We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent gelato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubby's Gelato

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bubby's Gelato
937 S Coast Highway 101 Ste 106, Encinitas, CA 92024
(760) 436-3563
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 254 Restaurants in Encinitas
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“excellent gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is just a hole in the wall type of place so don't expect a sit down experience and they don't take credit cards, they do take debit cards and cash. Gelato is excellent, I had amaretto and rum cappuccino, delicious, we ate as we walked around doing a little window shopping but there are benches nearby if you want to sit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Spot in North San Diego County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Bubby's is tucked away in the middle of The Lumberyard Shops along the historic 101. They offers amazingly rich gelato that is perfect for both young and old, along with a small menu of sandwhiches and lunch time fair.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Delicious gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very enjoyable dessert. There were many flavors to choose from. I had the expresso chip. It was very flavorful and creamy. My husband and nephew liked theirs too. The server let me sample and was friendly,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“not the same anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am an x-fan I am so sorry to say. I went in with a friend a few days ago and was treated by a lovely woman who was super friendly. I tried a few types of gelato but the truth is we were headed to a chocolate store near for a piece of chocolate. We went to the other store and unfortunately they also had gelato,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No Flavor Gelato”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I are traveling in the San Diego area and wanted gelato. We went on line for some reviews and came up with Bubby's in Encinitas. I ordered a chocolate fudge from a surly woman and my husband ordered chocolate chip. The gelato had absolutely no taste -- flavorless. My husband's was vanilla with chocolate chips -- the chips tasted like chocolate. The reviews on this place were so high that I thought "How could we miss?" Apparently, the reviewers have never had REAL GELATO (in Rome, for instance -- but many places have real and true flavored gelato.) Not this place! Give it a miss.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubby's Gelato also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Bubby's Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubby's Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.