We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Lunch but Good Beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
204 E Via Rancho Pkwy, Escondido, CA 92025-8005
760-466-0700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 298 Restaurants in Escondido
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing Lunch but Good Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Disappointing lunch included waiting 15 minutes for a table, 20 minutes for a waiter to take our food order, a horrible Mexican food entree, and a great deal of noise. After 20 minutes waiting to order food, my companion went to the waiter's station to ask for a waiter. A waiter came immediately, as well as the manager who apologized for the wait. To the manager's credit, he did buy our dessert as a peace offering. He also checked on us a couple of times through lunch and was very cordial and apologetic.

I should add that an unfriendly hostess tried to seat us next to the waiter's station, a very noisy booth location. ( Not a good location for a senior couple.) I have been to this restaurant several times before when service and food was much better than this. I'll never order the Mexican dishes again. On another visit the large, cut cabbage salad was very good. On yet another visit, the cheeseburger was very good.

Below average bread was served before dinner; we had to ask for that. Dinner size Caesar salads were average, but the salmon was good. French fries were not very good and the complimentary dessert was too sweet and very unremarkable, especially since the large chocolate chip cookie & ice cream was the specialty of the house.

On the upside, parking was plentiful and the beer (Irish Red) was terrific! I will keep my expectations down when coming to BJ's. I'll stick with ordering a cheeseburger, nothing more but beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    12
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SAN DIEGO,CA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Chain Type of Restaurant!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

No big deal, typical chain type of restaurant, with food to match. If you are at the mall and are looking for this type of food it might be worth a try. I have eaten at this establishment a number of times, never impressed and service spotty at best. Try the Red Robin at the mall and directly across from BJ's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Won't ever be back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I don't mind waiting for a table but if they tell you 15 - 20 minutes and it is over 30 they are either incompetent or dishonest. Once we got past that and finally got seated, after 35 minutes of placing our order when we inquired where our food was and how much longer we were rudely informed by our server she was sorry "but we are busy". That was the final straw ....we got up and left, never to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Service was good, it was noisy but enjoyed the atmosphere. Yes it does get cold inside, even on a hot afternoon.
Starters: corn fritters & crispy artichokes was very good.
Main: good pizza and sandwich
Desert: hot brownie with icecream was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality Restaurant !!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The restaurant it's very nice, the service it's super and have good quality food, what I like the most it's that they never say no to your special food requirements, Great Customer Service that's the way to take care your customers !!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.