We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly owners / staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn - Encinitas to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super friendly owners / staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed two weeks in the hotel and had a great time. I enjoyed most that everybody was really frienldy. They had always time for a chat and you could also ask everything and get tips for the surrounding area.
The rooms were clean, had free wifi, refrigerator and a microwave. If you don't look for something luxory you will be happy.
I had a room at the back and so it was very quite. I didn't hear the trains and the street in the night - I'm als not sure if the trains really run during the night.
If you have a car, you have plenty of restaurants within a 2 minutes drive in Encinitas. There are also many shops around and the Carlsbad Premium Outlets are only 15 minutes away. San Diego is a 30 minutes drive away. You can walk to a beach - but be aware that you can't use the beach at high tide and that you have to walk down a few steps. There are many other beaches around at the whole coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank yoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
36
35
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very easy to locate, quiet, easy to get around. We looked around the area abit but in the end decided on Ocean Inn. Rates offered was the best, my family of 4 stayed there for 5 days. The office person Victor is really a very nice guy. He told us places of interest to go, deals, always greeting with a friendly smile and gesture, ready to help. The room was great, everything was working as it should. There was air conditioning as well as a ceiling fan. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We like the upstair unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Ocean Inn was perfect for our quick stay in Encinitas. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, was walking distance to great restaurants, and we could walk to the beach and the local farmers market. Victor and his wife run a great hotel. They are very hospitable, friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area, not to mention great to have a laugh with. We would definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

There is nothing special about this place. Its your basic hotel room. Shower is smal, ifyour planning on staying here bring your own soap and whatever you use to shower. Tv did not work in my room. Lights next to bed didnt work, no ceiling fan like they said, ac in room was very very dirty on the inside! Breakfast is the danish packages you would get at a bulk store (sams club, costco) toast orange juice and coffee not such a great breakfast. Beach is awesome to see from above but not fun to walk down tge long path with surfers and there boards in the way. Beach is really rocky in some areas. But hotel is about 11miles from ocean side. Ive never stayed in a hotel like this before and i personally hope i never do again. If your used to staying in 5 star hotels you will hate this.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are OK with simple accommodations. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean. But the towels and pillows were not luxury. And the breakfast I would skip. But if you bring your own pillow, and are OK with simple, then this is your place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinon Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I like good deals. So this hotel was in the right place and the price was right too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldorado, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My son was stationed at Camp Pendleton and he knew i would be travelling with a family friend so he suggested we stay outisde Oceanside. He didn't feel that Oceanside was "safe" for two women traveling alone. We chose Ocean Inn Hotel. From my very first phone call to make the reservation to our departure, I never doubted our decision. We were made very welcome and comfortable. They gave us wonderful sugestions for dinner and sightseeing. Our room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. It was so quiet. If you are looking for nightlife though, this is not the place. However, it was perfect for us. If you are looking for a quiet, clean hotel with wonderful staff, at an affordable price, this is the place for you. I would definitely return.

.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Address: 1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.