We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Riverside, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful grounds, spacious beautiful condo like accomodations. If you like to swim or golf, this resort is paradise. Wonderful for families or family reunions. Gorgeous spa tub, lovely balcony. Escondido has some great hiking. Check out the Elfin Forest or Lake Hodges. Each a short drive. Also, you should definitely check out the Stone Brewery. All within 30 minute drive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    253
    84
    55
    59
See reviews for
385
204
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hacienda Heights, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the resort for the weekend of 10/5. We arrived late around 9PM and check-in was fast. A couple of people were complaining about their rooms and asked to be switched to different units. We were assigned a first floor unit Building 12. The ground level is technically the 2nd floor. You have to walk down some steps to get to the 1st floor units. We got the 1 bedroom unit and the unit was large and very well equipped. The tv's were dated but not a deal breaker. Bed was comfortable as well. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub as well as a nice shower. Overall the unit was nice and the view was great and relaxing. We had a great time.

Internet was free but we could not get reception in our room which was a bummer. I ended using my Verizon LTE connection most of the time we were there which wasn't good but I needed to get access. They need to improve on their internet for me to rate this a 5 star property.

Overall, the place is nice and again very relaxing!!! The common areas are well kept. We went to a couple of restraurants near by and didn't try anything on site. Pala casino was a 10 minute drive if that is something that is important.

We had a great time and would recommend to others to stay at this location. It isn't particularly close to the beaches if that is what you are looking for as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, Ca
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Staying here for one week from a timeshare trade. Very nice two bedroom unit. Nice two bedroom, not ADA compliant where we are saying- steps to location either up or down. Some noise from freeway and helicopters overhead. Not close to San Diego as the name suggest. Wednesday is when we had a service cleanup, we came in on Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Currently spending a week here. The resort itself is pretty and good for families with nice pools but if you want somewhere peacefull to relax then it is not a wise choice. Despite putting a request for a 'quieter location away from the Freeway', the opposite is exactly what we got, right down in the bottom corner of Harmony Hill. We tried to get a different location but couldn't. I got the impression this is the area used for non-owners. Even with the doors closed, you can hear the dull drone throughout the night. Having walked round the whole resort, the only area where the traffic noise isn't intrusive is Mountain Villas. It is a shame as the apartment (2 bed) is really nice. The main 18 hole golf course comprises largely par 3s with the occasional 300 yard par 4 thrown in. Fine for occasional golfers and families but not if you want a proper challenge. However, there appear to be more serious courses very nearby. As the beach is only 25 mins away and San Diego 45, it is reasonably located. Only criticism with the accomodation is they don't do feather pillows, just the lumpy synthetic fill ones and inventory checking was problematic ("we have a shortage of several items, such as matching glassware & cutlery"). In summary, I couldn't come back because of the traffic noise, which is unfortunate as there never appears to be any other choice in this part of California if looking to exchange through Interval International.

Room Tip: Might have more chance of better location with a Friday or Saturday check-in. Mountain Villas defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wow, this place is gorgeous and has so much to offer! The views are amazing and the amenities are endless! However, if you are visiting the area to sightsee in San Diego, I don't recommend staying here as it is a 45 minute car ride from downtown and traveling back and forth each day can become tiresome and a time suck. Also, after countless tries we failed to find a restaurant that would deliver. Other than that, a great place to stay and would revisit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Every year I look for a place for an annual moms retreat. There are a few factors which have to be considered to fit our needs... We need at least one room that has a full kitchen and room enough for the gals to eat meals and have discussions. We laugh a lot and quite loudly, so thin walls won't work for us (or the other guests). We like to feel like we've left home (San Diego, north county) and are on a vacation.
Welk Escondido met all those needs and more. The rooms were large and clean..super well appointed...everything we needed to take care of 12 women. The bathrooms were updated (Harmony Hill) and very spacious. We booked 3 2 bedroom suites. They are all identical in layout, which is nice, You know what you are getting. The kitchen was sufficient in size and supplies to make meals for us all and had seating to facilitate eating. We didn't hear a thing from our neighbors and they didn't complain about us and our raucous laughter.
HOWEVER...As friendly as the desk staff was at check in, there was no sense of helpfulness in accommodating our wishes and needs to have rooms near each other or anything else that we needed. We had the feeling that they didn't need our business and didn't need to work for it. We aren't difficult, but want to at least feel like they had an interest in trying to meet our needs. It all worked out fine, but as the coordinator of the event, I don't want to book there again because they couldn't assure me that we would have our rooms anywhere near each other, etc.
That's the only complaint. Otherwise, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: I don't think you have a choice, but we asked for a room with a nice walk-out from the living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed at this resort 3 times through trades. We called approximately two weeks prior to arriving and requested a top floor room overlooking the golf course or fishing lake. When the clerk told us our room number, it was only a top floor with no view as the trees covered what little view there was. She did try and get us another unit but she only came back with a bottom floor unit so we ended up taking what they originally we're going to give us - #190.

I believe the original resort villas have been renovated but I would say surely not completly. The cabinets have been replaced along with Granite Counters and the baths have been redone but the rest of the unit was very dated - Old time big box TV's, pink wallpaper all over the place and very lumpy, uncomfortable furniture.

They need to do better than this since they're still trying to sell new time shares there claiming they are "five star". Maybe the new units are nice but what will they be like when they reach the age of the original villas?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.