We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Welk Resort San Diego to your Saves list
Welk Resort San Diego
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Granite Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

There are many different "villas" in the resort; we stayed in the Welk Resort Villas and they were fantastic. The condo was 2 large bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen, with living and dining area. It was nice to have the kitchen so we were more at home and it felt less like a hotel. We had planned all our activities in nearby San Diego, but there were so many things to do at the resort we hadn't expected. The kids fished and used the recreation centers. We didn't get a chance to go to the theater, but would have liked to. Definitely bring your golf clubs, if you have them. I got a massage at the Spa, which was resort-priced but good quality. We BBQ'd rather than eat at the on-site restaurant, but it was nicely laid out with patio dining as well as tables inside. My family of 5, including 3 teenagers, loved it and we have already decided to go back again next summer!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a villa near the kid friendly pools and recreation centers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    316
    107
    62
    71
See reviews for
470
268
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I'm actually VERY surprised, by any and all of the low reviews of the Welk Resort. Not only did we get SPECTACULAR service - we signed up for the Time Share presentation (we were on an exchange from Interval International) and when they found out we had 2 kids with us - they gave us 2 tickets to Legoland and sent us on our way! We mainly vacationed in La Jolla - at the Shores Beach - a bit of a drive - but it was SO relaxing to wake up, have breakfast on our patio on the greens (we grocery shopped in town and stocked our fridge) - and that's a huge savings. Anyway, we would stay here again, it's great for families, we loved the pool and movie night. All in all, if you're looking for a great timeshare exchange - that close to the beach & other family attractions, the Welk Resort is the place to go!

Room Tip: Sign up for the presentation, and make sure you tell them you have kids - if you have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This place is an disgusting! The bring you into this resort with the Lawrence Welk Name, and then they will not let you out unless you purchase something!!! I thought Mexico, with the kids chasing you was bad, well they got nothing on the Welk snakes!! Just a little advice, run!! Do not take the chance on staying here. The rooms are disgusting and the mold issues have never been addressed. Its not worth it, enjoy your vacation at a real resort!!

Room Tip: The developer sells the best inventory to outside agencies, not their owners, so the best rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My family took this trip for my 70th birthday and there were 6 kids and 9 adults. We had 2 villas in Melody Hills and1 in Harmony Hills. These two are the ones you definitely want to request along with specifying refurbished units. They were very accommodating in giving us the 2 units side by side but the 3rd being a Sun to Sun check in vs Sat to Sat, required it to be in a separate area. The layout and furnishings of the villas was excellent with the 2 bedrooms separated by a large living/dining/kitchen area. A two BR easily accommodated 6 people in the bedrooms, but 4 adults or 2 adults and up to 4 kids would be easier. he kitchen was well furnished. Sound proofing was excellent side to side but you could hear footsteps from the unit above. It was not that bad though. Broadway Hills appeared to be similar accommodations. Mountain Villas were isolated from the main resort and Villas on the Green did not look as nice. The housekeeping staff was very responsive to request for extra soap, towels, etc and check in/out was fast except if you try to do it right around the earliest or latest times. Many activities for adults and kids. The only drawback was the location relative to any grocer stores, restaurants,etc. However, that disadvantage can also be a plus with the quietness and serenity. You definitely need your own transportation. There is a convenience store onsite with just the basics and the Pizza Hut was very good and reasonable. We did not try the restaurant. Internet was not that fast which turned out to be good because I was not tempted to be on my laptop. It was a vacation!

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We chose this hotel based on location, near the San Diego Safari Park, our planned outing, and the online pic's of a great pool. We were treating our Grandchildren to a short get-away. My husband is mobility impaired and it is very apparent upon seeing him struggle to walk with assistance equipment. We arrived on a Monday at 1pm and were told we could enjoy the pool, but check in wasn't until 4pm. This was day 1, our planned pool day, but it only worked for the kids because it was difficult for us to unpack and lug changing items to their public bathroom, and remove leg braces in the public bathroom. The kids played in the pool, which was great, and we waited for 3 1/2 hours to get our room. The property is spread out into groupings of buildings on hillsides. Once we found our building, it was apparent there was no parking for that building! It was behind 2 other buildings on a hillside. After flagging down hotel staff on golf carts, they confirmed the parking would be "anything we could find around the pool area" which meant we would have to cross the street and walk up hill, between the other buildings and up 1 flight of stairs, then down 2, to get to our 1st floor room. In addition, there was NO handicap parking spaces on that entire side of the pool area parking lot. After a major struggle to get to our room, it was much too late to enjoy pool time for ourselves. The view outside the master bedroom window was a couple feet of dirt and a very tall cinder block wall. Same view out the entry door, as the building was against the hillside and support walls. The other side of the unit had a sliding glass door out to a hilly grassy area, which a mobility challenged person could not navigate. I called the front desk to share our experience and problem, and the clerk offered to have the manager call me, but the manager never bothered. We managed to get settled in no sooner than 5:30pm; and they ask that you are completely checked out BEFORE 10am. They advertise that "kids eat free", but it's only 1 meal for the period we were there, which could have been 1 lunch at arrival, dinner the first night and breakfast before departing; that didn't live up the advertisement. To top it off, this property is a timeshare and they asked if we would like to sit through their presentation, to hear about the opportunity to become owners. No thanks!

Room Tip: Ensure it's accessible to a parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We love the Welk Resort here in San Diego. We have stayed at the Mountain Villas previously, and this time we stayed at the Villas on the Green. Beautiful view of the Golf course and mountains off our veranda. The one bedroom had everything we needed and was sufficient for our stay. We really enjoy walking the grounds of the resort each morning and the jacuzzi at night. This is the first time we stayed during the summer months and this is quite suitable for the family travel. Although we love children and have 6 of our own, youngest is 21, we found we prefer to stay here during the quieter months. We were surrounded in the villas by families with very young children, running, screaming, hollering off the verandas at 8am in the morning, and woke daily by 7:30am to other family members knocking on the door next door If you have young children, you'll fit right in. I probably wouldn't think anything about it if my children were in this age group. The condos are definitely not soundproof. Overall though, we loved our stay, we are owners, and we look forward to our next visit (fall preferably).
They have a spa on site and I had an awesome massage as well as a mani/pedi.
This is a very nice location, maybe 30-40 minutes to downtown San Diego Harbor. We traveled alot on I15 at various times of the day, and never ran into bad traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Welk Resort Mountain Villas in a 1-bedroom suite. It was attractively furnished and the perfect size for our family of four. The master bedroom had a king bed and the living room had a queen sleeper sofa. Both rooms came with wall mounted flat screen TVs. The kitchen was equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. The suite also had a washer and dryer. The grounds were neatly landscaped and the pools were our favorite features. There was a children's pool with a splash area and playground set. The pool has fun waterslides situated in a rock pile with cool waterfalls. There is also a lake for fishing and golf courses on the grounds. It is located within minutes of the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and a reasonable distance from the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Legoland, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm. This is the perfect place for our family to stay when vacationing in San Diego. We will definitely come back to Welk Resort Mountain Villas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.