We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web site photos are real” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Mediteran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel Mediteran to your Saves list
Motel Mediteran
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2336 South Escondido Boulevard, Escondido, CA 92025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Web site photos are real”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The photos at expedia.com match with the real motel. But, as you know, photos do not give you a sense of depth. So the reception area is actually small.

The motel is near the highway and easy to find. Room is very basic. Bathroom is clean and water pressure is good. Breakfast is served in a cramped area, with only 6 seats. Make sure you go there early morning. Make-your-own waffle is good. I do not eat the jelly – it is completely frozen when I open it. Due to cool weather, I do not use the pool.

Internet speed is very good for our two laptops. I have no issues uploading videos to Facebook. If I visit the area again, I will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    94
    12
    6
    14
See reviews for
69
82
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived and the reception person was very friendly. Promptly gave us the keys to our room (on the second level of the main building) and explained where some local eateries were and where breakfast was. We found the first night very noisy from the road traffic but once we got used to it there were no problems. The room was clean and tidy and met our needs. Breakfast was good (pastries, waffles, muffins, fruit and some cereal options), nothing ran out however we did find on our last morning we had to wait a while to find somewhere to sit as it was very busy. One of the nights I got cold so asked that an extra blanket be brought to our room which they had no problems doing. The heater in the room worked well also. Overall the stay was pleasant and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here Jan 19.

Room small as expected but it has a fridge and microwave. Free continental breakfast was also a nice feature. Very little in walking distance except for one good restaurant. See separate review. The had a guest coin laundry as well. Always a plus.

Cons: Bed was hard and couldn't sleep in it after 7 hours. Parking very tight.

Overall a great value ($66 including tax!) if you're looking for a basic room for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I just spent 2 nights at this motel and was very satisfied. The hotel is located in a great, central area. The room was comfortable and had what I needed. Very clean and quiet. The couple that runs the motel are fabulous - warm, accommodating and very caring. To me, that makes a huge difference. After searching other hotels in the area, this was great and they were made it easy and enjoyable. I will be back and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is perhaps the fifth or sixth year that we have stayed for 10 days at this lovely, family run hotel in Escondido. Well located, near downtown and other amenities. We have stayed at other hotels before, including more expensive chain motels over the years, but this is our favorite place to stay. The rooms are always extremely clean, clientele is quiet (good for families and couples). And the price is just right. Enjoy your stay. Linda and Allen

Room Tip: We stay on the second floor facing away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My son and I were passing through and needed a clean, affordable room for a night. The room was exceptionally clean, the price was good, there was a small breakfast in the morning. All places should be like this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overall, a great value. We were visiting the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and the location was very convenient. The rooms were not big, but were updated and clean. The breakfast included was a nice assortment of pastries, fruits, cereals, and make-your-own waffles.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Mediteran

Address: 2336 South Escondido Boulevard, Escondido, CA 92025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Mediteran 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A independant motel with Franchise Quality...you will be impressed. Your home away from home. All newly renovated and Furnished 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Motel Escondido

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Mediteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.