We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room. Helpful staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn - Encinitas to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent room. Helpful staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I thought the rooms were just "okay". The bed was comfortable enough and the bathrooms were actually rather big. The couch has some stains on it. The breakfast was pretty weak and limited. I wish they had more of a variety. But other than that, it was a good experience. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Yea.

There's not much in the area. The 7-11 is a 15-20 minute walk away. And downtown Encinitas is less then a 10 minute bus ride away. However from Encinitas, you can catch the coaster train to San Diego which is cool and convenient if your looking to spending the day down there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you, your comments are very much appreciated for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
31
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very disappointing experience. Dirty room, unhelpful staff. Would not return. We were combining work with a beach stay and stayed several times over several weeks. The staff were very indifferent to our requests. The room was dirty, linen not changed (yes!). The breakfast buffet was disappointing. There was a surprising amount of street noise as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What's it worth to you to avoid having to unplugged a toilet? Apparently not much if you work the front desk of this place.

The bog in my room got plugged so instead of whining about it, I went and asked for a plunger. Plumbing at my home is kinda crap (pun intended), so I'm pretty handy with one of those things. Plus, I didn't think the old Dutch gal at the front desk was gonna be a big help.

She was so truculent that she didn't even bother getting me the plunger....she told me where it was and told me to get it myself. Did not even seem interested in why I might need one...or whether sewage might be spewing into adjoining rooms.

Anyway, I fixed the problem, returned the plunger and kinda shrugged that she didn't give a crap (oops!) that I had spared her from dealing with a nasty problem.

So I go back later and ask if it's possible to print out three tickets to a local attraction that I bought online. And she gave me a flat-out "NO".

No...the toilet in my room will not "accidentally" get plugged again. But I will call her out on TripAdvisor. Any guest who unplugs his own bog at least deserves three pages from the printer....unless you stay here.

But honestly, the place is just fine if you can avoid her.

Room Tip: Flush the toilet before you unpack your bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Ocean Inn changed it's name to a Rodeway Inn, part of Choice Hotels, at the beginning of 2013. Same place, I think it's a value but not a 4 star hotel. Just a good location, you can walk 3 long blocks to Grandview, and there are decent places to walk to. No pool so no kids, so the crowd tends to be older and quieter. Set your values low and this is a decent place!

Room Tip: Go west for less traffic/train noise. Not as bad as other hotels closer to the 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed one night before heading to Legoland with family the next day. It's only 15 minutes away. The room is clean and comfortable. The advertise free breakfast, but it's only a danish and coffee, but for free, it's okay. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona , United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They kept charging are credit card over and over and it took days to release the hold they had on our credit card. The room was horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!! We checked in and they had already charged us before they got there and then tried to charge us again on arrival. The room was dusty and filthy.The carpet was very discusting and the blankets were to. That was with out even sitting down.Sat down on hte bed and it felt and sounded like there was a board. Lifted up the matress and yes there was a board. the other bed when you sat down felt like you were almost laying on the floor. Hard to breath so dusty. Hair in the tub and all over the bathroom floor. Bathroom window would not shut wide open and had no screen lead to the alley where several people up all night working on there vehicle. Manager and assistant was sooooo rude. Horrible , if we werent exausted from our long drive we would of checked out and took our loses.We checked out bright and early never to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Address: 1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.