to a large bathroom, and a door to the bedroom. One room had a Queen bed, and the other had 2 double beds.

Very luxurious bathrooms, one with walk-in shower, one with jaccuzi bathtub and shower combo.

Stacked washer dryer in kitchen closet. Full size kitchen was fully equipped, I lacked for nothing.

Closest grocery store is a good 10 minute drive, but that's a con and a plus... being away from a city location was one of the nice things, but everything required driving.

We also had difficulty just getting around the resort to pools and restaurants with our 3 kids that are 4 years and under. We tried walking down the really steep hill once with our stroller, and drove everywhere the rest of the week. It was too steep to take walks with them.
But the pools were great and family friendly. They were really strict on the height restriction for the water slides though and wouldn't let my 4 year old go down even though she already knows how to swim.
Hotel restaurants were Pizza Hut Express, or a sit down restaurant that was expensive but nice. And the restaurant worked with us on my daughter's allergies.

There was a lot of furniture and door closing noise from upstairs though.

Room Tip: If not near right next to a pool, you'll be driving to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#34 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido
Comfort Inn Escondido
#6 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
12.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#7 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.