We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the potential to be amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tuscany Hills Resort to your Saves list
Tuscany Hills Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   29850 Circle R. Way, Escondido, CA 92026 (Formerly Castle Creek Inn Resort Hotel and Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for a Saturday and Sunday night. From what I gather it was recently renamed from Castle Creek Inn Resort Hotel and Spa, the outside grounds are very nice even in the winter when things are not as green as the rest of the year. The soaking pools were very relaxing and a nice surprise, something more private and quaint then just a jacuzzi. The room was clean and the bathroom looked to be recently renovated and it appears they recently painted inside. I think with some additional time and money the rooms could be wonderful. Right now they are a bit lacking in style and design one wall with vaulted ceilings had nothing on it.The one thing that looked the least thought of was the bed, the sheets were clean and fresh but the comforter looked to be a bit old and not quite a king size, and the bed skirt had seen it's best days long ago. The mattress was comfortable as were the pillows, it just really needs some design and style added to the room. It looks like most if not all rooms have either a balcony or patio with chairs that is nice to sit outside and enjoy the view.The check in was friendly and informative, they have a very large area near reception that would be a wonderful place to offer up a continental breakfast with fruit cereal and pastries if it were up to me, especially with the fact that you have to get in the car and drive quite a distance to get to a restaurant. The only one close by is the one at the golf course next door that is more of a bar serving food. It was clean and comfortable place to stay but I am not sure I would go back. I also wanted to add that the rooms do not have a heater so if your like me and get cold pack socks and warm pajamas. They do have individual air conditioners in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    9
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had an event there - the staff was completely out to lunch. No one knew what was going on, the staff even helped themselves to our catered food on their own! One of their staff brought her mother to our event and were drinking on our tab..... They charged us $100 to reset the room then none of the staff helped - we did it all ourselves. I'd never recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean, comfortable, well appointed, and decorated nicely. We enjoyed the hot tubs and walking the grounds. They had a beautiful pool but the weather was a little too chilly. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Booked last minute trip for Jim Jefferies at Pala. Jennifer was incredibly warm and made us feel welcome. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. Opening the double doors and enjoying the brisk December air on the patio really made for a great time. The grounds are beautiful and want to head back to take advantage of the dry sauna and heating pools next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was there for a show in Downtown Escondido, and I was hoping it would be a nice getaway place seeing the pictures of the spas, etc. The place was a ghost town, and perhaps it was their off-season. I went to my room, which was accessible via an old hard key system. I haven't seen a hard key at a hotel in ages. This set the tone for the rest of the experience. The room was outdated and so was the small old tube television. The room did not heat up properly, and I was freezing the entire time. The shower also had a short period of hot water, and got cold within a few minutes. The floor of the bathroom and the toilet seat were also sticky. The only positive I found was the bed, which was clean and comfortable. Otherwise, I would stick to going to Welk next time I go to Escondido.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Plus - a beautiful setting. We stayed upstairs. Opened both french doors and let the outside in! Must bring everything with you... definitely no room service.
Only 30 rooms on a beautifully landscaped large piece of land. Very Peaceful! We would stay there again for just being able to sit on the balcony (or patio) and enjoy the view!
Minus - When was the last time you stayed at a hotel (at any price) that:
1. had a swimming pool that was NOT heated?
2. That had the refrigerator on the floor? (had to get down on your knees to use it)
3. Had NO breakfast of any kind. NO coffee in the lobby.
4. Had only 1 package of regular coffee (remember no breakfast or coffee in the lobby.)
5. Had no working light next to the bed??

Plus - They did have soaking pools (very private) - but no Jacuzzi's....
This Hotel could be great!!! Remember it starts with a good/ great location *** 3 star hotel; First they need to do the list above - at the very least. 1/2 of the lobby is empty!
Not inviting - They easily could bring in a nice breakfast area! The location is remote (which we liked) and great! If it didn't have that it would be a * one star hotel. No Quality control - to say the least. Also we got a great deal on line and at the last minute. So for us it was a good value.
This rating system is misleading. The location of the hotel - remote. The location of the rooms - great! The 'normal stuff'' you would expect in a resort hotel - 1. This hotel is a diamond in the rough!

Room Tip: Any room is fine. They either have balconies or patios - it looks like everyone has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I just spent our 30th wedding anniversary at Tuscany Hills Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This place is so close to the freeway (I-15) and yet seems so far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was so quiet and relaxing that we slept so well. The morning air was so refreshing, and the view was spectacular early in the morning. It was within an easy drive to two near-by casinos and the city of Temecula. We especially enjoyed using the four-tier soaking pools. The restaurant was a short walk from our room. It had limited menu, but we only visited it for breakfast which was quite good. Overall, this place is truly a hidden treasure for those who seek peace and quiet. The receptionist was pleasant, helpful, and very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscany Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany Hills Resort

Address: 29850 Circle R. Way, Escondido, CA 92026 (Formerly Castle Creek Inn Resort Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuscany Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the picturesque foothills of Temecula’s Wineries, within minutes of the world-famous San Diego Zoo Safari Park, Southern California beaches, and just 35 minutes north of downtown San Diego.Tuscany Hills Resort sits adjacent to Castle Creek Country Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. This Escondido resort is less than 1 mile off I-15. As a guest of the resort, you can enjoy Free Wi-Fi, relax in one of our four soaking pools, or treat yourself to a rejuvenating massage treatment. Each room of the Tuscany Hills Resort offers a private balcony or patio with beautiful views of the golf course or courtyard. Cable TV, a microwave and a fridge are also included. Tuscany Hills Resort is also a destination resort for weddings, receptions or family reunions too! Both indoor and outdoor space is available. Our 3 bedroom Villa overlooks the golf course and is adjacent to our outdoor venue which makes it a perfect Bridal Suite for that special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tuscany Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Creek Inn Hotel Escondido
Castle Creek Resort
Castle Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.