We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Tea Room

The Grand Tea Room
145 West Grand Avenue, Escondido, CA 92025
(760) 233-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 298 Restaurants in Escondido
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Tasty and accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Three of us were looking for a place to have a late lunch in downtown Escondido on a recent Saturday. When we walked into the Grand Tea Room we could see it looked busy and spoke to the hostess (she may have been the owner) who explained they were booked up. We looked at the gift shop area then she offered us an outdoor table. The weather was fairly mild so we decided to accept. Two of us had afternoon tea and the third a chicken salad. The chicken on the salad seemed a bit overdone but the scones and tea sandwiches were quite good. There was a wide variety of teas to choose from and they offered a selection of petite desserts which were very good. I would definitely make reservations to return in order to enjoy the inside room which was very attractive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wonderful tea experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The restaurant is delightful, very nicely decorated with lovely china sets and table settings. The tables are nicely spaced apart so your not sitting on top of another table. The owners were very friendly and our waitress was just wonderful as was the service. We went for lunch and the food was great, the chicken and egg salad a little on the dry side but all still very good & a wonderful selection of teas. We will be booking our holiday party there & wear the hats available. They also have a lovely gift shop if your looking for a special gift for someone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, attentive and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went yesterday for a light tea and would thoroughly recommend here. The tea room was most elegant, clean and welcoming. The owners were really nice and our waitress was a delight. The presentation of our tea was excellent and the light tea was exactly that, light and delicious. This is a great destination for a couple or a large group. Lots of fun with the option to wear a hat from a selection of nice ones there. The shop is cheery and full of gift ideas. It was not at all noisy when we were there. Nice job all round. If you like afternoon tea, don't miss this spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Bernardo, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“tis lovely place w/good food,nice tea selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having lived in London, UK, I just love afternoon tea. Been to several here in San Diego. This place is beautifully decorated, very clean. I thoroughly enjoyed the good food, lovely tea selection and friendly service. Unfortunately, this time when we were there, there was a table with at least 5-6 kids, approx 3 year olds sitting separately from mothers in another table. Who would expect 3 yo kids to be able to sit through an afternoon tea session.! In the beginning, they seemed to be fine but after sometime, 1 by 1 began to leave the table, getting on the sofa, chairs, almost knocking down a tea cup set up by the sofa area., going in and out of gift shop area. It was difficult to relax and enjoy thoroughly until finally they left. Couple moms did make comment that next time they would not bring kids. Comments/suggestions were made to the owner.However, this experience would not deter me from visiting again in the future. Perhaps, I
I will call first to find out if any little children table were booked for the day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean Fabulous Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Unfortunately that day a group of kids with their parents were there and it was quite noisy, the owner should have a stipulation not to allow kids below 6 years old, they might break the beautiful China. We were sitting on the edge of our chairs staring at the kids and hoping that they will not break anything so how can we relax and enjoy our tea? Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable experience. Love the gift shop and decor very British!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.