We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Great BBQ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikes BBQ

Mikes BBQ
1356 Wesy Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92029
760 746 4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 264 Restaurants in Escondido
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place and Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Mike's didn't look like much from the outside but the second we walked in I was in heaven. We loved the look and feel of the place. The portions we huge and the BBQ was great. We had the RIBS and they were huge and delicious. A must try when in Escondido.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a pulled pork sandwich and fries and i have to say it was abit dry and there were burnt bits of pork which was unpleasant my husband had a chicken breast sandwich again he found it to be dry my son had steak which was average. All a little disappointing. The staff were friendly and the place was clean. Maybe we got the chef on a bad night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been on a hunt most recently trying out San Diego County's best rib places.
This past Friday we tried out the baby back ribs, lunch special, 3 bones, two sides and added the cornbread. Great sports bar ambiance with a fast food take out side, the place is pretty big. But make not mistake, this is primarily a blue collar down home BBQ bar.

The ribs were fantastic, 4 bones, not three, super meaty, unbelievably tender with a sweet BBQ with a nice spicey kick. The cole slaw was excellent. Two kinds of beans, BBQ and Mom's, although they recommended the BBQ beans, we liked the Mom's since they were bigger with variety and not so sweet. The cornbread was good, not the best I had, but then Phil's doesn't even offer cornbread.
We had the onion rings, and although impressive looking, they mostly tasted greasy breading, not much onion flavor.

So, we thought Phils was the deal, but Mikes blows them away.

Oh, did I tell you they have 40 different beers on tap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Strip Mall location - First Class BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Right off the 15 at Auto Park Way in Esco this is a gem. Food is truly great, prices are on the high side, but fair for quality and quantity. Atmos is okay, nothing special, but the food is...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Western Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good BBQ but we like Phil's in San Marcos better. The portions are bigger and prices better at Phil's. However, Mike's is very good. Very casual atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikes BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Mikes BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikes BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.