We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 2 BR Villas on the Green” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous 2 BR Villas on the Green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I was totally surprised by our HUGE 2 bedroom 2 bath villa- the accommodations at Welk are terrific
And the grounds are lovely and pristine.
The units have a very large fully aplianced open kitchen and dining area open to the living room. There are sliders from each bedroom and the living area out onto the patio, which is equipped with table and chairs, as well as chaises. Our unit ( in the Laura building, faced the small fishing pond with fountains- beautiful and relaxing view.
Each bedroom suite encompassed its own bathroom with double sinks and separate room for commode. Well thought out space. Golf and multiple pool areas are included in the Welk resort, as well as a restaurant, theatre, and special events. This is a great timeshare experience- especially since you can book into other Welk resorts ( Cabo, Branson ) without paying a trade fee. It is very convenient to the beaches at Carlsbad and Oceanside - about 20-30 minutes away
A great exchange location!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    266
    91
    58
    62
See reviews for
410
217
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed from 9/28 to 10/4/2012. We like this place. Our one bdrm accomodation was very clean, reasonably spacious, and had view of grounds and golf course from a small patio. Overall the resort is very well kept, staff is friendly, and views are pretty. The resort has several separate areas, each with a rec center. Pools look well kept, but we didn't use them on this trip. Rec centers have various amenities some unique to a single center (e.g. movie rentals). Outdoor propane grills are conveniently situated throughout the resort. The resort is close to freeway, but freeway noise is not evident in units. Beds were very comfortable. King bed was furnished in our 1 bdrm.

We do have a series of small complaints that prevent a higher recommendation. First the resort isn't very close to some attractions (beach, history, shopping, or sea world for kids). Also, we had a few glitches with our room. Light in shower was out, TV was quite old, cable connection and guide were antiquated, no easy way of finding channels was available. TV was high on a shelf and difficult to view, ice maker was extremely slow, regular dish washing soap was not provided, no elevators are available (hard for seniors like us), kitchen was limited. Finally, we stayed in an older area (Villas on the Green); this area does show its age. Recommendations: (1) if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a parking lot level entrance. This level is not necessarily the lowest floor, so asking for no or minimal stairs is important, (2) if you plan to spend significant time at the resort, ask for one of the newer areas - Harmony Hill looks nice as do Mtn Villas. Also a two bdrm will be better suited for cooking, (3) have a vehicle and plan on putting in many miles if your plan is to see the area as well as relax poolside, etc., and (4) traffic is pretty bad the closer you get to San Diego; if freeways bother you, the coast or inland could be a better choice.

The resort emphasizes golf and has two on-site courses. One is a par 3 and is great for work on short game. Course was so un-crowded I played two balls around the whole track. The second course is a short executive course that winds around the resort. It's too short for a regular golf challenge. Both courses are well kept with green fairways and true and reasonably fast greens (early morning dew can slow them down a bit). Fortunately, golf courses abound within striking distance of the resort, featuring all price ranges and challenges (e.g. muni's to Torrey Pines). One doesn't go to the resort for the golf. One goes to be near the golf. That being said, the courses at the resort might be ideal for families, seniors and others that enjoy golf but lack distance off the tee.

My wife liked proximity to antique shops.

We might well be back, in a larger unit and different area of the resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We own several timeshares and have both traded and purchased get-aways to this resort. It offers so much it's hard to list it all. My husband loves the golf courses, getting in as many tee times as possible. We both love the accessability to 'wine country' in Temecula, the beaches of San Diego, La Jolla and Oceanside as well as the ability to sneek back to the peacefulness of the resort. Our units are spacious, clean and located in close proximity to many resort activities. We never fail to meet really great people from all over the US and abroad. Usually we choose to prepare most of our meals and the availability of BBQ's within easy walking distance is a plus. The pools are great, spas, outdoor firepits and fireplaces are comfy too. The rec centers have a wide variety of activities for all ages and we noticed that the kids have a full list of activites to choose from as well. They offer a 'Farmers Market' on site which is fun and a theme night for those who like to mingle. During our stays the staff, even maintenance go out of their way to make you comfortable and offer assistance. The welcoming, friendly attitude shows great customer service. Even when ants were determined to make themselves welcome in our unit, the front desk sent maintenance immediately to correct the issue. They even followed up with a call to make sure we were happy. We noticed that they clean the common areas frequently and even the gas grills are service and cleaned daily. 4th visit and certainly not the last, we love it here it's close to lots of choices in day trips or a comfy place to just chill!

Room Tip: Let them know the ages of the people in your group, singles like the higher level areas and people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just spent a week at this resort and could not help wondering why they put a resort here. Our room was spacious, but a bit dated. The pools were relaxing. The clientele during our visit seemed to be mainly in there 60's and 70's, which is fine We had great weather. This resort really is in the middle of nowhere. The freeway is not far so you have a constant noise of cars. There are so many lovely areas in Southern California you wonder why they built the resort here. We found we spent a considerable amount of time in the car visiting La Jolla, Del Mar and Temecula etc. We did get this at a great rate so we rated it higher for that reason.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have a one week unit in Kahana, Maui, but were glad we tried this as an exchange. We were upgraded to a 2 BR top floor unit overlooking two ponds on the golf course. Very comfortable and well-located in the middle of the resort. We felt that service was very friendly and helpful and that the housekeeping was extremely clean and thorough. We are a 'senior' couple so did not partake in the myriad of activities available, but we did enjoy the Tuesday Festival under the Lights featuring Hawaiian music, outdoor eating and entertainment (mainly the children, but some adults, dancing). It was only a short walk to our pool area which was large, attractive, and well kept. The hot tub was roomy and the right temperature. We took a side trip to Disneyland (1 1/2 hr. drive) and today to Balboa Park, San Diego, only 45 min. from the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this resort 5 days in September. Our unit was spacious and confortable. We loved the open floor plan. It was very spacious and convenient. Our unit also had a washer and dryer. The resort has 7 pools and the common areas are very well kept. One of the recreational areas is for adults only ( pool, hot tub, sauna, gym and height room ).
2 cons about this resort:
1) It is close to I 15 and we could hear the highway when we were outside of the unit.
2) We had small ants in our unit. This was not a huge problem but it was anoying at times.
This is the only reason why I can not give this resort a 5 star for clealiness.
The bedding and towels were in very good condition.
The resort is conveniently accesible from I 15. It was easy to get on the highway to visit San Diego. The staff at the resort was polite and knowledgeable about the area.
TIP: Visit OLD TOWN San Diego. We LOVED it !!!!!!

Room Tip: The older units have an open floor concept. The kitchen is large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We ,a family of 10 stayed in 2condos for a week
We found that there was plenty to do for everyone, from the 10 month old babies to the 60 yr old grandparents
activities daily provided much entertainment
The pools are great as are the other ammenities
the location of the resort is fabulous with lots of tress, so a great retreat in the summer. Two golf course on property and many more close by
A nice drive to San Diego for the zoo, balboa park, etc
Close to wine country of Temecula, which should not be missed
We will return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Wild Animal Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary high speed Internet access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;