We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant
320 N Midway Dr, Escondido, CA 92027
(760) 480-9550
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 298 Restaurants in Escondido
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Escondido, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent food and authentic! The restaurant inside is very authentic and it makes you feel like you are back in time in San Francisco in China Town. For being in Escondido, it is a surprise gem and I hope it will maintain its originality. Food is very good. The architecture could use some updating, but the staff and waiters are very nice. I would definetely reccomend this restaurant if you like Schezwan and Cantonese over Chin's restaurant any day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic- great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem! The inside gives you a choice of booth or table and the decor is similar to that I've seen in China. And it is very pleasant. The menu gives a wide choice of both Schezwan and Cantonese - again similar quality to that experienced in China. The service is pleasant and timely. The food is superb and if you are veggie I understand it has a good selection. You can ask for more garlic or different sauces and your requests will be met. Of you want California Chinese like Chins you will be disappointed. If you want authentic and good quality this is excellent value.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Escondido's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I love this place I have been going here for years, the aromatic shrimp is the best. The atmosphere is different not modern but definitely goes well with the type of food they serve and no matter where you sit you have privacy. I love everything about this place from the tea to decor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average Chinese Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant has been around for a long time, and looks it. The food is acceptable but not inspired. The surroundings need an update for sure. Also, a better wine list would be nice. There's really nothing to choose from.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.