We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welk Family Christmas Show 2013” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrence Welk Theater

Lawrence Welk Theater
8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Attractions in Escondido
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Menifee, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Welk Family Christmas Show 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everyone in our group used to watch the Lawrence Welk show and likes older music and performers. So we were excited about going to this show to hear Christmas music. In the end, we were very disappointed. Please note: when we bought the tickets, it was billed as The Welk Family Christmas Show with no specific entertainers mentioned. When I called for reservations, I was told there would be lots of Christmas singing and dancing, but not who the stars would be. Well, there were 2 hosts: Arthur Duncan (80) and Ava Barber (59). Even though Mr Duncan is 80, his tap dancing is amazing! The young singers/dancers were also very good - too bad they didn't get to perform more. Now, I apologize for the rest of this review, because I'm sure to hurt someone's feelings. However, if I'm going to do a review, it's going to be honest. Ava Barber and Arthur Duncan really don't sing very well. They don't hit the right notes and, in some songs, totally ruined them because they were so off. And, they sang a lot. It would have been much better for them to host the show, maybe sing 1-2 songs (for nostalgia), and then let the younger singers do the rest. We were there for 2 hrs; the show was about 1 hr and 40 min long with a 15 min intermission (don't know why - guess it was so we'd spend money at their snack shop). In summary, the show was very disappointing. Certainly NOT worth the money. We will not go to another show at Welk theater unless we know specifically who is in it and make sure they can still sing!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    8
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Welk Family Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I are staying at the Welk resort in Escondido (4.8/5), and we just saw the Welk Family Christmas show this Saturday evening. It was a great Christmas show that we really enjoyed. Although we are humanists, it was great to listen to Christmas carols again; they sang shortened versions, and I think it was also partly intended as a consideration to the great Lawrence Welk, a good Christian. Most songs and dance routines were not religious, but just sheer talented enjoyment and fun to watch, including Arthur Duncan tap dancing and singing, but he also brought us back to a purer and more talented artistic time period, before music videos. The orchestra kept the well directed show by Cheryl Baxter tight and well paced.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old but Goodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very good live theater. With or without buffett. They offer both day & everhing performance.
A look back at Lawrence Welk life & some of the intertainers us older folks remember!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hairspary, Nov 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Saw Hairspray with my Mom, Grandma & Sister in Nov 2013 and it was really good. In all honesty, I'm not a huge fan of musicals and I really enjoyed this! Randall Hickman, who starred as Edna (the mother), was phenomenal!! A really nice day out for the ladies in the family.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you aren't from the area you may not have heard of this venue. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful to walk around, visit the theater and see the history of Lawrence Welk and then dine at the restaurant there.
We love the atmosphere here when looking for something relaxing to do.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawrence Welk Theater also viewed

 

Been to Lawrence Welk Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrence Welk Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.