We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word, Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland to your Saves list
Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Encinitas Boulevard, Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Melton South Vi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In a word, Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We did not hire a car, public transport was so easy to get, bus stop outside Hotel, or just down the road, train station just down the road. Fares pretty reasonable, more so when you are a "senior".
Restaurant in same car park, and plenty within easy walk of the hotel.
Everyone at the motel was helpful and full of good advice, they put themselves out to find out anything you needed to know.
The free breakfast was excellent, a really wide range of food, no one could complain.
Rooms were serviced every day, everything kept nice and clean. Would certainly stay with them again.
Jenny Porritt Australia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    119
    94
    41
    25
See reviews for
134
71
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This Hotel was actually pretty nice. The rooms are standard but decent in size. I found their beds to be comfortable compared to other hotels I have stayed in. There is a fridge, microwave, and iron in the rooms. The property is a little older but it’s well kept and the staff was very friendly. It’s not on the ocean, but you are literally a minute drive if that from Moonlight Beach which is great. They also have a decent continental breakfast, but if you want something more substantive there is a Denny’s on site which is very convenient. If you’re looking for a good place in north county San Diego that’s close to the beach and right off the freeway (I-5) without spending too much money then this place is for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagle1933
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Where to begin?!? This place is horrible! The rooms are so dirty it is disgusting. We stayed at the Days Inn in Encinitas while attending a youth soccer tournament. Everyone family on the team reported the same issues and concerns. The rooms have not been thoroughly cleaned in a long time.

The sheets and the pillow cases had stains. Not just some, but all. There was mold in the bathtub and on the shower curtains. Not just a little bit, but a lot. It smelled moldy. There cobwebs in the ceiling and large stains on the carpeting. I can go on and on.

Probably the most disgusting aspect of the hotel was the urine smell on the walkways. It is obvious that previous guests have relieved themselves on the walkways outside and that they have not been washed down. Since the air conditioning units face the walkways, if you stay at the Days Inn, make sure are prepared to smell urine in your room if you elect to use the AC unit. Or, you can just suffer the heat as we did.

So, if you absolutely have to stay at this hotel, make sure you bring a sleeping bag. You will be happy you did.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Days Inn in Encinitas for 6 nights for a 'budget' break. The room was clean and well equipped for what we needed. Staff were friendly and breakfast was included but sometimes there was a wait to be able to sit down. You could also get a coffee throughout the day. The pool was never busy and clean and tidy and the hotel itself was about 10 minutes walk from the beach and the strip which had numerous shops and bars, although some of these were on the pricey side. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We liked this hotel the best during our stay (13 days in western USA). Clean rooms, cleaned everyday, location good, moonlight beach, shops, restaurants all nearby. Price was good, and stuff at the reception were soo nice. I truly recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Unfortunately I was in Encinitas for the weekend of the classic car show and most hotels were booked. During my stay at Days Inn, I was woken up by a car revving its engine outside our room at 7 AM on a Saturday. The room is NOT sound proof. The room was also very small and basic. The location was a plus, as it is right off I5 and close to the town center. The price seemed like a good deal compared to other hotels in town. This is a very basic hotel and I would only recommend it as a stop over.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

I booked this hotem through orbitz after checking reviews on tripadvisor.
This is indeed a very basic hotel. I booked for about $70 a night which is a great price. It is right off the highway, Not on the beach so if you're looking for a view - this is not it...
The room is clean and average size for a 2 queen bed. There is some hanging space for clothes (open not a closet). There is a fridge whch was important to me...everything else very standard, rv, coffeemaker all that...
The bathroom is nice and clean which is always my #1...
The staff are VERY nice.
Breakfast not hot. Just a few pastries and bagels and butter.
Location is great.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland

Address: 133 Encinitas Boulevard, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach Near Legoland Hotel Encinitas
Encinitas Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach near Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.