We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make reservations. Better than Olive Garden.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
202 E Via Rancho Pkwy, Escondido, CA 92025-8005
760-741-6309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 298 Restaurants in Escondido
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Texas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Make reservations. Better than Olive Garden.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I didn't give five stars because there were numerous tables open and many of us had to wait 20 minutes. Also, they gave our waitress too many tables and the other staff didn't help much. We had to wait 15 minutes for drinks and another 10 for bread. Then the meals came out at different times which is preferred to some being cold. We wanted desert but already spent too much time.
The food was delicious and I will eat there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We attended a graduation celebration dinner for our niece at this restaurant. While our wait was well beyond what we were told it would be, the management made up for it with complimentary appetizers, which was very nice and they were delicious. Everyone was served efficiently and the wait staff were friendly and courteous. The food was wonderful and we had a lovely time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went there Sunday night and parking was hard to find. The place was very busy, but it didn't take us long to get our table. I ordered Pasta di Mare with shrimps, mussels and scallops and my husband's spaghetti meatballs. It took a long time before we got the food. We both loved it, and it taste really good. Although mine was a little spicy but the seafoods and pasta were cooked just right. When we got the bill, I realized that our dinner was a little pricey. The staff provided good service, our server was gracious and courteous. Overall, it was a good dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for large groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a good place for parties and large dinner tables. Plenty of selections for all budgets and appetites.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, B. C.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great and then just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently ate at this restaurant - the first time it was fabulous. The pork chop was perfectly done with great seasonings. We had good service and were so impressed that we went a second time.

Unfortunately the second time the pork chop wasn't nicely seasoned and we had very slow service. Our waitress was having an 'off' night as she dumped a whole dinner not too far from where we were seated. I have to give her credit, she still carried on and was pleasant to us.

After the meal I was on my way to the restroom and was almost knocked over by a waiter going in the opposite direction. He was not carrying food and since I was the customer I had the faulty assumption that he would step aside for me............WRONG. He did come back and apologize later but it was too little too late for us - we left saying that we wouldn't return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.