We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn - Encinitas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Encinitas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was hesitant about staying here after the mixed reviews they got on TripAdvisor. We were staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Solana Beach, but when the weekend rate got close to $300, we decided to move. I was 100% pleased with this motel. Is it old? Yes, but well maintained and clean. It is within walking distance of the beach. There are several excellent restaurants nearby. Good neighborhood to walk in. And the price was under $100.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
27
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 10th July for one night. Great value for money in a clean, fresh room with all the comforts we needed for a single night. The woman on reception gave us a great restaurant tip for the evening. The stay was completed with a great chat with the manager who originated from Watford - just 11 miles from home! Would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We needed a clean, conveniently located room halfway between Oceanside and San Diego. We found one at the Rodeway Inn. It was quiet and clean and the staff was very nice. There was a nice breakfast in the morning!
It was also located next to a nice oyster house and a few other spots for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I thought the rooms were just "okay". The bed was comfortable enough and the bathrooms were actually rather big. The couch has some stains on it. The breakfast was pretty weak and limited. I wish they had more of a variety. But other than that, it was a good experience. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Yea.

There's not much in the area. The 7-11 is a 15-20 minute walk away. And downtown Encinitas is less then a 10 minute bus ride away. However from Encinitas, you can catch the coaster train to San Diego which is cool and convenient if your looking to spending the day down there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you, your comments are very much appreciated for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very disappointing experience. Dirty room, unhelpful staff. Would not return. We were combining work with a beach stay and stayed several times over several weeks. The staff were very indifferent to our requests. The room was dirty, linen not changed (yes!). The breakfast buffet was disappointing. There was a surprising amount of street noise as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What's it worth to you to avoid having to unplugged a toilet? Apparently not much if you work the front desk of this place.

The bog in my room got plugged so instead of whining about it, I went and asked for a plunger. Plumbing at my home is kinda crap (pun intended), so I'm pretty handy with one of those things. Plus, I didn't think the old Dutch gal at the front desk was gonna be a big help.

She was so truculent that she didn't even bother getting me the plunger....she told me where it was and told me to get it myself. Did not even seem interested in why I might need one...or whether sewage might be spewing into adjoining rooms.

Anyway, I fixed the problem, returned the plunger and kinda shrugged that she didn't give a crap (oops!) that I had spared her from dealing with a nasty problem.

So I go back later and ask if it's possible to print out three tickets to a local attraction that I bought online. And she gave me a flat-out "NO".

No...the toilet in my room will not "accidentally" get plugged again. But I will call her out on TripAdvisor. Any guest who unplugs his own bog at least deserves three pages from the printer....unless you stay here.

But honestly, the place is just fine if you can avoid her.

Room Tip: Flush the toilet before you unpack your bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Address: 1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.