We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and helpful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
85 Encinitas Blvd., Encinitas, CA 92024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice and helpful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The rooms were spacious and the kitchenette was very convenient. Even though we couldn't reserve an 'ocean view' room (we had our dog with us) we had a lovely view of the ocean from our patio/balcony. Plenty of room for the 4 of us - 2 adults and 2 kids. The front desk person was very accomodating when we requested a late check out - which was greatly appreciated! The hotel is a fair walk from the beaches - so be prepared.

Room Tip: lower level rooms still have a glimpse of the ocean - ours was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear travelingfamily4

We are so pleased you had a nice visit here in Encinitas at Best Western Encinitas. We are proud that we are a pet friendly hotel. It means a lot to us that families can still travel and not leave their beloved pets elsewhere. The pet-friendly suites are very nice and spacious for extended stays. We also have dishes that we can bring upon request. The hotel is 3
blocks away from the ocean, it is a good walk from the ocean but not unreasonable. In between the ocean and the hotel, you have the historic downtown Encinitas, which boasts wonderful restaurants and shops.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warmly,
Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    120
    44
    31
    9
See reviews for
131
79
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of wedding party that had booked a block of rooms. For the area of Southern California we were staying in I expected more. We were upgraded to the Governor's Suite due to overbooking and while larger and appointed with a tufted headboard, jacuzzi tub and 2 adjoining suites it was not what we needed as we had booked a room with a kitchenette and a hide a bed. The room had 3 patios but the patio furniture had cobwebs on it and no patio tables or umbrellas to enjoy it. The lobby was quite a strange arrangement and unwelcoming, but the underground parking was convenient. We didn't even bother to try the continental breakfast by the pool. The hotel was in need of refreshing; fresh paint, cleaning the outside. It served our purpose but I 'm glad I was not there as a retreat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TRL54

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience here. We are glad the staff did try to accommodate you despite the situation with the rooms. We do have great plans for renovations in the upcoming two years. We will have our fitness center open soon. We hope you will give us another opportunity as we do appreciate your business and value your opinion.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a suite for our family of 5. It was very roomy, with a spacious kitchen and 2 televisions. Check-in staff were friendly and efficient and gave us juicy apples to enjoy. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with plenty of tasty options for everyone. Walking to the beach was downhill, but walking back would be a bit of a steep hike so we drove most days. It's close to restaurants and shopping. The grounds, breakfast room and our own room were very well-maintained. While night swimming in their pool, we saw bats and an owl swooping about overhead. The kids were thrilled. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Ree G

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay here at Best Western Encinitas. This hotel is great for families, as we have many great amenities on our property. Our deluxe continental breakfast offers many choices for our guests, the fitness center will be opening soon, and we have free wifi and free parking. It must have been amazing to see the wildlife at night in our pool area. We certainly invite you to visit us again.

We thank you for being our guest.

Christina Beltran
760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I went to Encinitas on business. For a hotel, the amenities we nice for the price. It was convenient that the breakfast was on site and included in the cost of the room. If I were vacationing, I would have chosen a more upscale hotel but overall Best Western served the purpose for this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Deborah D

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Encinitas for business. We do have many great amenities that make your stay feel like home. The hotel is a great value, especially in the off season. Our rooms are large and we have wonderful balconies. We have many upgrades planned over the course of the next few years. We invite you to return and we look forward to serving you again.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It was easily accessible off of I-5, staff was helpful and the rooms were clean, modernly furnished and offered good views of the ocean. Breakfast by the pool was a nice touch instead of the usual lobby location. There are many nice restaurants in the area and places to see and enjoy. The proximity to the beach and the Coastal Highway was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are glad that the location suited your needs. We have a great property and many plans to enhance it over the next few years. The proximity to the beach is excellent and the historic downtown is unforgettable. What many guests love about this hotel is how it is designed and spacious. It is so wonderful to watch the sunset every night from one of the ocean view balconies or watch the children play across the street at Cottonwood Park.
We hope to see you soon again.

Thank you
Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year. Returned to the San Diego this year and stayed here again. We were not disappointed! We received excellent service and the rooms were clean and updated. The breakfast is in the cabana by the pool and was excellent. The balconies are very large and offer a great view. There is a large indoor parking area and parking is free. It is an easy walk to "old" Encinitas where there are so many great restaurants and shops you may have a difficult time choosing how to spend your time. The beach is also about a 10 minute walk away. It is easily accessed from "the 5" but far enough away that traffic noise is not a problem. Overall a great experience will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have the best view (Lower numbers are closer to the ocean.) All the views are good b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear DaveC2012

We are so pleased to hear from you again. It means so much to hear how our guests feel about the hotel and their experience here. It is true that there are so many positives about this hotel. The free parking, the free Wi-Fi, the free continental breakfast and the free sunshine here in Encinitas CA. We have a lot of repeat guests, just like you, who come for this "Encinitas Experience". Between Moonlight Beach, the historic downtown and our hotel, how could anyone go wrong? We are proud to be a part of this community and glad that we can be a part of people's lives.

Thank you for being our guest,
Warmly,
Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place was not what I was expecting out of a Best Western property. It is on a hill with western views of the ocean. The room was HUGE. We also had a large balcony with a million dollar view of the sunset. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear hoopcoach,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised. It is our aim that each guest leave with a positive experience and want to return. This hotel is truly a gem. I do find that the design of the hotel is what sets it apart from other properties. It is so special to be able to watch the sunset from the balconies. We appreciate you as our guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd., Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.