We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Seven Oakes Road, Escondido, CA 92026   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in the area. Its an ideal choice for touring San Diego, the coastline and inland. We have been going back to this BW for over 10 years and it is always clean, tidy and the staff very friendly. The pool area is great. Local restaurants with 10 minutes. Do go to the Stone Brewery.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the back of the hotel, as there is some freeway noise on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
109
42
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed here many times and will always stay here for the Escondido, San Diego, Del Mar, San Marcos, Encinitas and Carlsbad areas. Superior customer service. One of the best maintained hotels I have ever visited. Very easy on and off of I-15. Good sushi within a mile. Good fish restaurant in San Marcos within 5 miles. (Fish House Veracruz-cooked over mesquite). Excellent free breakfast at the hotel to send you on your way. Gas station across the street. They accept our small dog because we make sure we never betray there trust. We love it and it is our home in the San Diego area. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Az
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This BW is easy to access off the I-15.You will hear a bit of freeway hum if staying in front of hotel but not excessive. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Parking was plentiful.Had an oversized room which included a dining table w/4 chairs and sofa. Breakfast is the usual continental fare with plenty of seating area. Pool is a nice size with seperate hot tub.Grounds are nicely landscaped. Great value for the price paid. Only down sides noted-bathroom does not have a fan and TV was old fashioned (not flat screen). Beds were wonderful and room clean. Property is pet friendly with ample grassy areas. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here one night before our adventure to the SD Zoo Safari park. No surprises here. It's your regular BW accomodation. Hotel looks fairly new, good safe location and plenty of free parking, your typical free breakfast fare and the place was crowded when we arrived around 9:00, so come down early. Several restaurants nearby and the hotel is about 15-min to the park. Desk clerks were courteous and helpful and had ready made maps/directions to the park. We'll stay here again the next time we visit the zoo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a vacation planned in San Diego the week we arrived at this property. We rented a condo, but couldn't check in until the next day. So we needed a place to stay for one night. Unfortunately it was a Friday night. We did not plan ahead and every place in the SD area was booked. We drove back up to Escondido and thankfully the Best Western had cancellations. The place was very clean, breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights Fri & Sat in July 2012. Expected just a basic room and not much else, but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was not only ready and clean, but twice the size we expected. Very comfortable king bed and bedding, plus a whole living room area with couch, chair, table, plus a granite bar-type area with fridge, coffee, cabinets, etc. The bathroom was also nice, including granite countertops and plenty of towels. The a/c was great. Then there was the pool area. Not your run-of-the-mill motel-type, but a big main pool and a good-size jacuzzi. Plenty of room around pool area, with chairs, tables, umbrellas...nice. My only negative was the breakfast offerings--the pastries etc were not as fresh as they could have been, but at this price (about the same as the standard motel) they don't have to supply breakfast at all. Finally, this hotel is right off the freeway making it convenient to go to the various casinos in the area, visit Temecula, or head into San Deigo area.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for the exact type of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This property appears to be one of the best in Escondido, as far as being in a safe neightbod is concerned. However, having said that:

Front entrance is uphill w/a heavy door. The so-called "accessible" rooms are not. Should have a king bed, not 2 queens cluttering the room. No roll-in shower, the heater/AC controls cannot be reached from a wheelchair, etc. Can't remember right now if the spyhole in the door is at the right height. Poor attitude from the staff: "Oh, yes, that (those) room(s) is/are accessible. No, we don't have to offer a roll-in shower," blah, blah, blah.
I can't believe that Best Western has their name in the property. We've stayed in any number of best westerns in CA, NV & AZ that are accessible, such as the ones in Tombstone, AZ and Douglas, AZ (100 yards north of Mexico). The Escondido planning dept. and it's inspectors obviously don't know the law regarding requirements for accessibility contained in the American With Disabilities Act. If this building was constructed OR REMODELED since 1981 someone in the city responsible for construction approval has no idea of the laws, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel

Address: 1700 Seven Oakes Road, Escondido, CA 92026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This pet-friendly hotel is located near many area attractions including Iceoplex®, Legoland®, Sea World®, California Center for the Arts, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, several wineries, golfing, fishing, theaters, restaurants and casinos.This Escondido, California hotel offers thoughtfully-appointed guest rooms, including two-room suites and family suites, each with free high-speed wireless Internet, microwave, refrigerator and cable television with 75 channels including HBO® and ESPN®. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning with hot waffles. Additional amenities include a business center, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.For superior customer service and a very convenient location in Escondido, California, make a reservation at this great hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escondido
Escondido Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.